• Matthias

    ★★ Watched by Matthias 25 Oct, 2014

    Mick Taylor: What was it your mate said again? Oh, yeah, that's not a knife - *this* is a knife!

    View

  • Andy Barksdale

    ★★½ Watched by Andy Barksdale 28 Oct, 2014

    Deserves props for a jumpy, elliptical (and surprisingly digital) aesthetic that doubly reinforces the omnipresence of the villain; when he says something like "Never know where I might pop up," it feels as though he really could randomly appear in any frame, even if he was nowhere to be seen in the previous one. Things that are harder to give props to: virtually everything that comes before that aesthetic is paid off.

    View

  • sarahc

    ★★½ Added by sarahc

    Why would he lie?
    Because he's a bloke.

    View

  • Bennett Hipps

    ★★★★ Watched by Bennett Hipps 25 Oct, 2014

    Kristy and Liz, two British tourists, are traveling through the Australian Desert with their new Australian friend Ben, when they stop at Wolf Creek Crater - an enormous crater formed when a meteorite hit millennia ago. After a hike to the top of the crater and a view of its natural beauty, the trio return to their car to find that it won't start.

    Stranded in the rain, it looks like they might be in a little bit of trouble…

    View

  • ShamusAndreas

    Watched by ShamusAndreas 15 Oct, 2014

    Bad in all the wrong ways.

    View

  • captainblicero

    ★★ Added by captainblicero

    I search vainly for meaning and purpose--any at all--in this exceedingly well made but exceedingly pointless horror film. Watching this after watching The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (to which this film obviously aspires) is like the farce after the tragedy, artistically speaking.

    It is not the rape and torture that bothers me--the rape and torture of young women by predatory men is something that happens daily in our world and it's ridiculous to expect films, especially horror films, not to acknowledge…

    View

  • Fawn

    ½ Rewatched by Fawn 15 Oct, 2014

    lame

    View

  • Joseph William Lewis

    ★★★½ Watched by Joseph William Lewis 22 Oct, 2014

    "Pulls no punches" is the compliment I most want to pay Wolf Creek. It has its problems--an excessive set-up in the vein of Hostel, an ending comprised of multiple anticlimaxes--but its dreadful atmosphere and intense violence really works, and I was hooked for the entire running time, especially so once John Jarratt's ferocious Mick Taylor shows up. What a truly disturbed, perverse, uncomfortably hilarious character. I'm excited to see what the sequel has in store.

    [Several critics, including Roger Ebert,…

    View

  • Gregory David Escobar

    ★★★½ Watched by Gregory David Escobar 21 Oct, 2014

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    View

  • Robert Jackson

    ★★½ Watched by Robert Jackson 18 Oct, 2014

    There's only two reasons this movie rises above its stale torture porn trappings:

    1. John Jarratt as the completely unhinged, psychotic killer with a funny accent

    and

    2. The stark, deserted landscape of the Australian wilderness.

    Basically, "In Australia no one can hear you scream."

    View

  • Damon Helliwell

    ★★ Watched by Damon Helliwell 10 Oct, 2014

    Day 10 of the month of horror.
    Wolf creek is a film that after watching it you feel like you needa bath because it's so dark and gory.

    The story is based on true events which is what boosts this film however it still fails to impress.
    The characters are so dumb it's frustrating and the acting is mediocre.
    The performance of the creepy psycho (who's name I've forgotten) is impressive and disturbing.
    All in all a pretty bad film

    View

  • Eltopo68

    ★★★½ Rewatched by Eltopo68 17 Oct, 2014

    Less torture porn than survival horror with an outback "TCM" vibe. There are some brutal moments, but most of the time is spent on the main characters who aren't complete a holes through the entire film. Jack Jarrat rightfully gets most of the attention in the reviews, but credit should also go to the gorgeous location shooting. Not for the squeamish, but not as gory as most of it's ilk.

    View