• captainblicero

    ★★ Added by captainblicero

    I search vainly for meaning and purpose--any at all--in this exceedingly well made but exceedingly pointless horror film. Watching this after watching The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (to which this film obviously aspires) is like the farce after the tragedy, artistically speaking.

    It is not the rape and torture that bothers me--the rape and torture of young women by predatory men is something that happens daily in our world and it's ridiculous to expect films, especially horror films, not to acknowledge…

    View

  • Fawn

    ½ Rewatched by Fawn 15 Oct, 2014

    lame

    View

  • Joseph William Lewis

    ★★★½ Watched by Joseph William Lewis 22 Oct, 2014

    "Pulls no punches" is the compliment I most want to pay Wolf Creek. It has its problems--an excessive set-up in the vein of Hostel, an ending comprised of multiple anticlimaxes--but its dreadful atmosphere and intense violence really works, and I was hooked for the entire running time, especially so once John Jarratt's ferocious Mick Taylor shows up. What a truly disturbed, perverse, uncomfortably hilarious character. I'm excited to see what the sequel has in store.

    [Several critics, including Roger Ebert,…

    View

  • Gregory David Escobar

    ★★★½ Watched by Gregory David Escobar 21 Oct, 2014

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    View

  • Robert Jackson

    ★★½ Watched by Robert Jackson 18 Oct, 2014

    There's only two reasons this movie rises above its stale torture porn trappings:

    1. John Jarratt as the completely unhinged, psychotic killer with a funny accent

    and

    2. The stark, deserted landscape of the Australian wilderness.

    Basically, "In Australia no one can hear you scream."

    View

  • Damon Helliwell

    ★★ Watched by Damon Helliwell 10 Oct, 2014

    Day 10 of the month of horror.
    Wolf creek is a film that after watching it you feel like you needa bath because it's so dark and gory.

    The story is based on true events which is what boosts this film however it still fails to impress.
    The characters are so dumb it's frustrating and the acting is mediocre.
    The performance of the creepy psycho (who's name I've forgotten) is impressive and disturbing.
    All in all a pretty bad film

    View

  • Eltopo68

    ★★★½ Rewatched by Eltopo68 17 Oct, 2014

    Less torture porn than survival horror with an outback "TCM" vibe. There are some brutal moments, but most of the time is spent on the main characters who aren't complete a holes through the entire film. Jack Jarrat rightfully gets most of the attention in the reviews, but credit should also go to the gorgeous location shooting. Not for the squeamish, but not as gory as most of it's ilk.

    View

  • Regan Saveall

    ★★★★ Watched by Regan Saveall 15 Oct, 2014

    a few surprises which is hard in this genre

    View

  • Roxanna

    ★½ Watched by Roxanna 12 Oct, 2014

    After seeing this movie, I need some convincing that horror as a genre doesn't only exist to feed the societal obsession with female pain and suffering. The film has some interesting camera work though?

    View

  • Garrett Peace

    ★★★½ Watched by Garrett Peace 12 Oct, 2014

    Hm.

    I loved the hints of existential dread that pop up throughout the entire film - e.g. all the (beautiful) nature shots, the crater, the alien story - but I wish there was more to hold onto, besides just lots of cringe-inducing violence. I prefer my horror to be more implied. I have a feeling I'll be thinking about this one for a while though, so perhaps my opinion will change for the better.

    View

  • Sarfaraz Abbasi

    ★★½ Added by Sarfaraz Abbasi

    Wolf Creek - Independent Australian horror film. It was written, co-produced and directed by Greg McLean. Starring John Jarratt.It is said to be based on the true-event about British backpacker who was killed by John Bradley Murdoch in the outback of Australia-this film generally depicts the events somewhat different than that but purely on the assailant. Film was premiered at Sundance Film Festival, and Cannes Film Festival.

    I remember watching this movie, almost half of which had been played already…

    View

  • Lucas

    ★★★½ Added by Lucas 2

    Sometimes I don't even know why I watch these kind of films. It's a pretty good film, but you just kind of feel like garbage after watching it. As a frame of reference for those who haven't seen Wolf Creek, think The Hills Have Eyes, but more depressing.

    Day 9 of Horrorfest 2014

    View