• panvaneer

    ★★½ Watched by panvaneer 05 Jul, 2015

    A facile gruesome work.

    View

  • Matthew Sigur

    ½ Added by Matthew Sigur

    You ever eat a piece of supreme pizza, then have uncontrollable gas?

    I mean, just the worst gas. And it stinks! Like, wooo eee, I'm re-eating what I just ate.

    Oh, did I gross you out?

    Well, I'd rather do what I just wrote than ever watch this silly fucking movie ever again.

    View

  • Leticia

    ★★★★★ Rewatched by Leticia 01 Jul, 2015

    11 years later, still as fucking good

    View

  • DanStew

    ★★★★ Watched by DanStew 30 Jun, 2015

    What a conceptually electrifying film. Some dodgy acting from Elwes and the lack of some stylistic stability (as a result of a low budget) are the only complaints I have. Can't wait to see where they take the mythology from here.

    View

  • meme creep

    ★★★½ Watched by meme creep 29 Jun, 2015

    When the movie started I thought Adam was an ass. Continuing the movie he was still the character I wanted to kill. He got on my nerves with his pretentious white boy ass, but I could still see the gay within. Nearing the end of this film Adam became became my favourite character. (much like Linda in The Evil Dead) Larry started making making me want to punch him in the face, while I could relate to Adam. Overall I thought this was a good movie. 10 saws outta 15 saws.

    Larry x Adam 5ever.

    View

  • Andrew

    ★★½ Watched by Andrew 29 Jun, 2015

    There's definitely something here, but all of the intrigue that "Saw" sets up is undermined by the unconvincing work from its leads and its over-reliance on flashbacks.

    View

  • Flo Lieb

    Rewatched by Flo Lieb 27 Jun, 2015

    Underwhelming in every regard.

    View

  • Marty McKee

    ★★★★ Rewatched by Marty McKee 27 Jun, 2015

    SAW has a marvelous premise, bits of edge-of-your-seat suspense, and an unsettling twist ending. Wan really knows how to make your teeth chatter, and SAW is impressive for a debut feature. Weak performances by Elwes and Glover, some broad plotholes, and too many similarities to SE7EN prevent it from being any kind of modern classic (although I recognize many horror fans disagree), but I found the concept to be intriguing, and the over-the-top climax is a real corker.

    View

  • Ryan Burson

    ★★★★ Watched by Ryan Burson 27 Jun, 2015

    Now you saw me, now you don't.

    View

  • FlickFanatics

    ★★★★½ Rewatched by FlickFanatics 24 Jun, 2015 1

    We turned it into a James wan marathon. Somehow my friends have never seen the first saw film, which is easily the best of the series and an awesome debut for James wan. This is a thriller with an excellent twist of horror that really threw my friends off. So cool.

    View

  • Greg Dorr

    ★½ Watched by Greg Dorr 23 Jun, 2015

    At times it seems clever, but ultimately Saw is a deeply stupid and annoying movie, undone by not only its incessant, inexplicable plot twists, but also by its awful dialog, its terrible acting, and its generally loathsome aesthetic -- which, unfortunately, was later aped by thousands of low-budget torture porn copycats.

    Although I've been a fan of horror movies for decades, this is the one that makes me feel like an old geezer who doesn't understand those darn kids.

    View

  • MogulsReview

    ★★½ Added by MogulsReview

    I was expecting much more gore after previously having only seen some of the sequels.

    This one was a lot more about plot, and about introducing us to Jigsaw and the 'game' that he sets up for victims.

    The acting was pretty poor in my opinion, and had that CSI cliche one-liner feel occasionally.
    I also felt the ending kind of ripped off a scene from Silence of the Lambs.

    View