• Ashley

    ½ Rewatched by Ashley 21 Oct, 2014

    Excruciating, insufferable, execrable, shit.

    View

  • Alberto Farina

    ★★½ Watched by Alberto Farina 24 Jul, 2014

    Surviving an assassination attempt, middle-eastern dictator hides in the US while waiting to address the UN while his own premier schemes to overthrow him. Nominal plot amounts to little more than a disposable gag machine. Cohen's rapid fire barrage of scatological, politically uncorrect, outrageous humor does work at times but also shoots quite a few duds while trying too hard to gross everyone out.

    View

  • iliana dd

    ½ Added by iliana dd

    #ΝΟΤ

    View

  • Joe DiCanio

    ★★ Watched by Joe DiCanio 08 Jun, 2012

    Rating: C-

    View

  • KMOKLER

    ★★½ Added by KMOKLER

    I do think Sacha Baron Cohen is a good actor but like when i hate a film for it just being made to be violent The Dictator was just made to offend people which does make the film highly unacceptable but yes its entertaining enough and has its funny moments but i didn't laugh every time the movie was being racist which was every 5 minutes or so.

    View

  • Carlos Laron

    ★★★ Watched by Carlos Laron 30 Sep, 2014

    "For one second let's pretend I am an idiot."

    Stupid but rather entertaining.

    View

  • Carlos Rodríguez

    ★★★★ Watched by Carlos Rodríguez 18 Feb, 2013

    The Dictator is a smart and sharp political satire, which is consistently funny and is filled with memorable gags. Sacha Baron Cohen gives another brilliant comic performance and this time he was accompanied by Anna Faris, who was also very funny. The ending was a bit weak compared to the rest but nevertheless, what a funny and good comedy this was, because despite that it's offensive and its crude, vulgar, and off-color humor might put many people off, it uses it in its favor and takes advantage of it to build some truly funny situations. It's not as epic as Borat but it's also very enjoyable.

    View

  • oobawa

    ★★ Watched by oobawa 13 Sep, 2014

    Give Sacha Baron Cohen a funny accent, a hidden camera, and a couple of ideas about where to take a scene, and you get comedic gold. Give him a script, a full crew, and $65 million dollars to make a movie, and you get shit. What the hell, man? How's that read to your investors?

    It's a bit puzzling as to why The Dictator falls so flat. Cohen, who skewers American culture so viciously and unapologetically in Da Ali G…

    View

  • ACBlogReview

    ★★½ Watched by ACBlogReview 10 Sep, 2014

    What happens when money takes over. A clever satirical comedy turned into a generic fish out of water story plagued with toilet humour.
    A few moments of laughter but it's Borat: Lite. Easily forgotten.

    View

  • John Connor

    ★★ Watched by John Connor 26 May, 2012

    The law of diminishing returns is hitting Sacha Baron Cohen pretty hard now. I'd estimate that one joke in every ten got me mildly amused, and one in twenty made me laugh out loud. There's a hell of a lot of jokes though, so those ratios still mean I laughed quite a lot during the film, but there were looooong stretches when nothing worked at all. At those times, it was simply boring as hell. And if you're gonna move from kamikaze, 'gotcha' based comedy to shooting from a script ... spend more time on your God-damn script!

    View

  • Patrick

    ★★★ Watched by Patrick 06 Sep, 2014

    This was funny...and I feel bad about that

    View

  • Juan Espinoza

    ★★★ Watched by Juan Espinoza 07 Aug, 2012

    Sigue los mismos patrones que Borat y Bruno, hasta con lo del ayudante masoquista. Sin embargo esas dos anteriores tienen sendos finales muy buenos. Esta por renunciar definitivamente al estilo 'neo-cinema verité' o falso documental de las otras pierde algo de dinamismo.

    View