RSS feed for Marco
  • Mad Max: Fury Road

    Mad Max: Fury Road 2015

    ★★★★★ Rewatched 15 Aug, 2015

    2nd viewing and what a thrill ride George Miller has managed to create!
    With amazing camera work from John Seale delivering insanely gorgeous looking shots Mad Max: Fury Road is just phenomenal.
    By far the best of all the Mad Max films, partially due to a much bigger budget, this is just such a unique film.
    The story telling is just so different yet it didn't bother me 1 bit that this film hardly has any dialogue.
    Actions speak louder…

  • Whiplash

    Whiplash 2014

    ★★★★ Rewatched 28 Feb, 2015

    2nd viewing and am much more appreciative of this quite extraordinary feat. Not a jazz person but man does this film swing. J.K. Simmons getting the Oscar for his role of Terence Fletcher is very well deserved.

  • Birdman

    Birdman 2014

    ★★★★½ Watched 02 May, 2015

    Wow! Wow! Wow!
    Alejandro González Iñárritu did it again.
    I heard good stuff about Birdman but was not expecting it to be this good. This film did a number on me. Frakkin' great cast and performances. Combine that with the appearance as if the film was almost shot in 1 continues take and you are in for a major frakkin' treat.

  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens

    Star Wars: The Force Awakens 2015

    ★★★★½ Rewatched 21 Dec, 2015

    My 2nd viewing and this time in my local theatre.
    Can say this presentation was a lot worse than the IMAX one.
    Picture was fuzzy and the sound not as immersive.
    Also my theatre really seem to focus on 3D presentations so even for a week 1 film, TFA in 2D was already demoted to one of their much smaller rooms :(
    So despite the buggy 3D presentation at least I'm still happy my wife and I made the choice…

  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens

    Star Wars: The Force Awakens 2015

    ★★★★½ Watched 20 Dec, 2015

    This review may contain spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    Despite my very high rating I've got so many mixed feelings about TFA.
    On my 1st viewing I watched it with my wife in IMAX 3D in Pathe Arena in Amsterdam at a 6:45 am screening.
    The presentation was bugged from the start, being delayed due to technical difficulties. About half way in the movie was interrupted for like 10 minutes and was rewound a bit for people returning late from their toilet breaks (WTF!!!).
    I'm going to see TFA…

  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens

    Star Wars: The Force Awakens 2015

    ★★★★½ Rewatched 10 Jan, 2016

    3rd viewing, this time in Antwerp, Belgium in the excellent Kinepolis theater going for an Dolby Atmos presentation.
    I keep enjoying the heck out of TFA and I actually think there's more to enjoy with each next viewing.
    Thank you J.J. for giving us back Star Wars!

  • Interstellar

    Interstellar 2014

    ★★★★ Rewatched 21 Mar, 2015

    2nd time around, 1st time on the small screen at home.
    Despite losing some of the film's epicness seeing the beautiful and bold IMAX shots on the small screen, the film itself was as entertaining to me as the 1st time I watched it.
    Also again I hated Matt Damon's character Dr. Mann the same as I did the 1st time.
    I also really appreciate Mr. Nolan's choice of not using any sound in the exterior space shots.
    Like I…

  • Interstellar

    Interstellar 2014

    ★★★★ Watched 17 Dec, 2014

    Christopher Nolan has done it again. As many before me I'm having difficulties finding the words to express what I've just seen.
    I feel the film definitely is far from perfect, flawed even, but the way the Nolan brothers tell this story and paint this, frakkin absolutely stunning, picture makes up for pretty much everything in my book.
    There are a few scenes which truly stand out and I felt like a little kid in a candy store, looking around…

  • Django Unchained

    Django Unchained 2012

    ★★★★ Rewatched 30 Mar, 2013

    2nd time watching Quentin's latest. I still like it a lot but have to subtract half a star rating this time round. Christoph Waltz is superb yet again and fully deserving of his 2nd Oscar win. Jamie Foxx stands his ground even though he operates a bit in the shadow when partnered up with Christoph Waltz' character Dr. King Schultz. Samuel L. Jackson is fantastic as the super creepy house nigger :) Leo DiCaprio puts in a great performance as Calvin Candie and Don Johnson as Big Daddy. There's a lot to like in Django Unchained but Inglourious Basterds it is not!

  • Django Unchained

    Django Unchained 2012

    ★★★★½ Watched 30 Jan, 2013

    Even though they can't really be compared, I found Django to be just a little shy of Mr. Tarantino's perfect Inglourious Basterds. Django entertained me throughout on every level. The story telling, the fantastic chemistry between Christoph Waltz and Jamie Foxx' characters, the witty humor and the violence all gelled together nicely delivering a very entertaining piece of cinema. I can't wait for Django to arrive on blu-ray so I can revisit it at home. Mr. Tarantino's Django Unchained comes highly recommended!

  • Her

    Her 2013

    ★★★★★ Rewatched 10 May, 2014

    My second watch and the joy watching Spike Jonze's Her again hasn't diminished one bit.
    Everything in this great film just clicks for me and hits all the right notes.
    I can see this kind of future actually becoming a reality and I don't think the concept of people "dating" an OS is too far fetched.

  • Her

    Her 2013

    ★★★★★ Watched 23 Feb, 2014

    Wow,just wow!
    This hit all the right notes for me.
    I just don't have anything bad to say about Spike Jonze's Her.
    Can't wait to add this to my Blu-ray collection.