RSS feed for Benjamin
  • Somewhere 2010

    ★½ Watched 22 Jul, 2014

    mostly ineffective

  • Nightmares in Red, White and Blue 2009

    ½ Watched 20 Jul, 2014

    This documentary starts off okay but quickly runs through the history of horror films barely mentioning some of them while giving basic plot descriptions and its view of the genre. The whole film should have been more detailed and should have spent considerable more time analyzing the decades of horror films, and their influence not only on society and culture but also the genre itself, the medium itself, and psychology.

    They also did a fair amount of skipping around. They…

  • Dawn of the Planet of the Apes 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 15 Jul, 2014

    I was really excited for this film...I enjoyed Rise and this film beat it in almost every category. I will say that I was disappointed by the human characters. They were very stock, bland characters and most of their dialogue was cheesy and clumsy. It may have been interesting to not show the humans hardly at all and maybe give them no lines (just a thought) we all know the main tension between the Humans and the Apes so they could have been more implicit and or artistic about their approach to the Humans....anyway aside from that I highly enjoyed it.

  • Wet Hot American Summer 2001

    ★★★★★ Rewatched 05 Jul, 2014

    still the funniest film ever

  • They Came Together 2014

    ★★★ Watched 04 Jul, 2014

    David Wain goodness, but not greatness

  • Under the Skin 2013

    ★★★½ Watched 25 Jun, 2014

    Cinematography was excellent. The sound design was superb. The narrative was dizzying, surreal, and engaging.


    For once I enjoyed Scarlett Johansson.

  • Harry Dean Stanton: Partly Fiction 2012

    ★★★ Watched 23 Jun, 2014

    I liked the presentation. It felt organic.

  • X-Men: First Class 2011

    ½ Watched 31 May, 2014

    Wolverine's line is the only good part, but not good enough for a full star.

  • Neighbors 2014

    Watched 10 May, 2014

    this film would have been okay if it were fresh and original. moreover, it would have been (mildly) funny if it did not try so hard.

  • The Sacrament 2013

    ★★½ Watched 05 May, 2014

    Updated review may 9th:
    I've had a few days to turn this film over in my head and just think about it. I still like the atmosphere, suspense, and playing with certain expectations....but that is also a problem. This film is too similar to real life events without it adding much new material.

    original review:
    This is an odd horror film. Presented as a documentary from Vice, and dealing with subject matter form real life events it is hard to…

  • Blue Ruin 2013

    ★★★½ Watched 26 Apr, 2014

    I really got into this film. It was well written, shot, and acted. I was thoroughly interested and the pace kept my attention the whole way through. I wish I had seen it sooner.

  • +1 2013

    ½ Watched 22 Apr, 2014

    don't feel like writing a more in depth review so I'll just say this was stupid.