• Ollie_8

    ★★½ Added by Ollie_8



  • Dave

    ★★★½ Watched by Dave 16 Nov, 2015

    Young Albert enlists to serve in World War I after his beloved horse is sold to the cavalry. Albert's hopeful journey takes him out of England and to the front lines as the war rages on. - IMDB

    War Horse is a film that I've always had on the back burner to watch, just never really found the time or been in the mood to watch. Finally got around to it and I'm glad that I did. Enjoyable.

    I'm sure…


  • Patrick Mullen

    ★★★★ Watched by Patrick Mullen 29 Nov, 2015

    War Horse is an absolutely gorgeous film. The cinematography by Janusz Kaminski is amazing, and Spielberg's visual flair is on full display.

    The performances are okay, probably not as good as in the average Spielberg film. The human characters are kind of weak here. It's a film more about the spectacle than the characters or even the story, if you ask me. And that's okay.


  • Emily

    ★★★★★ Rewatched by Emily 28 Nov, 2015

    One view of war does not explain how it was. However through the eyes of one miraculous horse, I say Speilberg nailed the concept on being one of the most emotional war movies produced in the 2000s. It came across as a film worth watching over and over again. Well that's my view anyways...


  • Hanibalus

    Added by Hanibalus

    who loves horses should love this beautiful story...


  • Rohan Morbey

    ★★★★ Rewatched by Rohan Morbey 24 Nov, 2015

    I was so wrong about this in 2011. Theno I gave it 2 stars, on a rewatch nearly four years later it's a solid 4 star. That a what happens as you get a bit older...


  • William Kretschmer

    ★★★ Watched by William Kretschmer 05 Oct, 2014

    A young Englishman enlists to serve in World War I after his beloved horse is sold to the cavalry.
    Animal tearjerker on an epic scale using a complete world war as background; great cinematography, though, and the usual Spielberg professionalism concerning direction.


  • Oliver Goddard

    ★★★½ Watched by Oliver Goddard 17 Nov, 2015

    People act as if sentimentality is a cheap and easy trick. It isn't. Spielberg is just so deft at it that you can't see the joins. Why the hate?


  • Fernanda Andalo

    ★★★ Watched by Fernanda Andalo 23 Jan, 2013

    So so movie with a soap opera feel to it. English-speaking germans were not convincing... It would be a lot better if people spoke the language that they should speak.


  • Paul Zoccolillo

    ★★★ Added by Paul Zoccolillo

    (Original review outdated, re-evaluation required at later date)


  • Malcolm

    ★★ Watched by Malcolm 30 Oct, 2015

    War Horse has some of the most obscene overly sentimental scenes of any film I've seen in the past couple months. Every change to a character doesn't happen. Spielberg simply has the character, that is supposedly changing, step up to the camera and stare intently past it. We are choked by these epiphanies that are extremely forced and a lazy way to move the story along.

    Also, those Germans really need to learn German and the British need to not bring swords in a battle against Gatling guns.

    Rating: D


  • TheAutomaton

    ½ Added by TheAutomaton

    God made this film to test us. I can't even begin to list everything wrong with this movie. It blows my mind when people talk about its greatness. The acting is terrible, the premise is cheesy, the whole thing is unrealistic. This film is so contrived and unlikely that by the end I was trying not to laugh in the theatre. I couldn't believe that people around me were crying! I absolutely love animal films and particularly horse movies (I…