RSS feed for Chris
  • The Pink Panther Strikes Again 1976

    ★★★ Rewatched 05 Apr, 2014

    So, we have a main villain who, 'using his knowledge of the underworld, enlists the help of an army of vicious criminals', kidnaps a nuclear physicist, forces him to build a 'doomsday weapon' and interrupts a football game to broadcast his masterplan to the world.

    Now, I was happy enough knowing that The Dark Knight Rises shared some similar themes with Rocky III, but realising that it has same plot as a Pink Panther film has really taken the shine off it.

  • Fun With Dick and Jane 2005

    ★★½ Watched 16 Mar, 2014

    You know those films that you watched years ago and have vague memories of enjoying? The ones that if asked about you might say, "Yeah, I quite liked that.", despite time robbing you of any real specifics of what went on in the film? For me, this is one of those films. I know I enjoyed my time having fun with Téa and Jim, but enough time has passed for me to forget exactly why.

    I finished watching this film an hour ago.

  • Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues 2013

    ★★★½ Rewatched 28 Feb, 2014

    6/10 for the Supersized version.

    If more time was spent on the editing of Anchorman 2, perhaps we'd have had one hilarious film, rather than two versions that are sporadically funny.

  • The LEGO Movie 2014

    ★★★★ Watched 28 Feb, 2014

    The antithesis of that feeling you get when you step on a piece of Lego.

  • After Earth 2013

    ★★ Watched 14 Feb, 2014

    Twisty McTwisterson does it again.
    I thought he'd given up on his third act shock reveals, but no, this might be his best yet. There I was, enjoying the film and thinking, "hey, this is not nearly as bad as everyone made it out to be, it's building up nicely."
    Then, BOOM, the film suddenly ends, having lead to nothing. Twist! Turns out it was a waste of my time afterall.

    *shakes fist playfully at McTwisterson*
    I didn't see that one coming, you ol' trickster, you.

  • The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh 1977

    ★★★½ Rewatched 08 Feb, 2014

    Came for the nostalgia, stayed for the Meta/post-modern/fourth wall breaking humour (or whatever it's referred to these days).

    Does for literature, what Toy Story does for action figures.

  • Sound City 2013

    ★★★ Watched 04 Feb, 2014

    Here is a partial plot synopsis of the Spike Jonze film Her:
    Theodore, a lonely writer purchases a newly developed operating system designed to meet the user's every needs. To Theordore's surprise, a romantic relationship develops between him and his operating system.

    Now, if you take this synopsis, replace the name 'Theodore' with the name 'Dave Grohl' and replace the term 'operating system' with 'sound board', you'll get a fair idea of how Dave feels about his recent acquisition from the Sound City recording studio.

  • Funny Farm 1988

    ★★★ Rewatched 02 Feb, 2014

    An enjoyable little film. Better than the sum of its parts thanks to great chemistry between Chevy Chase and Madolyn Smith Osborne.

    Just your basic city-folk-out-of-their-depth-in-a-rural-setting-thanks-to-eccentric-locals-even-though-they-don't-seem-to-encounter-them-all-that-often-and-now-that-I-think-of-it-they-don't-even-live-on-a-farm-so-what's-the-deal-with-that-title type of story.

  • Modern Problems 1981

    ★½ Watched 02 Feb, 2014

    The poster claims 'Chevy has the power to make this Holiday Season the funniest ever', but as Chevy didn't even have the power to make me laugh, I'm guessing it was one of the more sombre holidays.

    1981. A year after Caddyshack. Two years before Vacation. This should've been Chevy in his prime.

    Very disappointing.

  • Inside Llewyn Davis 2013

    ★★★½ Watched 31 Jan, 2014

    A glimpse into a life that plays like an uncared for piece of vinyl. The life of a struggling artist stuck in a rut, with the same experiences and mistakes playing out around him.
    It's as if the Coen Brothers have given a name to that little speck of dust, imbedded in the groove of your record, causing the needle to skip and play in a continuous loop. That name is Llewyn Davis.

  • Hitchcock 2012

    ★★½ Watched 25 Jan, 2014

    For the making of Psycho , Alfred Hitchcock used a television crew to make a major Hollywood production.
    For The Making of Psycho, Sacha Gervasi has done the exact opposite.

    I can't help but agree with the comments I've seen comparing this to a rather slight TV movie. But, it's mildly entertaining, if nothing else.

  • Spring Breakers 2012

    ★★★½ Watched 25 Jan, 2014

    If I'd known in advance that one of Spring Breakers' central moments was a scene in which a skinny, tattooed, corn-rowed James Franco sat at a piano singing a Britney Spears ballad, I'm sure I'd have decided it wasn't a film for me. So, as I sat captivated at this very scene, I felt it was time to acknowledge that perhaps there was something special about the film I was watching. I really should hate this, so why am I…