RSS feed for Emma
  • Attack on Titan 2015

    ★★★★ Watched 18 Jan, 2015 1

    Well rounded female characters, exceptional art style drawing from a number of unlikely sources. What more could you want?

  • Interstellar 2014

    ★★★★ Watched 15 Nov, 2014

    A cinematic spectacular that's as flawed as it is brilliant. Overall though I admire it's ambition and the way it makes relativity and quantum mechanics dramatic, emotional and accessible. If only more directors credited their audiences with more intelligence...

  • Gone Girl 2014

    ½ Watched 15 Dec, 2014

    Competently made, but APPALLING levels of misogyny.

  • Finding Vivian Maier 2014

    ★★½ Watched 15 Aug, 2014

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

  • 300: Rise of an Empire 2014

    Watched 06 Jun, 2014

    Boring, pompous, humourless, pointless bullshit.

  • A Field in England 2013

    ★★½ Watched 09 May, 2014

    Some great performances buried deep within a pile of pretension.

    I just can't accept the five star reviews of this film that I've read on this site: just because you can't understand something doesn't mean you are culturally sophisticated or that the film is a masterpiece.

    It isn't: this film is a real hodgepodge of interesting sounds and atmospheres which are frustratingly inconsequential.

  • Iron Man 3 2013

    Watched 09 Jun, 2013

    An embarrassment for all concerned.

  • The Condemned 2013

    ★★ Watched 24 Oct, 2014

    Weak documentary with no point of view, narrative or tone of voice and an overindulgent director. All seemed very underexposed. I was frustrated with the constant moodily shot cropped details and wanted to know about what the prison was like. How could there be no atmosphere in a film shot in such a place?

  • It Is Fine. Everything Is Fine! 2007

    ★★★½ Watched 30 Apr, 2014

    Benny Hill levels of misogyny undermine the admirably full-frontal attack of taboos.

  • Superbad 2007

    ½ Rewatched 23 Dec, 2012

    fuck this misogynist bullshit

  • The Aviator 2004

    ★★½ Watched 04 Nov, 2014

    Flawless film-making, ultimately empty though.

  • Wonderland 2003

    ★★ Watched 09 Apr, 2013

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.