RSS feed for Emma
  • On the Road 2012

    ★★★½ Watched 24 Oct, 2012

    Beautifully shot film, with wonderful performances all round. My standouts being Tom Sturridge, Viggo Mortensen and Amy Adams.

  • Frankenweenie 2012

    ★★★★★ Watched 22 Oct, 2012

    Excellent, excellent film. Tim Burton's best in a long time. Wonderful cinema reference and brilliantly dark and twisted. Highly recommend it!

  • Ruby Sparks 2012

    ★★★★ Watched 21 Oct, 2012

    Wasn't sure at first if I enjoyed this film, I knew I liked it, but enjoyed might not have been the correct term. On reflection I did enjoy it, apart from one quite disturbing, but important, scene. Paul Dano and Zoe Kazan were perfect in the leads and Annette Benning and Antonio Bandereas were excellent in the supporting roles.

    Well worth a watch.

  • Hotel Transylvania 2012

    ★★★ Watched 18 Oct, 2012

    I've seen some pretty poor reviews for this film, which I don't think it deserves. Ok so it's not Paranorman or Frankenweenie, and perhaps it should have adjusted its release to avoid comparisons, but it is a light hearted, family film with some wonderful jokes thrown in the the older members of the audience. The ending was a little too neat and happy, but aside from that a fun film.

  • Liberal Arts 2012

    ★★★★ Watched 18 Oct, 2012

    This film was not at all what I expected from the marketing, it was a real treat, not at all the trite rom-com it was trailed to be. Josh Radnor was such a good lead it made you wonder why he's just on How I Met Your Mother, Elizabeth Olsen held the exact right qualities for a young girl with an older personality and the supporting cast was amazing, to have Alison Janney and Richard Jenkins was an embarrassment of riches.

  • Edward Scissorhands 1990

    ★★★★★ Rewatched 15 Oct, 2012

    My favourite Tim Burton film by far, saw it as a child and fell in love instantly. It definitely falls into the classic category as it feels old and timeless all at the same.

  • Beetlejuice 1988

    ★★★★½ Rewatched 15 Oct, 2012

    One of the most "Tim Burton-y" Tim Burton films, a little ruder than I remembered but that only added to the enjoyment. Seeing this in a cinema with a full audience was a real treat!

  • The Bourne Legacy 2012

    ★★★½ Watched 27 Aug, 2012

    My thought before seeing the film was that the Bourne trilogy didn’t need a sequel/spin-off, and it definitely didn’t need a new lead actor. Boy was I wrong.

    Firstly this is quite far from a sequel or spin-off, it’s a parallel story and ties into the original films neatly (something the Bourne films have always been able to do is maintain continuity).

    And secondly Jeremy Renner makes for a refreshing change to Matt Damon, and is perfectly cast as the…

  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower 2012

    ★★★★★ Watched 03 Oct, 2012

    Perfection.

    I fell in love with the book when I read it earlier this year, and was both eagerly anticipating and dreading the arrival of this film, but I needn't have worried.

    Every single character was perfectly cast, most importantly the three leads. Logan Lerman bought Charlie to life so exactly it still kind of shocks me, Ezra Miller was inescapably wonderful as Patrick and Emma Watson easy left Hermione behind, donning her American accent and becoming Sam.

    Having the…

  • Taken 2 2012

    ★★★ Watched 04 Oct, 2012

    I was not overly impressed with Taken, there wasn't enough of Liam Neeson finding his daughter, and little too much of him obsessing over her and stroking photos of her alone in his flat (creepy!)

    Taken 2 is a marked improvement, there is still a tad too much preamble for my liking, but it twists the previous film half way through and that is a refreshing turn. There is more Maggie Grace, which could only make it better as it means there is less Liam Neeson.

    A good watch, but you're not missing out if you don't see it,

  • Looper 2012

    ★★★★★ Watched 03 Oct, 2012

    Amazing. I don't want to say too much about it, because I avoided trailers and reviews so I wouldn't know too much about it before I saw it.

    I will say that it wasn't what I was expecting, it was so much better. One of my favourite films of the year.

  • The NeverEnding Story 1984

    ★★★★ Rewatched 25 Sep, 2012

    This has been my best friend's favourite film for over 20 years so when the opportunity to see it on the big screen came up we jumped at it.

    Now I have to admit when I watched it on DVD for the first time last year, I liked it, but didn't love it. But seeing it on the big screen, as it was meant to be viewed, completely changed my opinion of it, and I now hold it in the…