• Steven Cohen

    ★★★★ Watched by Steven Cohen 22 Nov, 2014

    Part of my Paul Thomas Anderson re-watch before Inherent Vice comes out. I had never seen Boogie Nights before, but I'm glad I finally did. PTA's artistic leap from Hard Eight to this is really substantial. It's one of the best ensemble films I've ever seen, though Magnolia is probably higher on that list.

    Read my full review here.

    View

  • Reid

    ★★★★★ Added by Reid

    Boogie Nights is highly energetic, funky, and quite dirty. It is nevertheless able to tackle its racy subject with honesty, realism, and pure style. One would be shocked that the film is two-and-a-half hours, because it is that entertaining.

    View

  • Robert Jackson

    ★★★★★ Rewatched by Robert Jackson 22 Nov, 2014

    This movie sounds so dumb on paper...

    View

  • Thomas Elliott

    ★★★★★ Rewatched by Thomas Elliott 23 Nov, 2014

    I had forgotten how great the Rahad Jackson sequence is in this film, an absolute pitch perfect balance between tension and comedy with those firecrackers constantly exploding. The entire film is like a firecracker, periods of slow silence while the threat of violent explosion builds, permeated by moments of action, be it sexual or violent. The film has such a strong comedic element that I had previously overlooked from Phillip Seymour Hoffman’s reaction shots and line deliveries to Don Cheadle’s ridiculous fashion choices.

    The film also has the greatest soundtrack to any film, ever.

    View

  • Michael DeNight

    ★★★★★ Added by Michael DeNight

    What kind of brother are you, anyway? Listening to that shit.

    View

  • Daniel "PG" Simpson

    ★★★★★ Rewatched by Daniel "PG" Simpson 21 Nov, 2014

    Not Paul Thomas Anderson's most nuanced or ambitious work, but this has the energy and passion of a young filmmaker eager to show off what he can do. The film is very entertaining and while the characters may not be the smartest or most respectable people in the world, Anderson clearly loves them and it makes them endearing.

    "Everyone's got one special thing."

    View

  • Scott D'Agostino

    ★★★★★ Rewatched by Scott D'Agostino 22 Nov, 2014

    Mark Wahlberg's best performance and it established Paul Thomas Anderson as the auteur he is now.

    View

  • Shrabster

    ★★★½ Added by Shrabster

    Porn stars in the 70s get depressed.

    View

  • Reviewpuram Akilan

    ★★★★½ Watched by Reviewpuram Akilan 20 Nov, 2014

    There isn't any "plot" as such. It has a Scorsese-styled template of colours and frames. Almost all characters know each other in this film, and each of them can be attributed with a colour of their own. The vivid performances, attention to details (70s), and some well-written dialogues make this vicariously entertaining!

    The way this film progressed is amazing, and is an example of brilliant screen-writing. One character is introduced, he is set up with his background and is taken…

    View

  • reflectedsplndr

    ★★★½ Rewatched by reflectedsplndr 18 Nov, 2014

    The first time I watched Boogie Nights I couldn't finish it. I believe it was during the 80s chapter of this gargantuan movie that my will to keep watching finally dissolved, which would wind up being only the beginning of a long standing trend of me watching P.T. Anderson's apparent "masterpieces" with little more than irritation.

    Second time around went more smoothly, as the 3 1/2 star rating might suggest. Do I think it's incredible? No. I still believe the…

    View

  • Paul Davey

    ★★★★½ Rewatched by Paul Davey 06 Nov, 2014

    Satisfying and rich in pretty much every way: character, setting, and narrative.

    View

  • Jordan Ferrero

    ★★★★★ Rewatched by Jordan Ferrero 16 Nov, 2014

    Paul Thomas Anderson is one of America's finest filmmakers, and he's certainly a personal favorite of mine. Boogie Nights is kind of his "Goodfellas" or "Pulp Fiction", if that gives you any kind of sense at how great this film is. This film never ages and never loses its pace and never ceases to amaze and surprise you.

    View