• Cam Smith

    ★★★★½ Watched by Cam Smith 25 Jan, 2015

    A masterpiece? Damn close. Kubrick's final effort is a veritable feast of moments of pure cinema.

    View

  • miketwest

    Rewatched by miketwest 23 Jan, 2015

    White people.

    View

  • Juli

    ★★★★★ Rewatched by Juli 30 Dec, 2014 2

    4th viewing

    Man where do I start with this review. I am unable to form my thoughts on this film into a coherent whole, so in advance, I apologise for the rambling nature of this review. I'm gonna get this out of the way first.

    This is a perfect film.

    I'm not usually a guy who is huge on cinematography, of course I like a movie to look beautiful, but I never stop and think about this scene being filmed…

    View

  • the_dame

    ★★★★★ Watched by the_dame 02 Jan, 2015

    Stanley Kubrick's last film was beautifully written with the subtle symbolism in most scenes. Kubrick's eye for color played in his favor in each scene while the production design gave theatricality for each shot of the film.

    View

  • Eric

    ★★★★½ Watched by Eric 24 Jan, 2015

    This might trump DIE HARD as the best Christmas movie

    View

  • edaz

    ★★★★ Rewatched by edaz 23 Jan, 2015

    Still one of the most terrifying movies I've ever seen

    View

  • paul

    ★★★½ Watched by paul 23 Jan, 2015 2

    Just like Kubrick’s other work, The Shining, there is more going on beneath the surface than what appears on the screen. In the case of The Shining, it ruined a terrific book, as the film became almost a cartoon – but in this instance, I believe that the stuff below the surface actually saved what would have otherwise been a rather tedious looky lou bit of quasi pornography.

    In dealing with the subtext, it is necessary to delve into the…

    View

  • Jon LeGris

    ★★★★★ Watched by Jon LeGris 23 Jan, 2015

    (9.4/10)

    View

  • Daniel Aaron Wolfe

    ★★★★★ Watched by Daniel Aaron Wolfe 22 Jan, 2015

    One day, I will review this film.

    One day.

    View

  • zweidreifuenf_1

    Watched by zweidreifuenf_1 21 Jan, 2015

    voll von Motiven (Prozess, Sex, Traum/Wirklichkeit, Geschlechterrollen, Schicksal und Lebenswege, "Reise ins Herz der Nacht", Männlichkeit, Beziehungen, Sicherheit, Familie usw.), hochinteressant, oft an der Grenze zur Komödie/Satire, manchmal das Gefühl der Film spielt seine Motive nicht richtig konsequent aus, vielleicht nicht schlecht, vielleicht gar der beste Kubrick?!

    View

  • Americanguy

    ★★★★ Watched by Americanguy 22 Jan, 2015

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    View

  • Sachin Dharwadker

    ★★★½ Watched by Sachin Dharwadker 17 Jan, 2015

    Kubrick’s sense of aesthetics and atmosphere dazzle as usual, but when Nicole Kidman’s perplexing curtain line came around and the picture cut to black, I was left wondering: what was the point?

    View