RSS feed for Steve
  • Commingled Containers

    Commingled Containers 1997

    Watched 23 Jul, 2016

    Stan Brakhage's musing on the emptiness of the human soul when you open your cupboard and discover you haven't got any custard for your sticky toffee pudding.

    Prove me wrong.

  • A-Lad-in His Lamp

    A-Lad-in His Lamp 1948

    ★★½ Watched 23 Jul, 2016

    Bugs Bunny pretty much always worked best when he was working with another recognised Looney Tunes star.

    As such, with a fairly crap genie character to work with here, this never gets going. It does have a couple of great visual gags ("Persian to Persian calls only") but is a couple of notches below the expected Looney Tunes standard. I don't remember watching this one as a kid and I can see why that is.

  • Doodlebug

    Doodlebug 1997

    ★★½ Watched 23 Jul, 2016 3

    A pretty unremarkable film that sacrifices narrative for style.

    Chris Nolan starts as he means to go on, in other words.

  • The BFG

    The BFG 2016

    ★★½ Watched 23 Jul, 2016 5

    I really am struggling for much to say about this.

    It really is so nondescript, nothing more than a simple crowd-pleaser for the kids (my daughters really enjoyed it), with only really a couple of notable elements to it.

    The dinner scene is excellent and stands out perhaps mainly because the film really seemed to be lacking in humour a lot of the time. Penelope Wilton makes for the second best queen outside of Helen Mirren in The Queen. Rebecca…

  • Chinatown

    Chinatown 1974

    ★★★★★ Rewatched 22 Jul, 2016

  • The 'Burbs

    The 'Burbs 1989

    ★★★★½ Rewatched 21 Jul, 2016 4

    I'm probably well enough tonight to try and tackle something I don't know all the words from, but if you haven't got The 'Burbs on your 'Films To Watch When I'm Ill' list then that's frankly a mistake on your part.

    (I reviewed this twice already, I do love it so.)

  • Targets

    Targets 1968

    ★★★★ Rewatched 21 Jul, 2016 1

    Targets is the film that JCVD aspired to be but came nowhere near being.

    In this one, Boris Karloff doesn't need some stupid bit where he gets on a hydraulic platform and moans about his career. Instead, director Peter Bogdanovich weaves the film between fact and fiction and instead focuses on Karloff's own introspection about his fading career and his wish to bow out before he becomes too much of an "anachronism".

    It must have been an interesting project for…

  • Mutiny on the Bounty

    Mutiny on the Bounty 1935

    ★★★★½ Watched 21 Jul, 2016 4

    Films I Watched On TCM / Film4 While I Was 'Working'

    Charles Laughton yelling, "CHEESE DOESN'T FLY!" was the best reason I can think of to get up any day.

    When I was young, probably around 8 or 9 years old, I was absolutely fascinated with world geography. My dad bought me an atlas one Christmas and pretty much every day I would leaf through it, reading statistics and looking at locations, for about a year afterwards.

    I was particularly…

  • Canyon Ambush

    Canyon Ambush 1952

    ★½ Watched 21 Jul, 2016

    “You Ain’t Seen Me, Right?” – The Summer Watchlist Trawl

    Films I Watched On TCM / Film4 While I Was 'Working'

    Hopefully the poster and date will happen along lately, making the first paragraph of this review obsolete. Fuck's sake.

    This is another one nobody else has seen and nobody else needs to see. Canyon Ambush is a whopping 53 minutes long and it feels too long even at that. It's got Johnny Mack Brown in it playing Johnny Mack…

  • Mission: Impossible - Rogue Nation

    Mission: Impossible - Rogue Nation 2015

    ★★★★★ Rewatched 20 Jul, 2016 5

    I wasn't feeling well last night so I watched Rogue Nation.

  • Stakeout

    Stakeout 1987

    ★★★★ Rewatched 20 Jul, 2016 2

    One of my favourite go-to films for when I feel like shit.

    The only thing wrong with Stakeout (aside from the fact that it ends) is that no jokes are made about Dreyfuss and Estevez's matching moustaches.

    I reviewed this twice already.

    Madeleine Stowe <3

    Whatever happened to Aidan Quinn?

  • I Wake Up Screaming

    I Wake Up Screaming 1941

    ★★★★ Watched 20 Jul, 2016

    I woke up screaming once. I woke up and my eyes for some reason interpreted an overhead light fitting as a flying saucer.

    But that doesn't happen in I Wake Up Screaming. Because nobody wakes up screaming.

    It was dead good, this. For some reason it seems overly interested in describing people in certain professions as 'slingers', something I might bear in mind when I do some porn blogging tomorrow. The best thing about this film though, aside from Laird…