RSS feed for Marco
  • Django Unchained 2012

    ★★★★ Rewatched 30 Mar, 2013

    2nd time watching Quentin's latest. I still like it a lot but have to subtract half a star rating this time round. Christoph Waltz is superb yet again and fully deserving of his 2nd Oscar win. Jamie Foxx stands his ground even though he operates a bit in the shadow when partnered up with Christoph Waltz' character Dr. King Schultz. Samuel L. Jackson is fantastic as the super creepy house nigger :) Leo DiCaprio puts in a great performance as Calvin Candie and Don Johnson as Big Daddy. There's a lot to like in Django Unchained but Inglourious Basterds it is not!

  • Django Unchained 2012

    ★★★★½ Watched 30 Jan, 2013

    Even though they can't really be compared, I found Django to be just a little shy of Mr. Tarantino's perfect Inglourious Basterds. Django entertained me throughout on every level. The story telling, the fantastic chemistry between Christoph Waltz and Jamie Foxx' characters, the witty humor and the violence all gelled together nicely delivering a very entertaining piece of cinema. I can't wait for Django to arrive on blu-ray so I can revisit it at home. Mr. Tarantino's Django Unchained comes highly recommended!

  • Gravity 2013

    ★★★★★ Rewatched 09 Feb, 2014

    Not as impressive as in IMAX but Alfonso Cuarón's Gravity is still breathtakingly beautiful to watch, even on the small screen at home.
    Without a doubt, the visuals are nothing I have ever seen before..just outstandingly gorgeous.
    Gravity is 1 super intense 80 plus minute thrill ride and is just a must own!

  • Gravity 2013

    ★★★★★ Watched 24 Oct, 2013 1

    Saw this in IMAX 3D just now.
    Goosebumps all over, especially during the opening few minutes.
    Cinematography blew me away, never seen anything like it.
    Alfonso Cuarón again proved that modern films still can be awesome.
    Day 1 purchase on Blu-ray!
    Gravity is the perfect film to use as an excuse to treat yourself getting a monster size flat screen because 50 inches simply won't cut it ;)

  • Her 2013

    ★★★★★ Rewatched 10 May, 2014

    My second watch and the joy watching Spike Jonze's Her again hasn't diminished one bit.
    Everything in this great film just clicks for me and hits all the right notes.
    I can see this kind of future actually becoming a reality and I don't think the concept of people "dating" an OS is too far fetched.

  • Her 2013

    ★★★★★ Watched 23 Feb, 2014

    Wow,just wow!
    This hit all the right notes for me.
    I just don't have anything bad to say about Spike Jonze's Her.
    Can't wait to add this to my Blu-ray collection.

  • The Wolf of Wall Street 2013

    ★★★★ Watched 19 Mar, 2014 2

    One of Mr. Scorsese's finest films, The Wolf of Wall Street is a 3 hour tour de force brimmed with energy and fantastic acting.
    Like so many other reviewers have already stated before me, it is a feat and an acknowledgement for a 3 hour film to only feel not even half as long, it is that good.
    I don't think it is worth a 5 star rating but I did thoroughly enjoy the hell out of it and will definitely add this to my Blu-ray collection.

  • The Avengers 2012

    ★★★★½ Rewatched 28 Sep, 2013

    I'd just be repeating what I've said before.
    As good as before, no better and no worse and thoroughly enjoyable.
    If you don't own this film by now, what's wrong with you?

  • The Avengers 2012

    ★★★★½ Rewatched 24 Aug, 2012

    What's there left to say except to rehash..this is a bloody entertaining film from Joss Whedon! Can't wait to own this on blu <3

  • The Avengers 2012

    ★★★★½ Watched 15 May, 2012

    Joss Whedon puts his mark on big-budget action perfectly. The Avengers works so damn well because of Mr. Whedon's brilliance and love for the characters. The balance and chemistry is truly there which is maybe the most difficult thing to achieve with all these big ego characters. I'm so glad John Favreau didn't direct this film since his heart clearly was not in the Marvel universe any longer after/during Iron Man 2. I'm eager to watch The Avengers in 2D…

  • Drive 2011

    ★★★★★ Rewatched 04 Mar, 2012

    Nicolas Winding Refn's amazing Drive. Sheer brilliance and a film which I'll be revisiting plenty over time! Ryan Gosling is phenomenal.

  • Drive 2011

    ★★★★★ Watched 16 Oct, 2011

    From the director that gave us the fantasic Pusher trilogy Nicolas Winding Refn, Drive is a different, non main-stream film that I absolutely love. Ryan Gosling plays the sociopath absolutely perfectly. I highly recommend watching this film!