RSS feed for Charlie
  • It Follows

    It Follows 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 21 May, 2015

    Great idea, really authentic feel to it, and Maika Monroe is incredible. There are many excellent scenes, but there was a lot in between that I found boring, slow, and unengaging, which lowered my overall opinion.

  • Inherent Vice

    Inherent Vice 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 27 May, 2015

    A fantastic cast with impeccable performances, led by the always impressive Joaquin Phoenix, and phenomenal directing by the excellent Paul Thomas Anderson. The visuals are stunning, the story is surreal, the script is hysterical, but there was definitely something missing on a whole.

  • Beyond Clueless

    Beyond Clueless 2014

    ★★★★ Watched 28 May, 2015

    I was really looking forward to this documentary, and from it I've added about 100 films to my watch list. The collection of films that this explores are some of my favourites, and is a fantastic genre. The analysis is quite obvious, but I still found it incredibly entertaining and interesting.

  • Sherlock Holmes

    Sherlock Holmes 2009

    ★★★★ Rewatched 19 May, 2015

    I love Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law as Sherlock and Dr. Watson, as well as Guy Ritchie's filming style. And then there's Mark Strong as the villain - perfect.

  • Cinderella Man

    Cinderella Man 2005

    ★★★½ Watched 29 May, 2015

    Inspired by the heavyweight boxing champion James J. Braddock, Cinderella Man has fantastic cinematography, brilliant direction from Ron Howard, and Russell Crowe is on top form.

  • Calvary

    Calvary 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 26 May, 2015

    Just like The Guard, only much darker, Calvary has some great comedy undertones and incredible script. Brendan Gleeson is phenomenal.

  • A Most Wanted Man

    A Most Wanted Man 2014

    ★★★ Watched 17 May, 2015

    Some decent accents, and a great cast who give it their all. John le Carré novels are always worth adapting, and as Philip Seymour Hoffman's final role, it's a much watch.

  • The Man Who Knew Too Much

    The Man Who Knew Too Much 1934

    ★★★ Watched 17 May, 2015

    I found it more enjoyable than a lot of Hitchcock's other earlier films, but the acting lets this one down a little.

  • Paddington

    Paddington 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 24 May, 2015

    I loved Paddington. Me and my Mum had this joke that he stole my hat, because I had one just like his and lost it. It was always comforting to watch Paddington and know that my hat was being looked after.

    I wasn't looking forward to this film, however, because it's only too often that characters and stories that we love from out childhoods are ruined with bad CGI and new production companies who leave all heart out of it.

    But Paddington is a lot of fun, and I regret not seeing it in the cinema.

  • Enemy

    Enemy 2013

    ★★★½ Watched 24 May, 2015

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    I loved this film until the final few minutes. But I hate films that end without explanation! It's annoying me so much, because I was really enjoying it, and then I knew the end was coming and I kept saying "Please don't end, please don't end", but then it did. And it's knocked my opinion down so much.

    Jake Gyllenhaal gives an excellent performance, and the story is intriguing and gripping and... I have no idea where I wanted it…

  • Drive Me Crazy

    Drive Me Crazy 1999

    ★★½ Watched 28 May, 2015

    The leads are good - it's great to see a younger performance from Adrian Grenier, but I don't like Melissa Joan Hart in anything that doesn't involve being a witch. But this is a nice high school romance. There are a lot better films in its genre out there, but it's definitely worth a watch.

  • Cinderella

    Cinderella 1950

    ★★★ Watched 28 May, 2015

    You can see that a lot of the animation influences/has been influenced by many other Disney films, but it's one of my least favourite classic Disney films. I suppose I'm not a huge fan of Cinderella, but the story and animation are both magical.