RSS feed for Cora
  • John Wick

    John Wick 2014

    ★★★★½ Watched 22 May, 2015

    Near-perfect action movie, on par with Dredd (2012). Good writing with pretty cool world-building of the criminal underworld, fantastic fight choreography, and the music is amazing.

  • 300: Rise of an Empire

    300: Rise of an Empire 2014

    ★★ Watched 10 Apr, 2015

    This movie would be 200% better on mute.

  • Scary Movie 2

    Scary Movie 2 2001

    ★★ Added

    why

  • Night Train to Lisbon

    Night Train to Lisbon 2013

    ★★★½ Watched 05 Mar, 2015

    A bit melodramatic but a charming movie. The best thing about it is the cast: Jeremy Irons, Charlotte Rampling, Christopher Lee, Lena Olin, August Diehl, Melanie Laurent - that list of names alone makes it worth watching.

  • Les Misérables

    Les Misérables 1998

    ★★★½ Watched 03 Mar, 2015

    I've managed to avoid seeing any cinematic version of Les Miserables all my life, I think, but I felt like watching one now. And I didn't want to see the most recent version because I don't like musicals, so I dug up the 1998 movie.
    It feels a little miscast, but they're all good actors. Overall a good movie: solid script, good costume and makeup, very humanely played, and not without some elements of humour. The ending is a little abrupt and anticlimactic, and doesn't seem to receive the importance it deserves, but for the most part it's a decent film.

  • Pass the Ammo

    Pass the Ammo 1988

    ★★★★★ Watched 21 Feb, 2015

    I got this movie not expecting much, but I think it's the best movie I've seen this year yet (for what it's worth, it's only February).

    It is a flawless satire, managing to be playful, and effective, and tasteful. It hits corruption in the clergy right on the head, and delivers the irony of televangelism with relish like I've never seen before. But it also doesn't ignore the complacency of consumers, or the apathetic participation of the media, and presents…

  • Tess of the D'Urbervilles

    Tess of the D'Urbervilles 2008

    ★★★★ Added

    The dialogue is a bit cheesy, which is not unusual for period drama adaptations like this so we can forgive it. The acting is amazing though, flawless throughout. This miniseries made me fall in love with Gemma Arterton, it definitely made me fall in love with Hans Matheson, and Eddie Redmayne was so offendingly hypocritical as Angel that I still seethe whenever I see him (which is a shame because of course the poor actor couldn't help it, but then…

  • The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

    The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug 2013

    ★★★½ Added

    Now that I've seen all three films, I can say this is probably the best of the lot. That's no credit to Peter Jackson, who is a terrible director in all three. But this movie has both Thranduil and Smaug, which are a fantastic addition and if all three films would've just been about those two characters I would have been very happy.
    Great acting from Lee Pace and Benedict Cumberbatch, and from the rest of the cast admittedly but everything else is tired, cliche, unnecessary, badly written, uninteresting, just a waste of film.

  • The Imitation Game

    The Imitation Game 2014

    ★★★★ Watched 07 Feb, 2015

    A touch too much melodrama lost this movie one star from me, but it's overall really really good. The acting is great, historically it's realistic in tone if not in details, and the music is out of this world. It's definitely worth at least one viewing.

  • The Three Musketeers

    The Three Musketeers 1993

    ★★½ Added

    All I can say is thank God for Tim Curry. I'd give this movie five stars/ten stars/a whole galaxy's worth just for his performance, but I wouldn't want to mislead anyone.

  • The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

    The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies 2014

    ★★ Added

    Two stars, for Thranduil's hair.
    Everything else is crap.

  • The Riot Club

    The Riot Club 2014

    ★★ Added

    Revolting and aimless movie, albeit with a flawless cast - and the most gorgeous English interiors, if only they were devoid of people.
    The movie improves with the grand violent act in the second half, but flounders soon after that into an anticlimactic end.