• Matt Heiser

    ★½ Watched by Matt Heiser 07 Jul, 2015

    Just a mistake from its conception. A terrible idea to do a quasi-remake of The Thing, especially when you choose to rely almost fully on CGI instead of practical effects. Another case of indistinguishable supporting characters, so no stakes at all their. Mary Elizabeth Winstead's character was also very thinly drawn, not a good sign when she's the main character. I know she's a pretty good actress from other movies, so I blame her blandness on the script and not on her. Very weak remake.

    View

  • Johann Rucker

    ★★★½ Watched by Johann Rucker 20 Jul, 2015

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    I won't mention the original 1982 film because I'm biased; it's one of my favorite movies ever, and I strongly posit that it does everything a horror film should do PERFECTLY. John Carpenter is a god. I never got around to watching this 2011 prequel/soft-reboot because of the mass-rejection it received from fans and audiences at large. It just sort of came and went without too much hullabaloo.

    If this sucker had some more tangibility to it, I'd be more…

    View

  • Calum Iain MacIver

    ★½ Watched by Calum Iain MacIver 16 Oct, 2012

    The Thing from Another World” (1951) and “John Carpenter’s The Thing” (1982) are both horror / sci-fi classics. “The Thing” (2011), which is a prequel to the 1982 movie is a pale, uninspired imitation of these two classics – it is a sad, depressing indictment of both the ultra-conservative approach and the frightening lack of adventure and intelligence in modern Hollywood. For what it’s worth palaeontologist Kate Lloyd (Mary Elizabeth Winstead) travels, with a team led by Dr. Sandor Halvorson…

    View

  • Lucio

    ★★★ Watched by Lucio 14 Jul, 2015

    Poco terrificante nonostante gli effetti speciali, non abbastanza paranoico, trae forza solo dai collegamenti col film di Carpenter dell'82 (soprattutto il finale).

    View

  • Oskars Three word reviews

    ½ Added by Oskars Three word reviews

    Why remake? WHY?

    View

  • SammyBronkowitz

    ★★★ Watched by SammyBronkowitz 08 Oct, 2012

    Well...it wasn't AWFUL. It was just a mediocre monster movie with some surprisingly good visual FX*, GREAT sound FX and one seriously well done suspense scene. (The test.)

    *after all that bitching about the CGI I expected some VAN HELSING-esque cartoon shit, but in fact they did a pretty good job and it even looked in parts better than the animatronics that I saw in the making of later on YouTube.

    I really wish they would have dared to tell…

    View

  • Markus Nestele

    Watched by Markus Nestele 09 Jun, 2015

    well...it's...someThing...<sigh>

    View

  • john runion

    ★★★ Watched by john runion 07 Jun, 2015

    not as good as Christian Nyby's the thing from another world
    not as good as john carpenter's the thing
    not as good as phantoms
    not as good as 30 days of night
    not as good as a cold night's death
    ...but it is better than deep rising.

    View

  • Stuntman_Mike

    Watched by Stuntman_Mike 05 Jun, 2015

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    Urgh :/

    This is the most unnecessary thing ever made. Not just in the extreme phase of hollywoods remake mania regarding horror films (which judging by the movies release date was exactly at that time) but in general.

    I was, like I am always on this site, very brief about the original. That had two reasons:
    For one thing, I am reviewer number XXXXXXX that would have told you in detail why it is so great.
    And I am forced…

    View

  • JohnTyler

    Added by JohnTyler

    Despite an appropriately creepy score by Marco Beltrami and the best efforts of stars Mary Elizabeth Winstead and Joel Edgerton, The Thing is a horrendous sci-fi/horror film that tries to pass itself off as a prequel when it uses the same structure and story as John Carpenter's horror classic, and the CGI effects for the titular Thing are nothing short of cringe-worthy.

    View

  • PeterSellers

    ★★★ Added by PeterSellers

    No es un remake como parecía a primera vista, sino una especie de precuela de la original que sirve para explicar algunas cosas que ocurrían en aquella. Aún así no es nada del otro mundo, pero merece la pena verla si eres fan de la original.

    View

  • Jonny Redman

    ★★ Watched by Jonny Redman 28 May, 2015

    Pointless

    View