RSS feed for Matze
  • Stretch 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 30 Oct, 2014

    "Stretch" felt like on of those mid-nineties movies in the wake of "Pulp Fiction" (it even features a briefcase!) that you'd pick up randomly at the video store and end up having a much better time watching it than expected. Certainly not a cult-classic but a whole lot of fun and weirdness.

  • The Green Inferno 2014

    ★½ Watched 22 Mar, 2014

    "The Green Inferno" could have been a cleverly updated take on the cannibal sub-genre with a satirical outlook on environmental activism/slacktivism but it fell short in pretty much every aspect and ended up being nothing more than a gory homage that felt utterly redundant.

  • Sin City: A Dame to Kill For 2014

    ★★ Watched 29 Sep, 2014

    A perfect example that more of the same doesn't necessarily mean it's better. In this case, it's far worse.

  • Bad Turn Worse 2014

    ★★½ Watched 29 Oct, 2014

    Good performances all around as well as some gorgeous camrea work but unfortunately the uninspired script keeps the movie from truly standing out from its peer group of neo-noir indie-thrillers.

  • Guardians of the Galaxy 2014

    ★★★★★ Watched 04 Aug, 2014

    Hooked on a feeling, indeed!

  • Maps to the Stars 2014

    ★½ Watched 25 May, 2014

    I really enjoyed the kind of messy and weird trailers but Cronenberg's latest directorial effort "Maps to the Stars" ultimately turned out to be too messy for its own good. There is a very obvious message Cronenberg wants to put across ("Hollywood is pretty fucked up") but the way he tries to do this (ghosts, incest, bad parenting and Carrie Fisher) didn't work for me at all. John Cusack and Julianne Moore come off as TV movie versions of themselves and basically the only good thing about this is Mia Wasikowska whose performance saved the whole movie from falling apart and being a complete disaster.

  • The Rover 2014

    ★★★★ Watched 15 Jun, 2014

    "The Rover" is a bleak, nihilistic post-apocalyptic drama shot against the backdrop of the Australian wasteland. There isn't really that much happening throughout the entire movie (it all comes down to a man who desperately tries to get his stolen car back at all costs), but thanks to the great performances by its two leads, Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson, this isn't really an issue.

    Avoid it, if you need a complex plot or lots of action. "The Rover" is basically an anti "Mad Max".

  • The Salvation 2014

    ★★½ Watched 29 May, 2014

    Mads Mikkelsen is fantastic in pretty much everything he does but as far as revenge westerns go, "The Salvation" is as generic and formulaic as they come.

  • X-Men: Days of Future Past 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 25 May, 2014

    The latest installement in the X-Men franchise has its fair share of issues, but considering the franchise's past, Bryan Singer and his writers probably did the best possible job tying to combine the two generations of mutants whilst creating as few continuity errors as possible. If only Singer hadn't abandoned the franchise in the first place...

  • Godzilla 2014

    ★★★ Watched 19 May, 2014

    Gareth Edwards' "Godzilla" reboot (that seems to be the appropriate term, considering a sequel is already in the works) was – and I hate to admit this – kind of a let down.

    I'm not exactly sure why I even had such high expectations for a Godzilla movie in the first place. I suppose it was a mixture of promising director (I loved "Monsters"), awesome marketing (those posters and trailers really did a great job in getting me overly excited)…

  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier 2014

    ★★★★ Watched 01 Apr, 2014

    Captain America doesn't have a wide range of fancy flying robot suits, doesn't turn green when he's angry and isn't a god from some mystical realm. Basically, he's just a (super)soldier who was frozen in time which is probably why this movie's rather grounded approach to the superhero genre works so damn well.

    Not being a big comic reader, I never cared much for Cap, so it's even more astounding that "Winter Soldier" is my 3rd favorite movie in the MCU this far (it might even be my 2nd favorite one, but I'd have to re-watch the first Iron Man to be sure).

  • The Grand Budapest Hotel 2014

    ★★★★★ Watched 18 Mar, 2014

    I was tempted to give "The Grand Budpest Hotel" only 4.5 out of 5 stars solely due to the fact that I liked it a tiny bit less than "Moonrise Kingdom" but since this is not a Wes Anderson rating, it really has to be 5 of 5. I mean, how often is it that you sit in the theatre, are hooked from the very first frame of a movie, instantly fall in love with every single character, don't experience a second of boredom and are willing to watch the whole thing again the moment the credits begin to roll? Exactly!