RSS feed for dmin
  • The Inbetweeners 2 2014

    ★★★ Watched 12 Aug, 2014

    Gets off to a bit of a slow start and some of the jokes are on the wane but its better than it has any right to be. Its puerile and crude but i still laughed my hole off on numerous occassions.

  • Dawn of the Planet of the Apes 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 23 Jul, 2014

    With Rise, i didn't expect much and it over delivered. This time though, i have to admit, i was a little underwhelmed. While it met some of my expectations (apes on horseback with guns - doesn't get much better than that!), it didn't surpass many and even failed with some. The plot and events are just too predictable and the human characters are underdeveloped and underused - Clarke does his best but theres not much for the rest.

    As a…

  • Maleficent 2014

    ★★½ Watched 07 Jun, 2014

    Jolie is perfectly cast but other than her performance and the production design theres not much to write home about. Its definitely tonally awkward, too childish in certain instances (the 3 pixies and the mud slinging) and really quite dark in others (the wings incident).

  • Angel Face 1952

    ★★★½ Watched 29 May, 2014

    Quite enjoyable despite being entirely predictable. The current image used on letterboxd means its even more predictable!!!

  • X-Men: Days of Future Past 2014

    ★★★★ Watched 24 May, 2014

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

  • Caught 1949

    ★★ Watched 22 May, 2014

    A dated melodrama that just doesn't convince. The ending is pretty horrible too.

  • Ray Harryhausen: Special Effects Titan 2012

    ★★½ Watched 15 May, 2014

    Tis good to see the great man speak but it doesn't hold much new for those familiar with Harryhausen's work. Pretty much just a dvd extra to be honest.

  • Letter from an Unknown Woman 1948

    ★★★½ Watched 08 May, 2014

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

  • Saving Mr. Banks 2013

    ★★½ Watched 04 May, 2014

    Other than the barb-orous Thompson its quite dull and sickly sweet, especially during the Oz flashbacks.

  • The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug 2013

    ★★★ Watched 30 Apr, 2014

    Back to middle-earth for a second bum numbing, ho-hum adventure. Its slightly better than the first Hobbit film but its unreal as to how much bloat and how little story there is here, its as padded as Bombur the dwarf! Theres only so much chasing / orc decapitating / swirling camera shots one can witness before boredom sets in.

  • The Raid 2 2014

    ★★★ Watched 16 Apr, 2014

    The original Raid was a tightly constructed affair, with nigh an ounce of fat, much like Iko Uwais, it was ruthlessly efficient. Unfortunately, a few years down the line, the sequel has been piggin' out on the deep fried mars bars. The story is rather bland and overly long and to be honest, it left me a bit bored; just awaiting the next action set piece. Don't get me wrong though, its still wildly entertaining, with plenty of gore and amazing action. It just could have done with a more efficient, better story to match the razor sharp action.

  • Breadcrumb Trail 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 27 Mar, 2014

    Bangs' Breadcrumb Trail is an interesting insight into the formation of Slint and the creation of Spiderland but theres nothing particularly revelatory unearthed. As my fellow reviewer, Mr McDara Conroy, noted, Bangs docu shows there really was no mystery behind it all. It was just a bunch of friends who enjoyed playing together, driven by the creative genius of Britt Walford.