RSS feed for Anthea
  • People, Places, Things

    People, Places, Things 2015

    ★★★ Watched 08 Feb, 2016

    A different setting in which to find Jemaine Clement, his character is a New Zealander so we don't get to see him fake an accent. And I suppose a lot of "his" signature comedic style is part of his character. Satisfying if that's why you are watching this film.
    The girls were adorable. Cat, the main student in the film is my favourite and I'd like to have seen that storyline progressed further. She deserves her own film.

  • Room

    Room 2015

    ★★★★½ Watched 26 Jan, 2016

    If you read Room, see the film. If you didn't read Room, see the film. Brilliantly told, elegantly unfurled, heart wrenching. Take a tissue.

  • Joy

    Joy 2015

    ★★★ Watched 23 Jan, 2016

    This was an eagerly anticipated watch for me, American Hustle rates so high in my book that I was hoping for more magic.

    I wouldn't say I was entirely let down, Jennifer Lawrence's performance is exceptional. I had hoped for a touch more comedy and even some harder, darker drama. You feel Joy's highs and very much her lows, but some of her interactions with other cast could have been pushed further.

    Knocking a couple of stars off for not…

  • Slow Learners

    Slow Learners 2015

    ★★★★ Watched 06 Jan, 2016

    Slightly above average rating on behalf of some interesting characters. Quite predictable but well paced and interesting, a bit more of an "indie" feel than Hollywood rom-com. 

  • The Good Dinosaur

    The Good Dinosaur 2015

    Watched 12 Jan, 2016

    There were some divergences in the story which I appreciated, it wasn't entirely paint-by-numbers. I took my pal Mr 5 along and he found a few scenes quite scary. We both god a bit emotional at times. I enjoyed seeing humans in a film where they weren't the focus or "supreme being". More enjoyable than I anticipated

  • The Big Short

    The Big Short 2015

    ★★★ Watched 16 Jan, 2016

    Well paced film, informative, entertaining, cautionary. I found the "crash" part a bit rushed and would like to have had a clearer view of the fallout, but after the (very well presented) buildup, I suppose time was lagging.
    There is terrible hair in this film. Would watch again, followed by "The Queen of Versailles" to stay on theme.

  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens

    Star Wars: The Force Awakens 2015

    Watched 19 Dec, 2015

    My first Star War! I liked it! Kid me would have been creeped out by the non-human creatures, as I was by most media with fantasy characters.

  • Inside Out

    Inside Out 2015

    Watched 14 Jul, 2015

    I love sadness.

  • They Came Together

    They Came Together 2014

    ★★½ Watched 18 Jul, 2015

    This film is rated quite poorly, I think it's better than the standard review. Definitely had us laughing, and it's easy to see where they were going with this film but it lacks some cleverness to actually make it good. Bonus points for Melanie Lynskey as she's my fave.

  • Camp Takota

    Camp Takota 2014

    ½ Watched 06 Jun, 2015

    This film was pretty scatty. Some typical American Camp tropes, but who is the audience for this film?
    20-somethings might at a stretch relate to the lead character, but being in that bracket myself, I was bored. The story was shallow and predictable.
    Younger viewers? Perhaps, though I think teens might even find it tired. Some of the drinking is a bit full on, but weirdly, everything else is rather vanilla.
    A confused mashup, watch something else.

  • The Wedding Ringer

    The Wedding Ringer 2015

    Watched 31 May, 2015

    Resort in-house movie channel put this to me. No revelations.

  • The Pill

    The Pill 2011

    Watched 12 Apr, 2015

    That was terrible. I wanted to see Anna Chumsky though.
    All the characters were cringeworthy except perhaps Mindy's dad.