• Funnyguy

    ★★★ Watched by Funnyguy 27 Nov, 2014

    The plot lack realism in its creation of sentiment. It gets a bit cheesy at times, and some parts is too stupid.

    Well made, and a significant subject matter.

    View

  • jawnsnough

    ★★★★ Watched by jawnsnough 17 Nov, 2014

    Things that I took away from this movie:

    Robin Williams has a surprisingly small amount of screen time.
    But that doesn't matter because the rookie cast is solid as hell.
    That mean tweet about Ethan Hawke is terrifyingly accurate.
    There is a very big difference between studying and learning.
    You can't escape the system, but it only crushes you if you let it.
    Never let anyone or anything hinder your devotion.
    It's easy to lose sight of passion and fun in this world.
    So live in the moment.
    Go do something spontaneous.

    I love films that make you reevaluate your perspective.

    View

  • Kauri Singh

    ★★★★ Added by Kauri Singh

    A good drama with a career-defining performace from Robbie Williams (RIP).

    View

  • Josh Spiegel

    ★★½ Watched by Josh Spiegel 22 Nov, 2014 2

    I wish I liked this more. Solid enough cast--and whoever thought Ethan Hawke, Robert Sean Leonard, and Josh Charles would be good for the roles was damn prescient, considering their respective careers--but to me, this never rose above the standard-issue inspirational-teacher movie, hitting a number of familiar beats along the way.

    View

  • Cian

    ★★★½ Watched by Cian 15 Nov, 2014 17

    In the year nineteen-hundred and eighty nine,
    There came out a film many saw as divine,
    It was the movie recommend to many a peer,
    Starring Rob Williams and directed by Peter Weir,
    And now, to make English Majors feel at home,
    I will review the Dead Poets with a poem,

    The film revolves around a group of young boys,
    With a great English teacher, you know, that guy from Toys,
    We see the lives of these lads through one…

    View

  • Alberto del Rio Medina

    ★★★ Watched by Alberto del Rio Medina 12 Nov, 2014

    Me gusto, la escena final si, es muy emotiva.
    Ahora, esa "rebeldía" de los chavos, el "nos vamos a esconder, a leer poesía y expresar nuestras propias ideas y opiniones" "SI!" "Ok, le entro! pero hay que tener cuidado de no meternos en problemas"
    En serio? problemas por leer poesía y expresarte?

    La vi por Robin Williams, es una de sus mejores actuaciones, me dijeron y tienen razón.

    Esta película me recordo a una frase de Sir Ken Robinson, que se de ella por Zen Pencils: zenpencils.com/comic/kenrobinson/

    View

  • Toomah

    Added by Toomah

    I was going to rate this as my most feel-good movie of all time but then the last twenty minutes happened.

    View

  • amb

    ★★ Rewatched by amb 09 Nov, 2014

    For all the vitriol that gets thrown at similar schmaltz like Forrest Gump, I'm shocked there isn't a more vocal hatred for this one.
    This is beautifully shot (it's Weir, duh), competently acted hot garbage.
    I'm not usually interested in complaining about films solely focused on "white people problems," because, well, a lot of great literature has come from whiny New England WASPs. But, there's so little believable conflict in this and its attempts at forcing some reveals nothing but…

    View

  • Ionutvrinceanu

    ★★★★★ Watched by Ionutvrinceanu 05 Nov, 2014

    Brilliant & Powerful.
    Seize the day!

    View

  • silentrunnning

    ★★★★ Watched by silentrunnning 05 Feb, 2014

    "Two roads diverged in the wood and I, I took the one less traveled by, and that has made all the difference."

    View

  • Jay_Are

    ★★★★★ Rewatched by Jay_Are 01 Nov, 2014

    Say what you want about this film; my five-star rating is for anyone who has ever had a teacher who touched your soul. Thank you Cynthia Hibbetts, for the rest of my life and forever.

    View

  • renfield89

    ★★★★ Added by renfield89

    "Dead Poets Society" will be watched differently by the next generation than it is by my contemporaries and predecessors. Is that fair?

    View