• Nafees Bost

    ★★★★½ Watched by Nafees Bost 01 Apr, 2016

    Sit that ass right on down, grab a bucket of popcorn and your favorite drink, and prepare. Supreme visuals and storytelling awaits.

    View

  • Alessandro

    ★★★★★ Watched by Alessandro 06 Mar, 2016

    An excellent revolutionary film. Easily Kubrick's best film. it has one of the best cinematography and special effect I have seen with my own eyes, maybe the best science fiction film I have seen. It's a must watch.

    View

  • Soft & Wet

    ★★★★ Watched by Soft & Wet 02 May, 2016 1

    i should probably watch this again later, when im not half asleep.

    View

  • Mathias Axberg

    ★★½ Rewatched by Mathias Axberg 02 May, 2016

    The ape-actors are terrible. Thank god for Andy Serkis.

    View

  • Chudej

    ★★★★½ Rewatched by Chudej 02 May, 2016

    This movie really is something. Like... some of those guys in ape suits were really damn good. Apes aside though, most of the good things about this movie are already obvious to everybody, so I'm gonna mention the bad, which there isn't a lot of. My biggest complaint is that it sometimes gets too slow, mainly in the 2 nearly identical pod segments in space. The lack of the monolith in that particular act also contributes to the feeling of…

    View

  • Lauren Schultz

    ★★★★ Rewatched by Lauren Schultz 02 May, 2016

    kubrick must've sold his soul for those visual effects man

    View

  • heyannakate

    ★★★★½ Added by heyannakate

    While this might be a sleek, overly-optimistic look at space travel and human ingenuity, it remains a fantastic study in contrasts. 2001 balances continuously between the facts of history, evolution, and physics and the push of the unknowable -- between the tightly controlled process of exploration and the punishing delirium of a sojourn through outer/inner space. Don't miss this brilliant mythologizing of the human journey, but be sure to compare it to the transcendent, gritty reality of Tarkovsky's Solaris.

    View

  • Kayla

    ★★★★★ Watched by Kayla 01 May, 2016

    incredibly beautiful and yet completely and utterly terrifying. i now know that the two aren't exactly mutually exclusive. what the fuck. not to mention that fantastic score

    View

  • darkzone

    ½ Watched by darkzone 01 May, 2016

    Technically great movie, too long though, tough to get through fell a sleep twice watching it in two sessions

    View

  • Euan Franklin

    ★★★★½ Rewatched by Euan Franklin 01 May, 2016

    No. 1 - 2001: A Space Odyssey

    A science-fiction classic that pushes a deeper meaning after every viewing. In spite of his historical status, I must say that sequences are still too long. Maybe, after eight more viewings, that opinion will fade into a greater admiration. 

    #RogerEbertTheGreatMovies
    Part of my ambition to watch (and rewatch) all the films reviewed by Roger Ebert in his book 'The Great Movies'

    View

  • ksawyer

    Rewatched by ksawyer 30 Apr, 2016

    SPAAAAAAACE

    View

  • IlaiA

    ★★★★★ Rewatched by IlaiA 01 May, 2016 2

    ?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

    View