• Brendan Winters

    ★★★ Watched by Brendan Winters 28 Aug, 2015

    'Rust and Bone' is very conventional at times - and underwhelming also. The general direction, use of slo-mo and visual effects was fairly poor. As for performances, generally okay, Cotillard was quite good. My biggest disappointment with this film was how the whole killer whale trainer and disability thing was stuck in no man's land - it either should have been explored more or left out. Cotillard's backstory (combined with Ali's ferocious boxing) was the film's hinting at it's most…

    View

  • pirs

    ★★★½ Watched by pirs 02 Sep, 2015

    Man, ending a film with Bon Iver is just unfair.

    Amazing photography and directing. Cotillard once again proving to be top notch. Great stuff overall.

    View

  • Koen Romers

    ★★★★½ Watched by Koen Romers 27 Aug, 2015

    Most thought provoking film I've seen in ages.

    View

  • Jesse Fisher

    ★★★½ Watched by Jesse Fisher 20 Aug, 2015

    Whales are the WORST.

    View

  • Mike D'Angelo

    ★★★½ Watched by Mike D'Angelo 17 May, 2012

    64/100

    My review from Cannes addresses the film Audiard actually made. As opposed to, say, Owen Gleiberman's review (among many others), which expertly lambasts the movie that he expected to see based on the logline.

    View

  • Aaron T. Rex

    ★★★★★ Rewatched by Aaron T. Rex 09 Aug, 2015 7

    It's just powerful filmmaking that knocks me out once again. Performances out of this world and Audiard has a fun sense for popular music and what works in a scene.

    View

  • Līna Sondore

    ★★★★½ Rewatched by Līna Sondore 04 Aug, 2015

    ''Can't a whore train orcas?''

    View

  • saina

    ★★★★½ Watched by saina 31 Jul, 2015 1

    i'm a fucking mess right now, thx marion

    View

  • Johann Rucker

    ★★★★ Watched by Johann Rucker 30 Jul, 2015

    Jaqcques Audiard followed up his earth-shattering Un Prophete with a smaller, relationship-driven drama. Interesting career trajectory for an interesting man. Rust And Bone is very small, indeed, but the central thrust of the main characters played by Marion Cotillard and Matthias Schoenaerts is more than enough to keep the film grounded and realistic, even if it turns into absolute doom-porn by the end of the second act. Also, this soundtrack kicks my ass. Bon Iver and Lykke Li? I'm in.

    View

  • Leandro Luz

    ★★★★ Watched by Leandro Luz 13 Feb, 2015

    Curiosamente assisti FERRUGEM E OSSO pouco tempo depois de ter visto BLACKFISH, o chocante documentário-denúncia sobre os maus-tratos com as baleias assassinas dentro dos parques aquáticos espalhados pelo mundo. A personagem Stephanie - brilhantemente representada por Marion Cotillard, diga-se de passagem - poderia muito bem fazer parte do escopo de treinadores vítimas das baleias retratado no documentário. A presença forte de Matthias Schoenaerts dá vida ao personagem que leva a narrativa adiante, e é através dele que enxergamos o mundo…

    View

  • Malcolm

    ★★★★ Watched by Malcolm 27 Jul, 2015

    "Can't a whore train orcas?"

    This contemporary French melodrama is a striking film with striking scenes starring Marion Cotillard as a troubled orca trainer after a devastating accident.

    Jacques Audiard takes us through numerous snippets of the two protagonists' life together and separate. We see the unhappiness at the cost of not respecting what we have before it is taken away from us. However, some of the sharp turns this film takes are actually unnatural cause and effect phenomena disguised as unpredictability.

    Rating: B-

    View

  • Cedric B

    ★★★★ Watched by Cedric B 27 Jul, 2015

    The dramatic touchstones of Rust and Bone are somewhat forced, but with so many powerful individual scenes, each episode of sewn pathos feels genuine and sublime.

    View