RSS feed for Roni
  • First Snow 2006

    ★★½ Watched 27 Jul, 2014

    First Snow is slow and tedious thriller without many thrills. Guy Pearce is not in his best and his charactter is a very contradictory asshole. The film keeps you guessing but the choices are disappointments one after another. Watchable overall, but very forgettable film all in all.

  • Divergent 2014

    ★★★ Watched 26 Jul, 2014

    Reminds me a lot from Hunger Games, so much it's sometimes irritating. Solid scifi-drama-teenager-romance-mumbo-jumbo, but I quite enjoyed watching with my wife. She liked it more than me. Not great, not that bad either. One of those films you can't really say much about, but they are great fun nevertheless.

  • Heaven Is for Real 2014

    ★★★ Watched 26 Jul, 2014

    Interesting drama. After all it's based on true story. Interesting tale about belief, about religion and christianity. Quite slow paced and ordinary, but thought provoking story. Kinda liked it.

  • Odd Thomas 2013

    ★★★★½ Watched 26 Jul, 2014

    I wasn't expecting much and I knew nothing about Odd Thomas before hand (sometimes best way to watch movies in my opinion). The film really surprised me. A quite simple idea, but captivating production that kept me hooked till the credits. Got so into it I cried like a baby in the ending and not afraid to admit it. Maybe it's just me but I really enjoyed this one.

  • Virus 1999

    ★★★ Watched 24 Jul, 2014

    Reminds me a lot from Alien. Great suspenseful scifithriller, though quite predictable plot and not much great twists. Great acting and good solid stuff but it's all been done before and after too many times. Not bad, not too great either.

  • Need for Speed 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 23 Jul, 2014

    As much as I love Aaron Paul I can't get Jesse out of my mind. Anyway, his acting is quite wooden in this one - the passion is missing. As for the driving film Need for Speed succeedes, because it has the necessary plot twists and nice car driving action. Great film to escape and watch without thinking too much.

  • Dead Snow 2 2014

    ★★★★ Watched 23 Jul, 2014

    Død Snø 2 is a thousand times better than the first one. The film is extremely funny from the beginning to the end. Loved the pitch black humor in horror, the crazy jokes and especially awesome Martin Starr. Just insane, fun to watch, great black humor horror film.

  • I'll Follow You Down 2013

    ★★★ Watched 20 Jul, 2014

    How stupid name is that? Where has Haley Joel Osment been? I guess I haven't seen him since the Sixth Sense or A.I. He was quite good back then, can't say the same today. Well, he is not the worst, but something is holding his acting back. No emotion whatsoever, in any point. Too bad.

    As for the film, I enjoyed the story quite a bit. Overally good film. However it felt like they wanted to concentrate more on the…

  • Sabotage 2014

    ★★★ Watched 20 Jul, 2014

    Arnold still can't act really well, but he's legendary. I liked this film. Not much of a plot, but there are surprising twists anyway. It's also quite depressive I have to say. Solid action with some ridiculous jokes and some lack of chemistry. Overally just those action films you can watch without greater regrets.

  • Blue Ruin 2013

    ★★★½ Watched 18 Jul, 2014

    Quite mysterious thriller, because they don't tell the back story much. That's quite bold and I like that. Most of the stuff is left to the viewer and some bits get revealed while watching. The main character is sympathetic. Haven't seen Macon Blair much in the films but I like him. A very enjoyable drama-thriller with surprising pace. A true hidden gem.

  • Nymphomaniac: Vol. II 2013

    ★★½ Watched 18 Jul, 2014

    Well, after being watched these separately and different times I regret it. Should have watched as one like Love Exposure which is also over 4 hours long. The film is not bad, not great either. Can't really form a true opinion about it. As I said, the dialogue is great, it also describes some parts of the human nature really well. It may be sexist, provocative, but it is intelligent. That might be one of the few things I liked in the film. Things I didn't like can be read from my other rather subjective review here.

  • Crystal Fairy & the Magical Cactus 2013

    ★★½ Watched 14 Jul, 2014

    I don't get it. It feels like I sat 98 minutes still without doing nothing. Not much happens in this film. You just watch it and wait something interesting to happen, but it never escalates to that point. I don't see any reason for this film, why was it made, what was the point?

    I like Michael Cera. I liked most of the guys. I even liked the most annoying character of the film in the end, but finishing the…