• Michael Schutz

    ★★★½ Added by Michael Schutz

    The Australians really have something going for them. Their horror films seem to be inspired by that huge Outback, full of dangers unknown, that creeps up to their backyards. At least in some collective subconscious. Australian horror movies have this gritty texture, and an acceptance that absolutely anything can happen. Wolf Creek is in this grand tradition.

    When I saw this in theatres, I wasn't impressed. It seemed like just another crazed-killer movie. And yeah, it is, but it also captures a loneliness and desperation that don't come through in the average American crazed-killer movie.

    View

  • alecxps

    ★★★½ Watched by alecxps 23 Apr, 2016

    Tiene cuarenta minutos iniciales en los que no pasa NADA y piensas que esto va a ser un coñazo. Pero a veces, por suerte, hay un punto de inflexión que cambia radicalmente una peli para mejor. Y es que en Wolf Creek cuando llega John Jarratt todo mejora exponencialmente, empezando por el hecho de que interpreta a uno de los mejores y más carismáticos villanos de filme de terror que he visto y siguiendo por el tenso y divertido torture porn que compone esta segunda mitad del filme.

    View

  • Sc8lo

    ★★ Watched by Sc8lo 17 Sep, 2005

    I wasn't impressed with this. I love Aussie Horror and it has John Jarratt but it just drags. Torture porn is exhausted too. Maybe a revisit in a few years will change my opinion.

    View

  • Yug S

    ★★½ Added by Yug S

    This concept has some spark but the plot is not convincing enough. The 1st 30-35 mins. are outright weak. The violence is okay-"critics fuss about anything". Passable.

    View

  • Lee Porteous

    ★★★★ Watched by Lee Porteous 13 Apr, 2016

    This is a "horror" of the more old school variety. I did not expect the gore nor the brutality of this film.

    It is a short movie but it takes a while to get to the actual peak. At 1hr 35m longet nothing really happens until the 50min mark then from there on out it is unadulterated gore.

    The "bad guy" is particularly disturbing with one of the best laughs in Cinema History. This films sets up a lot of red herrings then swings you into the action. I enjoyed it. Alot

    View

  • Xplodera

    ★★★ Watched by Xplodera 24 Mar, 2016

    “I’m going to do something they used to do in Vietnam”

    It’s easy to see why Wolf Creek was met with ravishing response from horror fans upon release, but I’m starting to think that it has more to do with the low expectations we have on horror films these days. The characters of Greg McLean’s outback horror is perfectly suitable, the acting is acceptable (with John Jarrat’s psycho as the standout) and by horror-standards these characters is somewhere between the…

    View

  • Edgar Cochran

    ★★★ Watched by Edgar Cochran 23 Mar, 2016

    "The following is based on actual events."

    Unfortunately, the film opens with a lie, as the film reportedly is influenced by, and not based on, the Ivan Milat and Bradley John Murdoch cases, the latter currently serving life inprisonment for the 2001 murder of British tourist Peter Falconio in Australia. The fact that the film attempts to publicize itself rather inaccurately substracts credibility from the seriosuness of the intentions of the filmmakers, and from the film itself.

    But then, the…

    View

  • Sigfred Storstrand

    ★★½ Watched by Sigfred Storstrand 19 Mar, 2016

    I now want to visit Australia even less. Is there anything in that whole country that can't possibly kill you?

    Also, don't push for a biopic tease at the end. Anyone who has seen the movie clearly understands that the only nonfictional thing about the movie is the pitch.

    View

  • Cobb

    Watched by Cobb 11 Mar, 2016

    This review may contain spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    At the time that bad guy appears, I've already spent forty minutes checking the weather at my phone. And unfortunately that character is also nothing special.
    My feeling is that goes totally wrong in how to play its strengths.

    View

  • Raphael Bleu

    ★★★½ Watched by Raphael Bleu 13 Mar, 2016

    Influenced by (rather than based on) true events, Wolf Creek is a rock-solid entry into the horror genre that guarantees I will never set foot into the Australian outback for as long as I live. Despite its plodding introduction and disappointing reliance on characters to make idiotic desicions in order to advance the plot, it is boldly brutal, nail-bitingly tense and, at times, surprisingly unpredictable. Top it all off with a sublime but thoroughly detestable antagonist in the demented Mick Taylor (John Jarratt), and you're left with a creation that is unquestionably not for the faint of heart, but a haunting experience under any circumstances.

    View

  • Cobb

    Watched by Cobb 11 Mar, 2016

    This review may contain spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    At the time that bad guy appears, I've already spent forty minutes checking the weather at my phone. And unfortunately that character is also nothing special.
    My feeling is that goes totally wrong in how to play its strengths.

    View

  • Martin Jensen

    ★★★★ Watched by Martin Jensen 04 Mar, 2016

    While its plot takes inspiration from The Texas Chain Saw Massacre and its league of imitators, Wolf Creek finds real horror in the Australian outback. The most terrifying moments in this film aren't the gore effects (although they are very effective and sickening) but the landscape photography. From a helicopter, the eponymous Wolf Creek crater looks like an ugly wart on smooth empty land that stretches for miles. One character says the force of the meteorite would have been like…

    View