RSS feed for HP
  • Enemy

    Enemy 2013

    ★★★ Watched 29 May, 2015

    Not too exited about the experimental Denis Villeneuve.

  • Hamlet 2

    Hamlet 2 2008

    ★½ Watched 26 May, 2015

    I am, quote, "an ass-turd, monkey fucker". Because I did not, at all, like this. I am thankful Steve Coogan got a career after this, because he shows off a lot of weakness in this poor excuse of a film.

  • Mad Max: Fury Road

    Mad Max: Fury Road 2015

    ★★★★★ Watched 24 May, 2015

    What a spectacle!!!!

  • Parallels

    Parallels 2015

    ★★★ Watched 07 Apr, 2015

    Nice idea, manage to conjure quit the suspense, and the cast does a descent job of quite the slim budget. But surprisingly good. It feels like it's made for TV, though...

  • The Imitation Game

    The Imitation Game 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 02 Apr, 2015

    Sometimes one hypothetically thinks what a story would have looked like, if was envisioned through someone else's eyes. The Turing enigma would have benefited a lot from a more experienced director. Tylden makes the quite the mess of a good script.

  • Boyhood

    Boyhood 2014

    ★★★ Watched 28 Mar, 2015

    I adore the idea. I admire the execution. Going ahead with such a project at scope is fantastic. But I am not won over by the film. It feels episodic. It does not manage the transactions well. It feels like the crew has a year off at the time. It adds narrative texture, but feels planned. Also, I am not convinced by the two main kids. At times their acting is not good.

  • In Order of Disappearance

    In Order of Disappearance 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 15 Mar, 2015 2

    Oh, this could have been just about perfect except for one bad casting decision.

    But that set aside, Bruno Ganz and Stellan Skarsgård. What gems!!

  • Man with a Movie Camera

    Man with a Movie Camera 1929

    ★★★★½ Watched 06 Mar, 2015

    What a powerhouse of a film. It's mesmerizing from the beginning till the end. Some of the techniques in this film are jaw-dropping, even today. Almost 100 years later.

    My only pickle is Michael Nymans music. It gets annoying at times. The bass-clarinet or the fagot or whatever it is that keeps tearing in the lower range of the tones, it just gets to be a bit much.

    I love and adore the Cinematic Orchestra version, and with that score this film would have gotten a full five stars again.

    Next time, that is.

  • Chef

    Chef 2014

    ★★★ Watched 28 Feb, 2015

    All the food preparation scenes, and all the foodporn packed into this film is jaw dropping. The director, however, even with all his time in front and behind the camera, still has quite a long way to go before he makes a perfect film. Chef had the right premises for excellence, but it's squandered on poor scenes, bad choices and some horrendous casting.

  • Birdman

    Birdman 2014

    ★★★★½ Watched 27 Feb, 2015

    Amazingly done. A state of art piece in every respect of the term. I visual masterpiece. The texture is full. Every detail, a success.

    But two questions arise.

    Is this how Hollywood feels these days? Overshadowed by the steam-engines?
    And what are Hollywood up to? Honoring the back-to-basic films. The pieces telling the story in retrospect. How it should be. How it was. There are certain similarities between this and The Artist. Honoring the old, ditching the new. What Gods are Hollywood praising these days? Are the demigods too present? ;)

  • Adult World

    Adult World 2013

    ★½ Added

    I seem to pick them threse days. Rubbish.

  • Under the Skin

    Under the Skin 2013

    ★★★ Watched 23 Jan, 2015

    I do not hate it. For from it. I don't love it. Far from it. However, giving it something mundane as three stars feels kinda wrong. But how can I be anything else? I think four stars or one star. Maybe one is right. Damn it!