• jmhuston

    ★★★ Added by jmhuston

    Finally a movie that proves there just has to be a better way to do prom than the american system

    View

  • Laurissa

    ★★★ Watched by Laurissa 16 Aug, 2014

    A bit disappointed after all the rave reviews about how different this movie was. Definitely a stand out in the genre but it still fell pray to predictability. The actress that portrays Lola is definitely a stand out. Overall a good horror flick.

    View

  • Jade

    ★★★½ Watched by Jade 13 Aug, 2014

    A sadistic prom queen's blood-soaked revenge may be a tad derivative, but a couple of unsettling twists pull The Loved Ones away from generic slasher Hell. Also chilling is the dark humour that swirls in grotesque horror against pink satin and glitter bits. Above all, Robin McLeavy's compellingly disturbing antagonist makes this horror venture worth a peek.

    View

  • Pidi

    ½ Watched by Pidi 11 Dec, 2013

    Még annál is betegebb...

    View

  • Mully Mullennix

    ★★★ Watched by Mully Mullennix 21 Jul, 2014

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    View

  • COBRARocky

    ★★★★ Added by COBRARocky

    It's Misery meets Carrie meets Audition!

    Never have I had so much empathy for the main character of a horror movie. Xavier Samuel gets his throat scorched and doesn't speak at all for the second half of the film but he still manages to express so much with his tortured expressions, you cant help but feel for the poor bastard.

    Horror movies need villians and Robin McLeavy just kills it, this girl is fucking scary!

    Watching this film weave between teen high school drama, murder mystery and torture porn is really something. Fucking see this one, goddamn.

    View

  • Ruben Cordeiro

    ★★★★ Added by Ruben Cordeiro

    Pretty surprised by how much did I enjoy this movie. If you enjoy a little bit of torture porn mixed with a dose of style, you should check this one out.

    View

  • SophieLala

    ★★★½ Watched by SophieLala 11 Jul, 2014 2

    "AM I NOT PRETTY ENOUGH?"

    View

  • Christine

    ★★★½ Watched by Christine 08 Jul, 2014

    I'm not a fan of horror films, so I wasn't expecting to like this one much; I only bothered with it because of the soft spot in my heart for the Australian film industry.
    Maybe I just haven't seen many horror films but this had a very character-driven plot, wHICH IS SOMETHING I ADORE IN FICTION. Plus it gets better the more times you watch it.

    View

  • Kyle Porter

    ★★★★½ Rewatched by Kyle Porter 04 Jul, 2014

    This movie, in my opinion, is amazing and almost perfect. No, you can't compare it to films, like, John Carpenter's "Halloween", or Brian De Palma's "Carrie"... they're all so different. Horror movies, but very different. Anyway, as far as today's horror movies go, this one is pretty awesome. I love all of the actors, and the plot. The fact that the antagonist is a female is automatically great. You don't see that too often. My only complaint is the ending. After all of the shit he went through, I wanted to see this bitch suffer, but it was over too quickly.

    View

  • geleiademocoto

    ★★½ Watched by geleiademocoto 25 Jun, 2014

    This was alright. I was expecting better. Well, the actual horror/suspense parts did work pretty well, and I think the credit goes to the soundtrack. And yeah, it's an interesting idea. But I guess the positive reviews I've seen made me expect too much. Also, what was the deal with those two randoms? I kept expecting their plotlines to converge, but no. Just, here's too awkward people going to a school dance. Ok then.

    View

  • Lucas Barwenczik

    ★★½ Watched by Lucas Barwenczik 08 Jun, 2014

    Mittelmäßiger, inhaltlich wie tonal wirrer Horrorstreifen um eine mörderische Außenseiterin. Mehrfach stellt sich die Frage, ob die Komik, die einigen Szenen innewohnt, Absicht. Das sollte eigentlich nicht passieren. Die Darsteller sind blass, das Buch recht schwach. Einige nette Einstellungen bleiben im Kopf, außerdem ein unangenehmer "Schockmoment". Die Frage, die im Anschuss gestellt werden muss: Für so etwas gibt in Australien Filmförderung? Irgendwie cool. Glaub ich.

    View