• Anika

    Watched by Anika 27 Aug, 2016

    Watched for Scavenger Hunt 17
    3. A Razzie Worst Picture "winnner"!
    Satan's Sluts is an excellent motorcycle gang name.
    Does she wanna fuck a duck??????

    View

  • Caesar

    ½ Watched by Caesar 27 Aug, 2016

    What the duck did I just watch? Why do I so often find myself duck watching movies that really, really, really duck? Sometimes I feel like if I didn't have bad duck, I'd have no duck at all.

    View

  • Greg Nordlund

    Watched by Greg Nordlund 25 Aug, 2016

    1/2 star for some funny, but buried, sight gags and one-liners. 1/2 star for a decent performance by Tim Robbins. Otherwise, it earns its miserable reputation.

    View

  • Jaclyn Sanderson

    ½ Watched by Jaclyn Sanderson 19 Aug, 2016

    Watched this solely based on nostalgia as I remembered watching it as a child. Serious observation...someone actually pitched this movie to a producer and a producer actually agreed to fund this movie. One hell of a sales pitch.

    View

  • Swampflix

    ★★★★ Watched by Swampflix 20 Aug, 2016

    "Much like its self-loathing 'wisequacker' protagonist, Howard the Duck is a 'strange fowl in an even stranger land.' Its mere existence points to a cinema-specific ability to bring strange, improbable art to a mass audience, whether or not that audience appreciates it. In fact, its complete lack of a positive reception only adds to its idiosyncratic charm in the way it mirrors the mallard-out-of-water hostility of the source material’s narrative."

    Read the full review here.

    View

  • The Movie King

    ★★★½ Watched by The Movie King 19 Aug, 2016 30

    Film 16/30 of Scavenger Hunt 17
    Task #3: A Razzie Worst Picture "winner"
    letterboxd.com/martinjacob49/list/scavenger-hunt-17-august-2016/


    What kind of drugs were you taking, George Lucas?

    Who thought it was cool to add boobs on a female duck???

    Who was the kook that thought a duck and human relationship can be taken seriously???

    Who thought that crafting the chain-smoking, woman harassing, beer-drinking suck with quack fu would succeed in live-action form because that animatronic was CREEPY!!!!

    And yet, for some strange reason, I…

    View

  • AgScreen

    ★★½ Added by AgScreen

    Man, this was a few missteps from being a really good movie. It had a decent budget, and the special effects are good for the mid-80's, and the set design is good. My God, that first scene, where Howard's on his home planet, look around his room! The props dept. went to a lot of trouble to create magazines, record artwork, commercials and TV clips, etc. The acting was pretty good, too. Jeffrey Jones must've realized he wasn't in a…

    View

  • Adrram

    ★★½ Added by Adrram

    yes, it's bad. but there's a certain kitschy aesthetic to bad 80's movies that I can't help but love.

    View

  • Kenny S

    ★★½ Watched by Kenny S 15 Aug, 2016

    The cheesy acting, cheesy dialogue, cheesy score, cheesy plot.

    Definitely one of the best guilty pleasures ever.

    I LOVE IT!!!!!

    View

  • Dale Nauertz

    ★★★★ Rewatched by Dale Nauertz 09 Aug, 2016 2

    letterboxd.com/dale_nauertz/list/xanax-and-strippers-the-todd-gaines-challenge/ Film #5: A Razzie Winner (Bonus: a review where I use "fuck" and its variants more than 13 times)

    I'm almost 40. When I was younger, I thought a shroud of maturity would have been draped over me by now, that I would put childish things behind and accept the mantle of adulthood. Watching "Howard the Duck" made me realize that, not only has this not yet happened, but I doubt it ever will.

    You see, I love this…

    View

  • Chris Ranta (Ranta Claus)

    ★½ Rewatched by Chris Ranta (Ranta Claus) 07 Aug, 2016

    This is a "new breed of hero" indeed! Beyond the duck puns, beasitality and madness is a film that masters the craft like the titular character mastered Quack-Fu...

    ... wait I can't do a sarcastic review? You sure? Fuck!

    Okay so I don't need to tell you this film is shit. Anyone and everyone has done that to death so I don't feel like I'm treading new ground here, but fuck it.

    I will admit, the effects are fine, I…

    View

  • Ahmed

    ★★½ Added by Ahmed

    I've heard so much beforehand that Howard the Duck, an adaptation of a Marvel (!) comic book, was a bomb. Critics hated it. Most moviegoers hated it. As a result, the film grossed a weak $16 million dollars, far from recouping its $35 million budget. The movie is associated as a punchline, one of the biggest bombs ever made and one of the worst films ever made.

    I guess I'm just a weird guy, but to me Howard the Duck…

    View