• feedingbrett

    ★★ Watched by feedingbrett 23 Sep, 2014

    Review In A Nutshell:

    The title song of this film was one of those tunes that I simply knew due to other films or television series paying homage or make fun of it. I recall myself singing the song in my head, particularly during moments when I pretend to be like an actor or singer of some kind. It is too bad the rest of the film couldn't match the power that titular song was able to deliver.

    The film…

    View

  • Travis Lytle

    ★★★½ Watched by Travis Lytle 17 Sep, 2014 2

    Though it is an undeniable treat to watch Donald O'Connor, Ethel Merman, Marilyn Monroe, and Mitzi Gaynor sing and dance to the standards of Irving Berlin, that is about all there is to "There's No Business Like Show Business." Walter Lang's splashy, CinemaScope musical is a Berlin revue with a tiny bit of plot and comedy thrown in to connect the full-bodied musical numbers. It is all very entertaining, but it lacks the narrative stuff of Hollywood's best movie musicals.…

    View

  • Jude Seymour

    ★★½ Watched by Jude Seymour 24 Jul, 2014

    A razor-thin plot is the loose framework for a series of musical numbers. By this point in her career, Monroe is a star - but she's essentially third wheel for much of this film.

    Ed Sullivan reportedly said Monroe's sultry performance of "Heat Wave" was "one of the most flagrant violations of good taste" he had ever witnessed. Viewed from a present perspective, it is undeniably provocative. But ol' Ed is likely rolling in his grave over Farrah Abraham.

    One…

    View

  • Alex Krajci

    ★★ Watched by Alex Krajci 01 Jun, 2014

    I Don't Like 1954's There's No Business Like Show Business, I Don't Like It Because It Turned 60 Years Old This Year In 2014.

    View

  • Monica Pallotta

    ★★ Watched by Monica Pallotta 06 Feb, 2014

    a good idea and something i thought i'd really like, especially since marilyn monroe and donald o'connor were starring but in reality it was boring and flat. for a long time it felt like the entire movie had no substance or meaning. i liked the ending though, despite it's soapiness.

    View

  • Pete Laurie

    ★★★★ Watched by Pete Laurie 17 Apr, 2014

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    View

  • irajoel

    ★★ Added by irajoel

    This garish ,brash fun musical was made in the second year of the cinemascope revolution and directed by 20th Century Fox’s in house director Walter Lang. Lang who had a very long career that began with silent films and went on directing movies right up to 1961 with the lowly and ludicrous Snow White and The Three Stooges. He was a decent enough director and is mostly known for directing Betty Grable and Alice Faye in all those interminable 1940’s…

    View

  • Yvette

    ★★½ Watched by Yvette 05 Jan, 2014

    Katie was my faves.

    View

  • Niklas Larsson

    ★★ Watched by Niklas Larsson 04 Nov, 2013

    Really silly...

    View

  • Silversaxophone

    ★★★ Watched by Silversaxophone 25 Sep, 2013

    Uninventive Cinemascope musical, what makes this worthwhile is the talent in front of the camera. A blustery Ethel Merman dominates, but Donald O’Connor is at his hyperactive best, and Marilyn doing ‘Having a Heatwave’ is irresistible.

    View

  • Ryan H.

    ★½ Rewatched by Ryan H. 19 Sep, 2013

    Tacky.

    View

  • citizenrobot

    ★★★ Watched by citizenrobot 17 Jun, 2013

    A LOT of musical numbers if this is what you're jonesing for. Nothing too left-field or secretly-openly-homoerotic but the 'Every Sailor Needs a Tattoo' number could qualify as such.

    View