RSS feed for dmin
  • Interstellar 2014

    ★★★★ Watched 08 Nov, 2014

    With Interstellar, Nolan strives for a similar profoundness to that found in 2001: A Space Odyssey but he doesn't quite achieve the level of Kubrick's masterpiece; his reach does extend his grasp somewhat.

    It has a fairly hefty runtime yet the film still feels a little rushed throughout. Its a bit disjointed with cuts through to certain scenes, such as, the shift from earth to space. I can understand this to a certain extent due to its already lengthy runtime…

  • The Wolf Man 1941

    ★★★★ Watched 30 Oct, 2014

    Its not particularly scary and to be honest theres not a lot of wolf action (some of it is hidden behind trees!) but the performances and the wonderful, creepy, set design and atmosphere enhance the really, quite tragic story.

    Btw, Lon Chaney Jr as Claude Rain's son? His mother must have been some size, he certainly didn't take after his father!

  • Inside Llewyn Davis 2013

    ★★★★ Watched 19 Oct, 2014

    Inside Llewyn Davis, aka 'Bummin About With A Ginger Cat' - a musical, meandering, cyclic tale of woe; of a struggling musician too afraid to change. Isaac is excellent as Davis and his unbeknownst (to me at least) musical qualities really enhance the film. Theres also a couple of nice turns from Mulligan and Goodman. The film displays plenty of the Coen Bros wit and charm but like its protagonist, its just a bit aimless and revels in despair. Still, misery loves company!

  • Gone Girl 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 11 Oct, 2014

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

  • Guardians of the Galaxy 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 16 Sep, 2014

    Unlike most of Joe Public i wasn't uninitiated going into GotG, having read some of the GotG series back in my comic reading days. Harking back to 80's space adventures with a little Star Wars and Firefly thrown in; the interactions between the Guardians are the best part of the film, the generic CGI battle and chase sequences less so. The similar Marvel plot of chasing the macguffin screams a bit cookie cutter but being part of the over-arching storyline…

  • The Inbetweeners 2 2014

    ★★★ Watched 12 Aug, 2014

    Gets off to a bit of a slow start and some of the jokes are on the wane but its better than it has any right to be. Its puerile and crude but i still laughed my hole off on numerous occassions.

  • Dawn of the Planet of the Apes 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 23 Jul, 2014

    With Rise, i didn't expect much and it over delivered. This time though, i have to admit, i was a little underwhelmed. While it met some of my expectations (apes on horseback with guns - doesn't get much better than that!), it didn't surpass many and even failed with some. The plot and events are just too predictable and the human characters are underdeveloped and underused - Clarke does his best but theres not much for the rest.

    As a…

  • Maleficent 2014

    ★★½ Watched 07 Jun, 2014

    Jolie is perfectly cast but other than her performance and the production design theres not much to write home about. Its definitely tonally awkward, too childish in certain instances (the 3 pixies and the mud slinging) and really quite dark in others (the wings incident).

  • Angel Face 1952

    ★★★½ Watched 29 May, 2014

    Quite enjoyable despite being entirely predictable. The current image used on letterboxd means its even more predictable!!!

  • X-Men: Days of Future Past 2014

    ★★★★ Watched 24 May, 2014

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

  • Caught 1949

    ★★ Watched 22 May, 2014

    A dated melodrama that just doesn't convince. The ending is pretty horrible too.

  • Ray Harryhausen: Special Effects Titan 2012

    ★★½ Watched 15 May, 2014

    Tis good to see the great man speak but it doesn't hold much new for those familiar with Harryhausen's work. Pretty much just a dvd extra to be honest.