RSS feed for Grant
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel

    The Grand Budapest Hotel 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 04 Jul, 2014

    Wes Anderson makes films like a fine chocolatier makes chocolates. Sady, I watched a badly encoded rip of this beautiful film while I was succumbing to a head cold. It was pretty, but I didn't really follow it that well. I need to see it again, and I think it may gain another star on my second viewing.

    I feel like there is a layer of complexity or allegory that should have been obvious but it sailed over my drowsy head.

  • Birdman

    Birdman 2014

    ★★★★½ Watched 20 Jan, 2015

    So Emmanuel Lubezki is pretty awesome. After watching Gravity and Children of Men, I thought he was great, but this film raises the level of difficulty significantly. I will now watch any new film that he shoots (unless Terrence Malick is involved, naturally, because that guy's just arse).

    Birdman is a story about mental collapse, passing on the torch to the next generation, and the dangers of Imposter Syndrome, amongst many other things.

    It's as deeply loaded with subtext and…

  • Guardians of the Galaxy

    Guardians of the Galaxy 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 06 Jun, 2015

    Just another superhero movie. Some funny dialogue but the comparisons to Star Wars are overflattering. Han was a much more loveable rogue.

  • The Wolf of Wall Street

    The Wolf of Wall Street 2013

    ★★★½ Watched 11 Mar, 2014 1

    The soundtrack's pretty good. The acting's really good (Jonah Hill is particularly great). Apart from that, this is a pretty dull watch. It ends more often than Return of the King, and actually feels longer.

    The debauchery is pretty full on, and that's a fun ride to start with, but after about an hour I felt saturated in the excesses of capitalism, which completely de-fanged the next two hours of relentlessly escalating depravity.

    Well made, and deserving of the accolades it's received, but really pretty boring, monotonous and pointless, except as a satirical cautionary allegory of organised religion.

  • Gravity

    Gravity 2013

    ★★★★½ Watched 03 Oct, 2013

    Relentlessly stressful, but very beautiful, Gravity is a simple and very human story. It's got near-future sci-fi trappings, but it's really just a story about people in a crisis. You could see it as an allegory for anything from overcoming depression to bootstrapping your own tech start-up. It's such a universal story, you could apply it successfully to any stressful challenge.

    The cinematographer is the same guy that made The Tree of Life moderately watchable, despite the vapid content. With…

  • The Dark Knight Rises

    The Dark Knight Rises 2012

    ★★ Watched 19 Jul, 2012 3

    This film has some of the laziest and most awkard exposition scenes I've seen outside of 80s porn. After the first half hour, I realised I could ease my pain by substituting the word "Macguffin" wherever appropriate. Try it, it's fun.

    There's too much wrong with The Dark Knight Rises to even begin, so I'm going to spin this review to list the positives:

    1) Catwoman was not just an out-and-out villain. There's complexity in her characterisation, if not too…

  • The Lego Movie

    The Lego Movie 2014

    ★★★ Watched 07 Sep, 2014


  • Edge of Tomorrow

    Edge of Tomorrow 2014

    ★★★★ Watched 09 May, 2015

    Groundhog Day vs. Starship Troopers. Very good fun.

  • Pacific Rim

    Pacific Rim 2013

    ★★★ Watched 14 Aug, 2013

    Big, dumb and fun. Not much fun, though. So thoroughly unsubtle, it's like being punched in the face repeatedly by a giant robot with bad expositional dialogue. Who wouldn't enjoy that?

  • The Cabin in the Woods

    The Cabin in the Woods 2012

    ★★★★½ Rewatched 11 Nov, 2012

    The thinking man's horror movie? This is a clever take on an old formula, and is the first film to approach the cleverness of the inimitable Scream.

    I saw CITW a few months back, and immediately decided I'd be watching it again soon. It's just as good the second time around, but I picked up a bunch more of the "meta" dialogue.

    Definitely watch this one with friends. They'll see things you don't, and vice-versa. I kind of want to…

  • No Country for Old Men

    No Country for Old Men 2007

    ★★★★★ Watched 24 Feb, 2014 2

    A staggering work of genius from the Coen brothers. Every image, every frame and every word is crafted to perfection. On the surface, this is a gloriously tense thriller with nods to films like The Terminator, but if you dig a little, there's a subliminal allegory in every moment.

    You can enjoy it without thinking about it, and the beautiful land- and sound-scapes are hauntingly beautiful. Javier Bardem is breathtaking as the cold-as-ice, bat-shit-insane killer. Tommy Lee Jones' small-town lawman…

  • The Matrix

    The Matrix 1999

    ★★★★★ Rewatched 02 Jul, 2015

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    This movie is nearly flawless. I just love it. Relentlessly great right through the end credits, with Rage Against The Machine pumping out the immortal WAKE UUUUP!!!

    There's so much texture, grit and campy action. If only they had left out the scene where Trinity kisses Neo back to life through the telephone. That was kinda cringe-inducing. I think they misplayed it a little.