RSS feed for Japeman
  • Maps to the Stars 2014

    ★★★★★ Watched 03 Mar, 2015

    Anyone who knows me knows I love sick, twisted, morbidly funny satires, especially ones about Hollywood so, yeah David Cronenberg's new film, his best in YEARS, hits all the right notes for me and honestly feels more like a Todd Solondz film to me than a Cronenberg film.

    Julianne Moore is phenomenal as a washed up actress, essentially Lindsay Lohan in 20 years and the film features so many in jokes (including a sly reference to "Cosmopolis", also an awesome…

  • These Final Hours 2013

    ★★★★★ Watched 01 Mar, 2015

    I know what your thinking: we don't need another apocalypse movie. Thankfully, this is a great one.

    Essentially a slightly more upbeat version of "The Road", this film is about a man and a little girl he just met trying to survive the apocalypse as they search for her father.

    A whole lot of nihilism goes on and it's glorious. Also, the End credits are silent. No music during the End credits, a hard thing for movies to pull off but this one does beautifully.

    I enjoyed this immensely.

  • The Salvation 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 28 Feb, 2015

    A beautiful looking movie (even the poster is gorgeous) but this western reeks of being way to similar to too many other westerns.

    I mean, I get it. It's a tribute to old-school westerns but despite it looking beautiful and featuring a great cast, there's not much NEW here.

  • My Life Directed by Nicolas Winding Refn 2014

    ★★★★½ Watched 28 Feb, 2015

    A fascinating but WAY too short documentary about the making of Nicolas Winding Refn's divisive film "Only God Forgives" and it's effect on Refn and his family (his wife directed the documentary).

    It's a great little doc about the creative process of a world famous filmmaker but it has a huge problem.

    I paid $6.99 on Amazon for this movie which is only an hour long. It should have been a supplemental feature on a DVD or even a free youtube or vimeo video.

    Still it's a great but SHORT doc.

  • The Intruders 2015

    Watched 28 Feb, 2015

    Just another predictable, generic and bland mainstream studio horror movie. So typical and cliched and boring, pretty much a retread of "The House at the End of the Street" mixed with a little bit of "The Uninvited".

    Not even worth it for die-hard fans of Miranda Cosgrove, Donal Logue, Jenessa Grant, Austin Butler or Tom Sizemore.

    There's no real horror or originality here, just teenybopper bullshit.

  • Serena 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 27 Feb, 2015

    Oscar winner Susanne Bier's much ballyhooed Jennifer Lawrence/Bradley Cooper depression era starring vehicle "Serena" is actually ok. It's not great, it's very predictable, but it's not a total disaster.

    I guess that's saying something lol.

  • VANish 2015

    ★★★★ Watched 26 Feb, 2015

    Though awfully predictable and stupidly, punnily titled, this is actually quite an interesting, entertaining crime film that co-stars Danny Trejo and Tony Todd.

    Owes a debt to "Pulp Fiction", especially with the opening scene.

  • Styria 2013

    ★★½ Watched 25 Feb, 2015 1

    "Angels of Darkness" (as it is known in the United States) is a gothic coming-of-age story with a bit of vampirism thrown in as a metaphor. It's actually very similar to Mary Harron's "The Moth Diaries" from a few years back.

    Starring the luminous Eleanor Tomlinson as teenage Lara who befriends orphan Carmilla and flirts with vampirism as an act of rebellion.

    Relentlessly mediocre as one Kurt Halfyard likes to say (love ya Kurt! Kisses)

  • Hits 2014

    ★★ Watched 24 Feb, 2015

    Sketch comedy master David "Mr. Show" Cross makes his directorial debut with this scattershot digital age satire that feels way too disjointed and sketchy.

    Moderately funny but badly made it stars Meredith Hagner, my second favorite daughter from the FX show "Lights Out" (my favorite was awesome Ryann Shane, duh!) And Matt Walsh from the UCB.

    Too bad it's a mess of a movie.

  • Treehouse 2014

    ★★★★½ Watched 20 Feb, 2015

    A survivalist thriller with mild horror elements, a no-name cast and overwhelmingly negative reviews? Let's just say I went in with no expectations.

    And my mind was fricken' blown! This was a great, tense thriller starring awesome 22-year old soon-to-be super famous (remember this name!) Dana Melanie, who looks like a cross between Hailee Steinfeld and Kara Hayward.

    This was great. Mind officially blown.

  • White Rabbit 2013

    ★★★½ Watched 20 Feb, 2015

    Though the ending kinda sucks, this is a pretty solid school shooting drama that has my pal Tom Normandy written all over it. He needs to watch this.

    Rising star Britt Robertson has a supporting role. I remember her from the tv show "Swingtown" lmfao.

    We need to get Tom Normandy to watch this, Joe DiCanio.

    :)

  • All the Wilderness 2014

    ★★½ Watched 19 Feb, 2015

    Though it reeks at times (ok, the whole Damn time) of "Perks of Being a Wallflower"-ness, this film is made slightly better than that overrated crapfest by the presence of Isabelle Fuhrman who is awesomesauce as usual.

    Other than her though, this is generic coming-of-age pap.