RSS feed for NickScholer
  • Stoker 2013

    ★★★½ Rewatched 15 Apr, 2014

    The opening ten minutes are terrible, but this movie becomes fairly involving once the main character's Uncle shows up.

    Stoker is full of mystery and odd interactions between relatives, normal to the human condition. The main character is in transition from teen to adult, which informs her curiosity about nearly every principle brought into this movie.

    May not stick the landing with a lot of people.


    Haiku Review:

    Find birthday presents
    Hidden in your inner code
    Best to do it soon

  • Oculus 2013

    ★½ Watched 12 Apr, 2014 8

    Watched a movie last night that I complimented by saying that it was always trying to confuse the audience, let them catch up, then confuse again.

    This movie never lets anyone in on rules or what exists and what doesn't. It just confuses. Forty minutes in, with poorly written dialogue and sequences that jump back and forth in time, Oculus had absolutely no grip on me. I didn't care.

    The acting by twenty-something redhead and Taylor Lautner's little brother was…

  • Enemy 2014

    ★★★★ Watched 11 Apr, 2014 6

    Loved the style of this one. All of the turns and odd positioning to make characters face left/right were well choreographed and had me way into it.

    Enemy confuses the viewer on purpose, but makes them think that they understand around seven or eight times...only to rip the understanding away. This should be taught places. (It is)

    I, myself, am pretty sure I understand the ending. The unfortunate truth is that my personal dissection leads to the finale being an…

  • Rewind This! 2013

    ★★★½ Watched 11 Apr, 2014

    I hate rating documentaries. Most just give information, with little intention of making a story out of it.

    This documentary doesn't really have a story, but does a great job of of talking around many different facets of the home video boom.

    This covers technology, independent filmmaking, the rental stores, selling through eye-grabbing cover art, the adult industry, obsessed current day collectors, etc.

    They even speak with Japanese filmmakers about how Japan/Asia were impacted around the same time.

    Very much…

  • The Book Thief 2013

    ★★½ Watched 10 Apr, 2014

    One of those movies where I could tell it was based on a book, without even knowing that it is. It has problems flowing naturally, like a film should.

    Add hammy acting (children, ugh) and confused ideas about the message behind itself...and the film just becomes sleepy.


    Haiku Review:

    When an option claims
    Your freedom of expression
    You steal from yourself

  • Homefront 2013

    ★★ Watched 09 Apr, 2014

    Nothing interesting happens in this movie that has many action scenes.

    Too many characters, so it doesn't entirely know what it's doing.

    I have already stopped patronizing Madea. Why do I keep watching Jason Statham's movies?


    Haiku Review:

    It will be okay
    Don't worry, token black guy
    Jason will save us

  • Out of the Furnace 2013

    ★★★½ Watched 09 Apr, 2014 2

    Compelling portrait of the working man. The first half is incredible. Second half goes down an interesting path that is consistent with tone/character, but not uncommon to the action/thriller genre.

    A must-see if you enjoyed The Place Beyond The Pines.

    Christian Bale is one of the best actors out there today.


    Haiku Review:

    Nose to the grindstone
    Will grind everything away
    Nobody wants that

  • American Hustle 2013

    ★★★★★ Rewatched 09 Apr, 2014 4

    Yeah. A sixth time. Get over it.

    Since I skipped it on the last review...


    Two Haiku Reviews:

    When the heat is on
    Arm your team with more than just
    Tits and a hairpiece

    Be on guard for those
    Who put their cheap meddle in
    Your science oven

  • Promised Land 2012

    ★★★½ Rewatched 08 Apr, 2014

    Smooth film about a man selling others on what is important in life, only to find himself questioning every facet of his own.

    This is solid in almost every category a movie has, you've just seen it before. Watch it again, like I did.


    Haiku Review:

    Hard not to get hurt
    Oil on your pathway restricts
    Freedom of movement

  • American Hustle 2013

    ★★★★★ Rewatched 08 Apr, 2014 3

    I've read complaints that say this movie doesn't have a story. Five stories must be too much to process for some people.

    I love this movie at around 80% of the love it has for itself.

    Fifth time watching it.

    No haiku.

  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier 2014

    ★★★ Watched 04 Apr, 2014

    The normal Marvel Studios experience, masquerading as a political thriller. An improvement on the other Captain America they put out.


    Haiku Review:

    Morality comes
    Whether through your past actions
    Or those far ahead

  • Winter's Tale 2014

    ★½ Watched 03 Apr, 2014

    Bad poetry slam.


    (Bad) Haiku Review:

    Unbelievable
    That Colin Farrell movie
    Flies like a white horse