RSS feed for Marco
  • Her

    Her 2013

    ★★★★★ Rewatched 10 May, 2014

    My second watch and the joy watching Spike Jonze's Her again hasn't diminished one bit.
    Everything in this great film just clicks for me and hits all the right notes.
    I can see this kind of future actually becoming a reality and I don't think the concept of people "dating" an OS is too far fetched.

  • Her

    Her 2013

    ★★★★★ Watched 23 Feb, 2014

    Wow,just wow!
    This hit all the right notes for me.
    I just don't have anything bad to say about Spike Jonze's Her.
    Can't wait to add this to my Blu-ray collection.

  • Django Unchained

    Django Unchained 2012

    ★★★★ Rewatched 30 Mar, 2013

    2nd time watching Quentin's latest. I still like it a lot but have to subtract half a star rating this time round. Christoph Waltz is superb yet again and fully deserving of his 2nd Oscar win. Jamie Foxx stands his ground even though he operates a bit in the shadow when partnered up with Christoph Waltz' character Dr. King Schultz. Samuel L. Jackson is fantastic as the super creepy house nigger :) Leo DiCaprio puts in a great performance as Calvin Candie and Don Johnson as Big Daddy. There's a lot to like in Django Unchained but Inglourious Basterds it is not!

  • Django Unchained

    Django Unchained 2012

    ★★★★½ Watched 30 Jan, 2013

    Even though they can't really be compared, I found Django to be just a little shy of Mr. Tarantino's perfect Inglourious Basterds. Django entertained me throughout on every level. The story telling, the fantastic chemistry between Christoph Waltz and Jamie Foxx' characters, the witty humor and the violence all gelled together nicely delivering a very entertaining piece of cinema. I can't wait for Django to arrive on blu-ray so I can revisit it at home. Mr. Tarantino's Django Unchained comes highly recommended!

  • Gone Girl

    Gone Girl 2014

    ★★★★½ Watched 27 Dec, 2014

    Let me try to gather my thoughts. David Fincher's Gone Girl is 1 fucked up psychological thriller! But it's also a film that kept my interest peeked throughout. The whole who done it is handled so damn well, you're constantly wondering what kind of twist will come next. Rosamund Pike puts in a fantastic performance as her character Amy is one seriously scary fucked up piece of work. I'll leave this review because I need to gather my thoughts a bit more. One thing is certain, David Fincher has done it again.

  • Guardians of the Galaxy

    Guardians of the Galaxy 2014

    ★★★★½ Watched 22 Nov, 2014 2

    wow,kudos to Marvel and James Gunn for having the balls directing this wonderfully bold fun epic sci-fi. The best GOTG has to offer is great chemistry between the crew, lots of humour,drop-dead gorgeous sets and one hell of a soundtrack. I haven't had this much fun watching a film in quite a while. I'll definitely return to this universe to revisit GOTG because it is quite a gem of a movie and one hell of a fun ride!

  • Guardians of the Galaxy

    Guardians of the Galaxy 2014

    ★★★★★ Rewatched 03 Jan, 2015

    review follows later. easily most entertaining film of 2014 though.

  • Birdman

    Birdman 2014

    ★★★★½ Watched 02 May, 2015

    Wow! Wow! Wow!
    Alejandro González Iñárritu did it again.
    I heard good stuff about Birdman but was not expecting it to be this good. This film did a number on me. Frakkin' great cast and performances. Combine that with the appearance as if the film was almost shot in 1 continues take and you are in for a major frakkin' treat.

  • The Wolf of Wall Street

    The Wolf of Wall Street 2013

    ★★★★ Watched 19 Mar, 2014 2

    One of Mr. Scorsese's finest films, The Wolf of Wall Street is a 3 hour tour de force brimmed with energy and fantastic acting.
    Like so many other reviewers have already stated before me, it is a feat and an acknowledgement for a 3 hour film to only feel not even half as long, it is that good.
    I don't think it is worth a 5 star rating but I did thoroughly enjoy the hell out of it and will definitely add this to my Blu-ray collection.

  • Interstellar

    Interstellar 2014

    ★★★★ Rewatched 21 Mar, 2015

    2nd time around, 1st time on the small screen at home.
    Despite losing some of the film's epicness seeing the beautiful and bold IMAX shots on the small screen, the film itself was as entertaining to me as the 1st time I watched it.
    Also again I hated Matt Damon's character Dr. Mann the same as I did the 1st time.
    I also really appreciate Mr. Nolan's choice of not using any sound in the exterior space shots.
    Like I…

  • Interstellar

    Interstellar 2014

    ★★★★ Watched 17 Dec, 2014

    Christopher Nolan has done it again. As many before me I'm having difficulties finding the words to express what I've just seen.
    I feel the film definitely is far from perfect, flawed even, but the way the Nolan brothers tell this story and paint this, frakkin absolutely stunning, picture makes up for pretty much everything in my book.
    There are a few scenes which truly stand out and I felt like a little kid in a candy store, looking around…

  • Whiplash

    Whiplash 2014

    ★★★★ Rewatched 28 Feb, 2015

    2nd viewing and am much more appreciative of this quite extraordinary feat. Not a jazz person but man does this film swing. J.K. Simmons getting the Oscar for his role of Terence Fletcher is very well deserved.