RSS feed for Matt Conti
  • Boyhood 2014

    Watched 28 Jul, 2014

    This is an unreviewable film.

    The more reviews I find myself reading, the more I come to understand this. Trying to describe this film and everything it succeeds in is trying to describe life itself and the entire process itself. It's not a film about the milestones, it's a film about the little moments. That's what our life essentially is. An abstract narrative of its own hurtling forward with no direction and only our aging and changing cultural landscape giving…

  • Life Itself 2014

    Watched 27 Jul, 2014

    Several years ago, when I was still in college, I was sitting with some friends discussing movies. The subjects were varied, and opinions clashed, but the one certainty was that we all loved movies. About an hour into the conversation, a friend who had been writing film criticism for the university paper came running to us with the latest issue, eager for us to read it and tell him what we thought about his work. As the paper with our…

  • Aftershock 2013

    Watched 25 Apr, 2014

    Fuck this movie.

    If it was just another lame disaster movie, I would be able to deal with it. I've watched my share of those on lazy Sunday afternoons where SyFy is having a marathon. But this film is just insulting. It's aggressively nihilistic, but not even in a meaningful way, with every ugly moment simply built on shock value. There's a rape scene in this film that is so uneasy the filmmakers are either stupid, irresponsible, evil, or all of the above.

    Don't even bother.

  • Breaking Away 1979

    Watched 21 Apr, 2014

    **Part of the Best Picture Project**

    Okay. But combining a good sports movie AND a great coming of age movie is just cheating.

  • Three Colors: Blue 1993

    Rewatched 19 Apr, 2014 4

    THIS IS CINEMA.

    It's almost synesthetic at times, with music being the driving force behind Kieslowski's direction. Juliette Binoche's dejected angelic face is at the center, with a character who could crumble into a million pieces at any moment. It's a functional drama acting as political allegory. Even if an audience member doesn't get it, they are there in the moment. Quite possibly one of the most beautiful films ever made.

  • Howard Cantour.com 2013

    Watched 17 Apr, 2014

    Shia, your problem isn't that you plagarized.

    Your problem is that you're a shitty director from the beginning. Your films look like other people's films. Get a point of view, for fucks sake.

  • Branded 2012

    Watched 15 Apr, 2014

    I'm not even sure this is a movie.

  • The Deer Hunter 1978

    Watched 12 Apr, 2014

    **Part of the Best Picture Project**

    A strange experience of a film to watch. It looks like a masterpiece. There are scenes in the film that give the impression of a masterpiece. The contrast between men who were born for war, men who would never be ready for it, and men who were ruined by it is well realized, and worth its three hour running time.

    But for some reason, I don't feel the masterpiece.

    I'm a strong believer of…

  • Psy 1992

    Watched 10 Apr, 2014

    None of this film makes sense unless you're familiar with the immediate process of what happened to the Stasi after Communism went kaput, and even then it makes even less sense with a labyrinthine plot that makes The Wire look like Die Hard... and this is a two hour movie!

  • Coming Home 1978

    Watched 05 Apr, 2014

    **Part of the Best Picture Project**

    Jane Fonda's pressure on this film is felt, but Hal Ashby's direction is incredibly humanistic to make it work. Even Bruce Dern's character, who would be portrayed as a pure asshole in another version of this, is merely a flawed human being given his own wrong end of the stick of life, just like everyone else. It's not too late to change your own future, baby, you're not out of time yet.

  • Kontroll 2003

    Watched 03 Apr, 2014

    A subway as purgatory metaphor. Communicates this small aspect of the Hungarian Post-Communist experience, and the listlessness its people feel. Elements of fascism live on in a society that has now supposedly moved on from its past, but not really. Yes, the guy who made Vacancy, Armored, and Predators did this, and no you won't believe it either.

  • Midnight Express 1978

    Watched 30 Mar, 2014

    **Part of the Best Picture Project**

    Unfair to the Turks, yes, but this is an entirely spiritual film looking at the very nature of incarceration and its unfairness. The sad fact is that these Turkish prisons aren't very different from American prisons (save for the Quaker inspired treatment in some federal prisons) and when you finally get out even the quietness of the world is overwhelming. Just an all around great film.