RSS feed for Matze
  • The Green Inferno 2014

    ★½ Watched 22 Mar, 2014

    "The Green Inferno" could have been a cleverly updated take on the cannibal sub-genre with a satirical outlook on environmental activism/slacktivism but it fell short in pretty much every aspect and ended up being nothing more than a gory homage that felt utterly redundant.

  • The Salvation 2014

    ★★½ Watched 29 May, 2014

    Mads Mikkelsen is fantastic in pretty much everything he does but as far as revenge westerns go, "The Salvation" is as generic and formulaic as they come.

  • Maps to the Stars 2014

    ★½ Watched 25 May, 2014

    I really enjoyed the kind of messy and weird trailers but Cronenberg's latest directorial effort "Maps to the Stars" ultimately turned out to be too messy for its own good. There is a very obvious message Cronenberg wants to put across ("Hollywood is pretty fucked up") but the way he tries to do this (ghosts, incest, bad parenting and Carrie Fisher) didn't work for me at all. John Cusack and Julianne Moore come off as TV movie versions of themselves and basically the only good thing about this is Mia Wasikowska whose performance saved the whole movie from falling apart and being a complete disaster.

  • X-Men: Days of Future Past 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 25 May, 2014

    The latest installement in the X-Men franchise has its fair share of issues, but considering the franchise's past, Bryan Singer and his writers probably did the best possible job tying to combine the two generations of mutants whilst creating as few continuity errors as possible. If only Singer hadn't abandoned the franchise in the first place...

  • Godzilla 2014

    ★★★ Watched 19 May, 2014

    Gareth Edwards' "Godzilla" reboot (that seems to be the appropriate term, considering a sequel is already in the works) was – and I hate to admit this – kind of a let down.

    I'm not exactly sure why I even had such high expectations for a Godzilla movie in the first place. I suppose it was a mixture of promising director (I loved "Monsters"), awesome marketing (those posters and trailers really did a great job in getting me overly excited)…

  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier 2014

    ★★★★ Watched 01 Apr, 2014

    Captain America doesn't have a wide range of fancy flying robot suits, doesn't turn green when he's angry and isn't a god from some mystical realm. Basically, he's just a (super)soldier who was frozen in time which is probably why this movie's rather grounded approach to the superhero genre works so damn well.

    Not being a big comic reader, I never cared much for Cap, so it's even more astounding that "Winter Soldier" is my 3rd favorite movie in the MCU this far (it might even be my 2nd favorite one, but I'd have to re-watch the first Iron Man to be sure).

  • The Grand Budapest Hotel 2014

    ★★★★★ Watched 18 Mar, 2014

    I was tempted to give "The Grand Budpest Hotel" only 4.5 out of 5 stars solely due to the fact that I liked it a tiny bit less than "Moonrise Kingdom" but since this is not a Wes Anderson rating, it really has to be 5 of 5. I mean, how often is it that you sit in the theatre, are hooked from the very first frame of a movie, instantly fall in love with every single character, don't experience a second of boredom and are willing to watch the whole thing again the moment the credits begin to roll? Exactly!

  • Dead Snow 2 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 23 Mar, 2014

    The fact that I didn't like the first "Dead Snow" that much lowered my expectations for the sequel quite a bit but I ended up having a blast at the theatre (the cheering of the gore hounds in the audience probably adding to the fun). The best nazi-zombie flick in recent memory.

  • The LEGO Movie 2014

    ★★★★½ Watched 10 May, 2014

    Originally, I had zero intentions of watching this movie, but man, am I glad I did. It's super sweet, funny and silly all while tackling some unexpected topics like totalitarianism. The voice cast is fantastic (Chris Pratt is the man!) and the sheer amount of pop cultural references alone is worth the admission fee.

    Bottom line: "Everything is awesome!"

  • The Wolf of Wall Street 2013

    ★★★★★ Watched 25 Jan, 2014

    Yes, crime doesn't pay. Yes, drug abuse will make you miserable. Yes, I should condemn the obscene decadence that I just witnessed on screen for the best part of the last three hours.

    But. It. Just. Looks. Like. So. Much. FUCKING. Fun.

  • Her 2013

    ★★★★½ Watched 16 Jan, 2014

    "Her" is first and foremost a remarkable movie. Remarkable, because it manages to evoke such a wide range of emotions while for the most part only showing close-ups of Joaquin Phoenix talking to an invisible Scarlett Johansson (it gets even more remarkable when you learn that "Samantha" was originally voiced by Samantha Morton so Joaquin Phoenix and Scarlett Johansson never actually interacted during the making of "Her"). Spike Jonze managed to find the perfect balance between romance and satire while…

  • The Secret Life of Walter Mitty 2013

    ★★★½ Watched 10 Jan, 2014

    Weird, but in a beautiful, "awww" kind of way... Perfect movie to start the new year with.