• Killian

    ★★★★★ Added by Killian

    Charming, simple, and sweet. Masterpiece.

    View

  • Stigander

    ★★★½ Watched by Stigander 25 Jan, 2016

    Ganske vanskelig å finne ein ordentlig moral i denne filmen, men pga settingen vart eg kanskje litt for opptatt av å finne ein. Kjekk film å berre la skylle over meg.

    View

  • jto111

    ★★★★ Added by jto111

    Oscar winning Danish film from the 1980s. The drama going on throughout this movie has interesting moments, yet what makes it so watchable is simply the preparation of the feast. It's like the best sort of food porn. That's not to underplay the other elements in the film, but there is something so fascinating about the cooking of a meal and what it says about different cultures. An odd little movie, but certainly an enjoyable one.

    View

  • Reece Leonard

    ★★★★½ Watched by Reece Leonard 20 Jan, 2016

    This review may contain spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    Babette's Feast focuses on a little town made up of devout Christians who believe in simplicity and regimens. Two sisters meet luxurious men, fall in love, but don't act on their feelings. A woman named Babette comes to town, living with them for many years before revealing herself to be a world-famous cook who makes them a meal as a gift. The town learns to overcome their petty squabbles after eating, for life is worth living and their troubles mean…

    View

  • Oti

    ★★★½ Watched by Oti 16 Jan, 2016

    Esta cinta ganadora del Oscar en 1987, la cual fue muy aclamada y recibió diversas nominaciones y premios, relata el peculiar modo de vida, de una pequeña sociedad muy religiosa y puritana, que se ve trastocada por un fastuoso festín. Basada en un cuento de Isak Dikesen, de cuya obra "Memorias de África¨también fue oscarizada y muy premiada. Aunque no está mal adaptada, y se nota la antiguedad de la película, nada que ver con la pequeña joya literaria en la que se basa.

    View

  • JSusanka

    Rewatched by JSusanka 10 Jan, 2016

    Still so, so good.

    This time around, I was particularly struck by the parallelisms in both sisters' stories. The first (and most obvious) is the moment between Martine and Löwenhielm beside the coat rack, where he (as a young hussar) tells here that "many things are impossible. And then, later, where he stands and says that "this evening I have learned, my dear, that in this beautiful world of ours, all things are possible."

    The second, though, is when Filippa…

    View

  • Herrguth

    ★★★★½ Watched by Herrguth 11 Jan, 2016

    Week 16 in Letterboxd Season Challenge 15-16.
    Spiritually Significant Week

    Watch at least one previously unseen spiritually significant movie from Arts & Faiths' 2011-list. If you happen to have seen all, your challenge is to watch at least one unseen from this extended Arts & Faiths-list that includes movies from former editions.
    *********************************************************************
    What a beautiful movie with a great message and some beautiful cinematography.
    The movie is slow-paced and the events that occur are small but they all come together for a greater good in the end.
    Stéphane Audran delivers a good and subtle performance that is hard to forget.

    View

  • Jandy Hardesty

    Watched by Jandy Hardesty 05 Jan, 2016

    This review may contain spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    [crossposted from my blog]

    Note: I watched this for my personal movie challenge, but I'm also counting it for the Letterboxd Season Challenge, which is especially fitting because it fits the week that challenge is on right now!

    Week 16: Spiritually Significant Week
    Challenge: Your weekly challenge is to watch at least one previously unseen spiritually significant movie from Arts & Faiths' 2011-list.

    Despite having heard Babette's Feast raved about by a lot of different people, I had never drummed up…

    View

  • Ari Niemi

    ★★★★½ Watched by Ari Niemi 07 Jan, 2016

    Film #39 of the Letterboxd Season Challenge 2015-16.

    Babette's Feast is a film not in a hurry to go anywhere. Gabriel Axel takes his time to build the characters and when we get to the titular feast sequence, the viewer is completely in awe. I'm quite certain it's the finest scene about eating I've ever seen. The acting is fantastic as well. In the end the film is melancholic but very uplifting, and after starting slow it totally got me by surprise. Fantastic.

    View

  • Glen Grunau

    ★★★★★ Rewatched by Glen Grunau 06 Jan, 2016

    The most exquisite dining experience ever portrayed in film offers spiritual liberation for an aesthetic community convinced that the body and all sensual experience must be denied.

    Timely to watch this after a chocolate fondoo prepared by my dear wife in a log house B&B at 108 House Ranch in BC Cariboo country.

    View

  • rushmore_whore

    ★★★★★ Watched by rushmore_whore 31 Dec, 2015

    this is a perfect movie

    View

  • Ceilidh

    ★★★½ Watched by Ceilidh 29 Dec, 2015

    This review may contain spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    This movie is something of a surprise, being sort of melancholy and seeming small & mostly uneventful, yet also wryly funny and full of universal yearnings. When the dinner supplies arrive from France and one of the sisters has the Rosemary's Baby-esque dream with the devil turtle and flames I was thinking the movie was about to take a turn for the much darker and weirder, and part of me wishes it did, but that's obviously not the story that was being told!

    View