RSS feed for Jeff
  • Good Morning, Vietnam

    Good Morning, Vietnam 1987

    ★★★ Rewatched 30 Nov, 2016 6

    I randomly happened to watch two movies with Bruno Kirby in two days. Feels like a noteworthy moment for 2016.

  • The Crumbles

    The Crumbles 2013

    ★★½ Watched 22 Nov, 2016

    Sometimes small, slight independent films can get by on their spirit and plucky charm.  And sometimes they come really close and almost win me over but ultimately don't. Like The Crumbles. 


    But hey, I'm the first person to log this movie. So I guess it was all worth it, right?  Right?!?

  • A Trip to the Moon

    A Trip to the Moon 1902

    ★★★★★ Rewatched 29 Oct, 2016 18

    I got my kid some rocket shaped crackers and he asked to watch this because he's a righteous dude.

  • Weekend

    Weekend 1967

    Watched 22 Oct, 2016 5

    Giving Weekend a star rating seems pointless. All of the praise heaped on the film is completely justified. So are all of the criticisms. But none of that really matters because Jean-Luc Godard clearly does not give a fuck what the audience thinks. So with that in mind, there is little doubt that this is exactly the film that he set out to make.

    I know exactly fuck all about the French political landscape of the 60s, but I do…

  • The Umbrellas of Cherbourg

    The Umbrellas of Cherbourg 1964

    ★★★★ Watched 18 Oct, 2016

    I'm pretty sure I hated this movie for the first half.  But here we are...

  • Safety Last!

    Safety Last! 1923

    ★★★★ Watched 08 Oct, 2016

    No false advertising in the title. That was really, really unsafe.

  • Shock Corridor

    Shock Corridor 1963

    ★★★½ Watched 05 Oct, 2016 5

    Did that guy say "pooberty"?

  • Seven Samurai

    Seven Samurai 1954

    ★★★★½ Watched 28 Sep, 2016

    Seriously man crushing on Toshirô Mifune.

  • The Wrong Trousers

    The Wrong Trousers 1993

    ★★★★½ Watched 30 Aug, 2016

    After making me suffer through almost 30 minutes of Shrek 2, my kid said the most beautiful words in the English language: "Can we watch something else?"

    Yes, sweetheart. But instead of shit, let's watch something awesome.

  • Frankenhooker

    Frankenhooker 1990

    ★★★★ Watched 18 Aug, 2016 1

    I've smoked a lot of crack with tons of hookers, but I've never been to a party where everyone brought their own crack pipe.

  • My Dinner with André

    My Dinner with André 1981

    Watched 31 Jul, 2016

    Oh my god.  He did it!  He said inconceivable!!  

    Rating: one billion stars for Wallace Shawn saying inconceivable.

  • Deathgasm

    Deathgasm 2015

    ★★½ Watched 19 Jul, 2016

    Between this and Deadpool, I may never laugh at a dick joke ever again.