• Andrew Willis

    ★★ Watched by Andrew Willis 18 Jul, 2011

    Directed by a Year in Film favorite, Michael Winterbottom, 9 Songs is an attempt at presenting a relationship through hardcore sex scenes, London underground rock music concerts and Antartica exploration.

    This is the story of Matt and Lisa. They meet at a concert. They have wild and passionate sex (in full view). They go to more concerts. Matt studies Antarctica. They go to more concerts and they have more sex. That is really all there is to this movie. It…

    View

  • Bruno_Lisboa

    ★★★ Added by Bruno_Lisboa

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    View

  • Barnaby Walter

    ★★ Rewatched by Barnaby Walter 03 Aug, 2014

    An interesting idea becomes a boring and repetative mixture of sex and music.

    A note on the viewing: Viewed in SD from StudioCanal's DVD, upscaled to High Definition. The image on the disc is very strong.

    View

  • sailordanae

    ★½ Watched by sailordanae 31 Jul, 2014

    Your enjoyment of this film will be predicated on one of two things: First, do you like modern indie rock? If so, other reviews say this has a great soundtrack. This style of music isn't to my taste, and the only way I recognize the names is from my co-workers (except Michael Nyman), but the music and concert scenes are best thing in the film.

    Second, do you want to watch two ordinary people have really explicit sex? As in,…

    View

  • theNomad

    ★★ Watched by theNomad 07 Jul, 2014

    “Antarctica is the planets memory. A memory to a time before there were people.”
    - Matt (Kieran O'Brien)

    ..:: The Joy of Unsimulated Sex ::..
    Michael Winterbottom captures
    O'Brien and Stilley f@*king on film,
    Von Bondies, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Elbow,
    Icecaps and other glaciology shit,
    Narcotic abuse,
    Goldfrapp, Dandy Warhols, Super Furry Animal,

    Oral sex and masturbation...
    No redeeming value or

    Unique experience ? I wasn't sure, at least we got to see
    Primal Scream, Franz Ferdinand and Michael…

    View

  • Dan Slevin

    ★★★½ Rewatched by Dan Slevin 21 Jun, 2014

    Interesting, honest, brave.

    View

  • Elias Elias

    ½ Added by Elias Elias

    This is just a porn movie with a great soundtrack...

    View

  • Balu

    Watched by Balu 01 May, 2014

    The movie is quite simple really:
    Song...
    Sex....
    Song...
    "Take me!"....
    Song......
    More heavy breathing...
    that's all it is about

    View

  • Nicolas

    ½ Added by Nicolas

    CAPSULE REVIEW: I don't think you can make an artful pornographic movie. Sure, the level of sleaze and unabashed misogyny is absent in "9 Songs", but it is still a pornographic movie. And worst of all; it's boring, boring, boring. Revolving around the music of some listenable and some non-listenable Brit-rock, "9 Songs" schtick gets tiresome soon. Michael Winterbottom is a solid director and he isn't afraid trying on mild experiments but this is a dud that actually had to see in installments.

    View

  • Carlos Rubi

    ★½ Watched by Carlos Rubi 19 Apr, 2014 2

    Se quedó en una buena idea: la historia de una pareja común que, curiosamente, va a muchos conciertos. Pero el problema es eso, lo comunes que son. No hay argumento, no hay problemas, no hay conflictos, no hay nada: la película es un pretexto para insertar escenas ultra-explícitas de sexo y clips en vivo de bandas de mediados de los 00s en hora y siete minutos de lentitud.

    PD. Básicamente, es porno tipo Golden Choice.

    View

  • Topictag

    Watched by Topictag 23 Mar, 2014

    Wenn dieser Film künstlerischen Anspruch erhoben hat, jenseits davon expliziten Sex auf die Leinwand zu bringen, dann habe ich ihn verpasst.

    View

  • Paul Dyson

    ★½ Watched by Paul Dyson 16 Mar, 2014

    I love Michael Winterbottom's films and I have a huge amount of respect for the way he pushes at the boundaries of cinema's mainstream conventions.

    9 songs famously and successfully challenges the UK BBFC's boundaries for the depiction of sex. But that doesn't make it a good film. The nine songs of the title are interspersed with scenes of the lead couple fucking (yes, for real) and it turns out that that just isn't very interesting.

    It says a lot that the absolute memorable highlight of this film for me was the footage of the Von Bondies at Brixton Academy.

    View