RSS feed for HP
  • Chef 2014

    ★★★ Watched 28 Feb, 2015

    All the food preparation scenes, and all the foodporn packed into this film is jaw dropping. The director, however, even with all his time in front and behind the camera, still has quite a long way to go before he makes a perfect film. Chef had the right premises for excellence, but it's squandered on poor scenes, bad choices and some horrendous casting.

  • Birdman 2014

    ★★★★½ Watched 27 Feb, 2015

    Amazingly done. A state of art piece in every respect of the term. I visual masterpiece. The texture is full. Every detail, a success.

    But two questions arise.

    Is this how Hollywood feels these days? Overshadowed by the steam-engines?
    And what are Hollywood up to? Honoring the back-to-basic films. The pieces telling the story in retrospect. How it should be. How it was. There are certain similarities between this and The Artist. Honoring the old, ditching the new. What Gods are Hollywood praising these days? Are the demigods too present? ;)

  • Adult World 2013

    ★½ Added

    I seem to pick them threse days. Rubbish.

  • Under the Skin 2013

    ★★★ Watched 23 Jan, 2015

    I do not hate it. For from it. I don't love it. Far from it. However, giving it something mundane as three stars feels kinda wrong. But how can I be anything else? I think four stars or one star. Maybe one is right. Damn it!

  • Sin City: A Dame to Kill For 2014

    ★½ Watched 21 Jan, 2015 2

    Not a fan. I found the first to have a hint of magic to it. They pulled it off. This time around they over compensate. A lot.

  • Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit 2014

    ★★ Watched 21 Jan, 2015

    Things I would never have thought I'd say: Harrison Ford, I miss you.

  • Only Lovers Left Alive 2013

    ★★★½ Watched 18 Jan, 2015

    Confined, intense, low-key, beautiful and stylistic. My only criticism is.. I dunno. It's not as engaging as I was hoping for. But can one criticize a film for not meeting the expectations? Sure!

  • Begin Again 2013

    ★★★★½ Watched 04 Jan, 2015

    The difficult number two.

    After Once, there really hasn't been an attempt to match it. Before now. Romantic dramas with suffering and idealistic musicians in the lead. A different set-up between the two, but the same strings and cords are played.

    And Carney does it with excellence. Number two was just as good as number one. Let's have another one! Please. My heart longs for it already!

  • The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies 2014

    ★★★★½ Watched 02 Jan, 2015

    Oh, get of it. It's superb. Just as every frigging second og this six-movie enterprise has been. Asgard, Stark and all things Marvel can go to bed, even if I adore it. It's kids stuff compared to PJ.

  • A Long Way Down 2014

    ★★★ Watched 20 Dec, 2014

    Poots is very cool. The rest is just a below average Hornby tale.

  • Maleficent 2014

    ★★★ Watched 05 Nov, 2014

    Oh my God!

    With a few exceptions, it took me two months from my baby (#2) was born till I had the time to sit down and watch a film again.

    It was good to be back, but I can just take a piss at the idea that my movie-watching days, like they where, will be back, for any foreseeable future..

    But Maleficent.. it's alright! A bit of everything, nothing original.. but fair and fun.

  • The Fault in Our Stars 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 21 Sep, 2014

    Three things to say about 'Fault'.

    Story.. meh!
    Ansel Elgort.. meh, but he got better about halfway through.
    Shailene Woodley.. is as always, GREAT!