RSS feed for Eli
  • Scary Movie 2 2001

    ★½ Rewatched 21 Dec, 2014 1

    I was about halfway through this movie when I realized I already watched it back when it first came out. Hopefully it will be just as easy to forget this time around.
    I also completely forgot about Beetlejuice from Howard Stern. It was funny to see his cameo. Actually the cameos were about the only things I enjoyed in this film.

  • The Avengers 2012

    ★★★★ Rewatched 20 Dec, 2014

    I just bought the blu-ray so I figured this time around I'd listen to the director's commentary. I have to say it was a little bland and half the time I spent wishing I had just watched the movie itself. I was looking forward to this as I have listened to all the Buffy and Angel commentaries (including Whedon's) multiple times. I wasn't a complete waste of time though, there were a few tidbits that were interesting, but just not enough to fill an entire movie.

  • The Bay 2012

    ½ Watched 13 Dec, 2014

    This film makes that Marky Mark movie about evil grass seem like Oscar bait.

  • Oculus 2013

    ★★★ Watched 12 Dec, 2014

    It's a movie about a spooky evil mirror. No, seriously.
    Even though this is the basic premise, it still manages to be better than most current horror/haunting films.

  • Sex: My British Job 2013

    ★★ Watched 08 Dec, 2014

    I usually like this sort of "hands off" documentary film making without the director shoving his message down your throat, but it just doesn't cut it here. There is nothing offered either in the way of making the sex trade better, or keeping girls out of it to begin with. It just presents a couple bad experiences in which I think the undercover girl got off easy. There was never any violence, and other than the verbal abuse, these girls…

  • End of Days 1999

    ★★★ Watched 07 Dec, 2014

    The devil wants to bring about the end of the world and there's no one but Arnold (and Kevin Pollak) to stop him. Satan never stood a chance.

  • The Virgin Suicides 1999

    ★★★★½ Rewatched 05 Dec, 2014

    The soundtrack definitely helps make this film. The classic pop songs hit all the high notes while Air's score grounds the depressing moments. The film itself perfectly express the highs and lows of teenage life and death. This is the only Sofia Coppola movie I enjoy, and I love the hell out of it.

  • Duress 2009

    ★★★ Watched 02 Dec, 2014

    This is a must for any Ariel Winter fan. Even if you aren't, it is at least worth a watch. The biggest complaint with this movie is the same as most horror/thriller movies, why didn't he just buy a gun and shoot this guy? All in all though it kept my interest throughout and never got boring. That puts the film leagues above most of its competitors.

  • Come Back to Me 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 30 Nov, 2014

    This was a pretty good creepy stalker horror film. The creepy dude was definitely creepy and even though the horror-dream fake outs got more than a little old, they served their purpose in the end. The movie gets bonus points for the last couple minutes too. Not enough horror movies commit like this one.

  • Youngstown Boys 2013

    ★½ Watched 28 Nov, 2014

    An hour and a half of Maurice Clarett and co. blaming everyone else for his problems. He sounds just like every other criminal out there. Surprisingly the documentary favors Clarett, but it shouldn't sway anyone with their eyes open.

  • A Brony Tale 2014

    ★★ Watched 28 Nov, 2014

    This documentary needs to be about 20% cooler. I feel like it just missed the mark on trying to explain the fans and the franchise. Bronies: The Extremely Unexpected Adult Fans of My Little Pony was a better documentary in my opinion, but it was neat to see the addition of Ashleigh Ball's point of view in this film. The director seemed to use interesting transition shots and effects, but was never really able to focus on his subject. The…

  • The Brass Teapot 2012

    ★★★½ Watched 28 Nov, 2014

    Wow, three of the most adorable women in Hollywood together in one movie! Juno Temple stars while Alia Shawkat and Alexis Bledel have supporting roles. This managed to be a fun movie while exploring the pitfalls of greed. Temple and Michael Angarano seemed to fit perfectly as the white-trash turned rich couple.
    It's far from a great film, but it's a nice and enjoyable way to spend an hour and 41 minutes.