• Scott D'Agostino

    ★★★★★ Rewatched by Scott D'Agostino 22 Nov, 2014

    Mark Wahlberg's best performance and it established Paul Thomas Anderson as the auteur he is now.

    View

  • Shrabster

    ★★★½ Added by Shrabster

    Porn stars in the 70s get depressed.

    View

  • Reviewpuram Akilan

    ★★★★½ Watched by Reviewpuram Akilan 20 Nov, 2014

    There isn't any "plot" as such. It has a Scorsese-styled template of colours and frames. Almost all characters know each other in this film, and each of them can be attributed with a colour of their own. The vivid performances, attention to details (70s), and some well-written dialogues make this vicariously entertaining!

    The way this film progressed is amazing, and is an example of brilliant screen-writing. One character is introduced, he is set up with his background and is taken…

    View

  • reflectedsplndr

    ★★★½ Rewatched by reflectedsplndr 18 Nov, 2014

    The first time I watched Boogie Nights I couldn't finish it. I believe it was during the 80s chapter of this gargantuan movie that my will to keep watching finally dissolved, which would wind up being only the beginning of a long standing trend of me watching P.T. Anderson's apparent "masterpieces" with little more than irritation.

    Second time around went more smoothly, as the 3 1/2 star rating might suggest. Do I think it's incredible? No. I still believe the…

    View

  • Paul Davey

    ★★★★½ Rewatched by Paul Davey 06 Nov, 2014

    Satisfying and rich in pretty much every way: character, setting, and narrative.

    View

  • Jordan Ferrero

    ★★★★★ Rewatched by Jordan Ferrero 16 Nov, 2014

    Paul Thomas Anderson is one of America's finest filmmakers, and he's certainly a personal favorite of mine. Boogie Nights is kind of his "Goodfellas" or "Pulp Fiction", if that gives you any kind of sense at how great this film is. This film never ages and never loses its pace and never ceases to amaze and surprise you.

    View

  • tuckerbattrell

    ★★★★★ Rewatched by tuckerbattrell 15 Nov, 2014

    Pull quotes from people and reviews that sum up my feelings on Boogie Nights:

    "Through all the characters and all the action, Anderson's screenplay centers on the human qualities of the players. They may live in a disreputable world, but they have the same ambitions and in a weird way similar values as mainstream Hollywood."
    - Roger Ebert

    "Not since the mysteriously reclusive Terrence Malick has there been such an explosion of sheer talent on the American movie scene."
    - Andrew Sarris

    "An epic story of self-delusion with a skill and grace that many more experienced filmmakers would be hard put to match."
    - Maitland McDonagh

    View

  • IfWeMadeIt

    Watched by IfWeMadeIt 15 Nov, 2014

    Episode 156

    View

  • Yagi

    ★★★★ Added by Yagi

    this felt like a documentary about Mark Wahlberg's dick

    View

  • bkoop

    ★★★★½ Watched by bkoop 10 Nov, 2014

    The most obvious influence for Boogie Nights is Goodfellas, this film is explosive, atmospheric and possibly a bit too crowded with its soundtrack. I liked it a lot but I could never wrap my head around Mark Wahlberg's acting in most of the film. Burt Reynolds was fantastic. Some of the dialogue in this film was just peculiar. A somewhat bizarre experience.

    View

  • Eddie White

    ★★★★★ Rewatched by Eddie White 08 Nov, 2014

    Yep. Upon re-watching after not having seen it for a few years, one thing is confirmed:

    Every single aspect of this film is flawless from the script, the direction, cinematography, performances, editing, soundtrack, hair and make up, costume design, production design, lighting, sound design... even the catering was probably unbeatable.

    View

  • Drew

    ★★★★★ Added by Drew

    Boneriffic!! Seriously, BN is extraordinary filmmaking! Brilliant in its approach. A marvelous performance delivered by John C. Reilly! Poignant and stirring character studies throughout. Julianne Moore is ACES! Kudos "Dirk Diggler"...kudos!!

    View