RSS feed for Egg
  • Mean Girls

    Mean Girls 2004

    ★★★★ Watched 23 Aug, 2016 1

    Surprisingly competent in every way. This is what modern comedies should strive to be at the bare minimum.

  • Star Trek Beyond

    Star Trek Beyond 2016

    ★★★½ Watched 16 Aug, 2016

    This review may contain spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    Enjoyable as a distraction with some popcorn and a few beers, but with Abrams taking off, so too did much of the series's dramatic heft.

    This doesn't feel like a big, important summer blockbuster in the same way the previous two films did - even though the previous two films were springtime releases. But never mind that.

    In comparison to Star Trek 2009 and Into Darkness, this is fluff. It's enjoyable, entertaining, easily-swallowed fluff, but nonetheless fluff. I knew something…

  • Sky Line

    Sky Line 2015

    Watched 05 Aug, 2016

    It's a documentary about a space elevator - that's three things I love all put together into one, and it literally put me to sleep.


    Beer: Southern Tier 2X Tangier Double IPA - 4/5 (tangerine adds a hint of flavor, not overwhelming; not overly hoppy, either; tasty stuff)

  • Days of Heaven

    Days of Heaven 1978

    ★★★★★ Rewatched 26 Jul, 2016 2

    The ending of this movie gets stranger with each re-watch.

  • Atonement

    Atonement 2007

    ★★★½ Watched 23 Jul, 2016

    Not quite what I was expecting, but still highly enjoyable and well made. Excellent cinematography.

  • Black Swan

    Black Swan 2010

    ★★★★ Rewatched 20 Jul, 2016 3

    Not quite as strong as I remembered.

  • A Faster Horse

    A Faster Horse 2015

    Watched 15 Jul, 2016

    Started out good, but then turned into a fucking reality TV show.

  • A League of Their Own

    A League of Their Own 1992

    ★★★★ Watched 30 Jun, 2016

    Tom Hanks needs to take more roles like this.

  • The Good Dinosaur

    The Good Dinosaur 2015

    ★★★★ Watched 30 Jun, 2016 4

    This review may contain spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    This is such a bizarre movie.

    The story is about a dinosaur who gets lost and needs to find his way home. One would assume such an epic journey would involve meeting or at least encountering many other dinosaurs and/or forms of life, but Arlo runs into only about 6 others. So much care was put into making the world look amazing, but it never feels believable because...there's nobody in it.

    It's also not a very funny movie, which is…

  • Piper

    Piper 2016

    Watched 28 Jun, 2016

    Music by Adrian Belew.

  • Finding Dory

    Finding Dory 2016

    ★★★★ Watched 28 Jun, 2016 1

    This review may contain spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    So, what happened to Hank in the ocean? Was that not explained, or did I forget? Because that's too important a part of his character and his arc to leave out.

  • The Neon Demon

    The Neon Demon 2016

    ★★★½ Watched 28 Jun, 2016

    Who lets this man make movies? I want to have a beer with that person.