• danielchung

    ★★★★ Added by danielchung

    This movie isn't based on the original Planet Of The Apes, or the Mark Wahlberg version. Instead, Rise attempts to write its own story, and succeeds. It's emotional, heartbreaking, and devestating. James Franco delivers what is arguably his best performance in his career, and the mo-cap by Andy Serkis is outstanding.

    View

  • Paul Griffin

    ★★★★ Added by Paul Griffin

    Very impressed with this one, since I wasn't expecting much really. Most of the humans are pretty basic in terms of character and performance, but generally I found the film to be enthralling and the apes were exceptionally presented, in both a very sympathetic yet savage way. Credit must go to Serkis for his excellent performance.

    View

  • Matt Waring

    ★★★★½ Rewatched by Matt Waring 01 May, 2016

    Anyone else notice the obvious parallels between this and Chicken Run?

    ...those apes are up to summat...

    View

  • Rob Samuelson

    ★★★½ Watched by Rob Samuelson 30 Apr, 2016

    While this one is good on its own terms, it's not necessarily in the same spirit as the other Apes movies. It's almost like the horde of primates at the film's end is a group of smart zombies rather than what they are in the original series. The themes are more personal and the grander scheme is focused on flying too close to the sun with science, rather than societal subjugation of large groups. I may not enjoy this as much as others, but this is an enjoyable and smart technological marvel as it is.

    View

  • Nick

    ★★★½ Added by Nick

    Hollywood take note: *this* is how you do a re-boot.

    Note: When is Serkis going to get his oscar?!

    View

  • BradleyPiper

    ★★★★½ Watched by BradleyPiper 27 Mar, 2016

    Incredibly powerful film, enjoyed every moment of it, and to see Draco Malfoy get his ass kicked by monkeys too was mildly amusing.

    View

  • Josh Forbes

    ★★★★ Watched by Josh Forbes 21 Apr, 2016

    Took me too long to get around to watching this movie. It's pretty stunning. John Lithgow's casting is so strange though. I feel like he was only hired because of his precious ape experience with Harry and the Hendersons. 

    James Franco's portrayal of a human being was a poor choice. His smile is unbearable in this movie. 

    Andy Serkis has somehow lucked into being the greatest actor on the planet. Why isn't he just straight up in more movies?

    Who knew there were this many apes in San Francisco?

    View

  • Israel H

    ★★★½ Watched by Israel H 20 Apr, 2016

    While it's definitely a Hollywood summer type sci-fi action film, this has some more depth than it may initially appear to have.
    It's very interesting to see Caesar's path to self-identity.
    The movie has its moments of dumb film logic and suffers from a couple of shitty performances, but in the spots where the movie works it works really well.
    It's cool, fun, and I think it's got a fresh enough take on the Planet of the Apes mythology that it's worth a watch.

    View

  • Nathanial00

    ★★★★½ Added by Nathanial00

    8.6/10
    A great reboot to a great franchise.

    View

  • Andrew Bloom

    ★★★½ Watched by Andrew Bloom 09 Apr, 2016

    This review may contain spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    There's a Robot Chicken sketch, of all things, that always made me chuckle. It recreates an episode of Law & Order using anthropomorphized chickens who only speak in clucks and bawks. The joke is that the rhythms of L&O are so standardized at this point, that you can essentially have characters talking nonsense and still get the point across as long as you keep it in that form. But it also stands for another interesting proposition -- that things like body…

    View

  • mairi

    ★★★★½ Watched by mairi 12 Jul, 2014

    nah no hate i actually love this film

    View

  • Andrew Milito

    ★★★★½ Rewatched by Andrew Milito 09 Apr, 2016

    Full review coming soon? Keep an eye on this review for a potential link.

    Rise of the Planet of the Apes is shockingly good. The jump in quality from the last entry in the seemingly dormant Planet of the Apes franchise to this film is unbelievably high, making this perhaps one of the strongest franchise reboots ever. Writing duo Rick Jaffa and Amanda Silver make the smart decision of creating a story that focuses not on the humans, but on…

    View