RSS feed for Matze
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel

    The Grand Budapest Hotel 2014

    ★★★★★ Watched 18 Mar, 2014

    I was tempted to give "The Grand Budpest Hotel" only 4.5 out of 5 stars solely due to the fact that I liked it a tiny bit less than "Moonrise Kingdom" but since this is not a Wes Anderson rating, it really has to be 5 of 5. I mean, how often is it that you sit in the theatre, are hooked from the very first frame of a movie, instantly fall in love with every single character, don't experience a second of boredom and are willing to watch the whole thing again the moment the credits begin to roll? Exactly!

  • Her

    Her 2013

    ★★★★½ Watched 16 Jan, 2014

    "Her" is first and foremost a remarkable movie. Remarkable, because it manages to evoke such a wide range of emotions while for the most part only showing close-ups of Joaquin Phoenix talking to an invisible Scarlett Johansson (it gets even more remarkable when you learn that "Samantha" was originally voiced by Samantha Morton so Joaquin Phoenix and Scarlett Johansson never actually interacted during the making of "Her"). Spike Jonze managed to find the perfect balance between romance and satire while…

  • Django Unchained

    Django Unchained 2012

    ★★★★ Watched 27 Feb, 2013

    "Django Unchained" is Quentin Tarantinos weakest movie to date.

    Considering how insanely high he raised the bar in the past and therefore our expectations, this doesn't necessarily mean that his blaxploitation western is a bad movie. As a matter of fact, it is a very good one and even has quite a few scenes that are superior to some of his earlier work. Taken as a whole, however, I can't come to any other conclusion than the one stated above.…

  • Gone Girl

    Gone Girl 2014

    ★★★★½ Watched 24 Jan, 2015

    It's hard enough for a movie to capture my attention for two and a half hours these days. David Fincher's "Gone Girl" not only easily manages to do so but also kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time, trying to figure out the mystery and wondering what's going to happen next. That's pretty much everything I want out of a gripping and clever thriller so I'd say: mission accomplished!

  • Guardians of the Galaxy

    Guardians of the Galaxy 2014

    ★★★★★ Watched 04 Aug, 2014

    Hooked on a feeling, indeed!

  • Birdman

    Birdman 2014

    ★★★★★ Watched 10 Nov, 2014

    The on-screen resurrection of Michael Keaton's career and a unique cinematic experience unlike anything I have ever seen. One of my Top 3 movies of 2014!

  • The Wolf of Wall Street

    The Wolf of Wall Street 2013

    ★★★★★ Watched 25 Jan, 2014

    Yes, crime doesn't pay. Yes, drug abuse will make you miserable. Yes, I should condemn the obscene decadence that I just witnessed on screen for the best part of the last three hours.

    But. It. Just. Looks. Like. So. Much. FUCKING. Fun.

  • Interstellar

    Interstellar 2014

    ★★ Watched 25 Nov, 2014

    My most anticipated movie of 2014 ended up being the hugest cinematic disappointment of the year. A big, bold sci-fi adventure that ultimately fails in almost every aspect.

  • Gravity

    Gravity 2013

    ★★★★ Watched 04 Oct, 2013

    Many words have already been written about Alfonso Cuaróns latest film so I'll try to make it short. Seeing the movie in 3D on an IMAX screen (which I highly recommend) was easily the most immersive movie experience I had in years (probably since "Avatar"). Every technical aspect of "Gravity" is astonishing and if it doesn't win every single technical category there is at the Oscars, I'll be seriously considered with the mental health of the Academy.

    With all the…

  • Boyhood

    Boyhood 2014

    ★★★★★ Watched 04 Feb, 2015

    "Boyhood" is an astonishing and unique cinematic achievement unlike anything I've ever seen. Shooting a single movie over the course of 12 years with the same cast is a highly ambitious and daring project and it's just wonderful to see that all the risks Linklater and his crew took payed off in such a rewarding way.

    Although I had a few minor quibbles with "Boyhood", the film clearly deserves no less than a five-star rating.

  • The Avengers

    The Avengers 2012

    ★★★★★ Watched 09 May, 2012

    Joss Whedon is the MAN! He took everything I love about his works - the witty dialogue, the character development, the self-referential jokes - and applied it to the superhero genre - with tremendous success! "The Avengers" is one of the best superhero flicks of all time and already a strong contender for the best movie of 2012.

  • Mad Max: Fury Road

    Mad Max: Fury Road 2015

    ★★★★★ Watched 14 May, 2015

    The best straight-up action film of the 21st century thus far. Witness it!