RSS feed for Matze
  • The Man from U.N.C.L.E.

    The Man from U.N.C.L.E. 2015

    ★★½ Watched 15 Aug, 2015

    Beatufiul people doing incredible things and looking very stylish while doing them. This movie is the definition of "style over substance" but that's okay because it doesn't want to be any more than that and few others do style as well as Guy Ritchie.

  • Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation

    Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation 2015

    ★★★½ Watched 05 Aug, 2015

    While not being as good as "Ghost Protocol" which is still my favorite of all the MI movies, it's still a damn good action flick that kept me on the edge of my seat for most of the time and didn't make it hard for me to suspense my disbelief which seems to be harder and harder to do these days. The franchise is most certainly alive and very much kicking!

  • Ant-Man

    Ant-Man 2015

    ★★★★½ Watched 17 Jul, 2015

    My rating is probably 0.5-1 stars to high but after the troubled production and Ant-Man not being the most interesting character in my book I went in with zero expectations and ended up having a fucking blast. Needs a second viewing to see how it holds up but for now I stand by my praise.

  • Inside Out

    Inside Out 2015

    ★★★½ Watched 06 Jul, 2015

    I honestly don't get all the buzz surrounding Pixar's latest movie. It's cute and it's fun and it does some interesting things with its premise but I don't see it being Pixar's best. It probably would't even make my Top 3, maybe even 5.

  • Jurassic World

    Jurassic World 2015

    ★★ Watched 16 Jun, 2015

    Putting aside the many issues I had with the films logic and basically all of its characters (sorry, Chris Pratt), "Jurassic World" blatantly tries to be some sort of meta commentary on the state of blockbuster cinema, criticizing that moviegoers have lost their sense of wonder, yet ends up being exactly the thing it seems to loathe while not invoking any sense at all.

  • Mad Max: Fury Road

    Mad Max: Fury Road 2015

    ★★★★★ Watched 14 May, 2015

    The best straight-up action film of the 21st century thus far. Witness it!

  • Avengers: Age of Ultron

    Avengers: Age of Ultron 2015

    ★★★★ Watched 25 Apr, 2015

    While the second Avengers movie arguably has some flaws (my "big three": 1. An ultimately bland villain, who feels more like a "monster of the week" than a real threat. 2. The "de-evolution" of Tony Stark and Steve Rogers – "Age of Ultron" basically ignores the character development of these heroes respective previous films. 3. The movie's all in all somewhat setup-y vibe) and I would probably give it 0.5-1 stars less on a second viewing, I can't deny that for the most part I was properly entertained the first time around.

  • Kingsman: The Secret Service

    Kingsman: The Secret Service 2015

    ★★★★½ Watched 06 Mar, 2015

    A surprise early contender for my top 10 of 2015 as well as for the most spectacular and entertaining action scene of the year. Boy, did I not see that coming!

  • Ex Machina

    Ex Machina 2015

    ★★★★½ Watched 25 Apr, 2015

    A gripping yet slow-burning minimalistic AI thriller that mixes its futuristic premise with the tropes of classic monster/horror movies. In many way a sort of anti-thesis to "Age of Ultron". Also, Alex Garland's directorial debut features the best dance scene in recent movie history.

  • The Interview

    The Interview 2014

    ★★½ Watched 24 Dec, 2014

    The Sony cyberhack and all the drama about the movie's release are most certainly the most memorable things about "The Interview". Man, I really wanted this to be this year's "This is the End"…

  • The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

    The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies 2014

    ★★ Watched 15 Dec, 2014

    The worst film in a mediocre fantasy trilogy. At this point I'm just glad that it's over.

  • The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1

    The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1 2014

    ★★½ Watched 24 Nov, 2014

    More like "Meh-kingjay"…