RSS feed for Will
  • The Man Who Saves The World

    The Man Who Saves The World 1982

    Watched 20 Jan, 2016

    I'm not even going to try to figure out a star rating.

    At times it is horrendously incomprehensible and at others it is the kind of ridiculously fun, transcendent B-Movie that I wade through all the boring ones to find. I was on-board by the time the dudes tied stones to their ankles to increase their jumping abilities and bashed their fists into huge boulders repeatedly to toughen their strikes, but it was the "melting down the ancient golden sword…

  • Ewoks: The Battle for Endor

    Ewoks: The Battle for Endor 1985

    ★½ Rewatched 07 Jan, 2016 2

    Feels more like a Willow prequel (or Army of Darkness) than any kind of Star Wars film. I love The Ewok Adventure, so this one's departure from everything that I love about that one is a real disappointment. I can see why I hated this as a kid and only watched it once. Making Wicket speak English is nearly unforgivable.

    The FX are mostly good, though. There's a fair amount of B-Movie charm, too, provided you can somehow forget that it's supposed to be Star Wars related and just enjoy it for what it is. I was only mildly successful at this.

  • The Star Wars Holiday Special

    The Star Wars Holiday Special 1978

    ★★★ Watched 14 Dec, 2015

    Better than the prequels.

  • Mojin: The Lost Legend

    Mojin: The Lost Legend 2015

    ★★★½ Watched 05 Dec, 2015

    Mojin: The Lost Legend delivers on the promise of a fun, grave-robbing adventure film, and it does so with charm, laughs, and a great moral.

    Full review now up at Silver Emulsion.
    www.silveremulsion.com/2015/12/11/mojin-the-lost-legend-2015/

  • Furious

    Furious 1984

    ★★★★★ Watched 02 Dec, 2015

    Insane, unique and wonderful. A true low-budget, B-Movie masterpiece.

  • Rabid Grannies

    Rabid Grannies 1988

    ★★★½ Rewatched 12 Oct, 2015

    Such an awful movie, but I love it! The "rabid granny" makeup is great.

  • Blood Sucking Freaks

    Blood Sucking Freaks 1976

    ★★ Watched 04 Oct, 2015

    Pure sleaze, but even though it's non-stop weirdness it's also fairly boring. But damned if I didn't grow to like it by the end.

    The thing about this movie is that there is thought behind all the trashiness, with themes exploring the perennial question, "What is art?" and the constant struggle between critics and artists. For all its exploitation, it's oddly also a movie that you could have hours of intellectual discussions about. And it has some incredibly funny moments, too.

  • BMX Bandits

    BMX Bandits 1983

    ★★★★★ Watched 30 Sep, 2015

    Man, this movie took me completely by surprise. What a blast! There's a chase in the middle of the movie that's like 20-something minutes of non-stop stunts and action! So much fun.

  • The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Miss Osbourne

    The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Miss Osbourne 1981

    ★½ Watched 03 Sep, 2015

    Not my kind of movie at all. The transformation scene is absolutely spellbinding, though.

  • The Protector

    The Protector 1985

    ★★★ Rewatched 26 Aug, 2015

    Hong Kong cut this time. The short added fight in the gym is fun. The additional storyline with Sally Yeh is OK, but it makes the film feel more disjointed than it should.

    What really sets this apart is the reshot/re-edited end fight with Bill "Superfoot" Wallace. In the US version it's such a slow, disappointing fight that doesn't do justice to Jackie at all. He's just getting beat up for most of it. The HK version is much faster and the added bits make it so much more meaty and exciting.

    Overall, I wish there was a composite version of the two edits.

  • Spy Kids 3-D: Game Over

    Spy Kids 3-D: Game Over 2003

    ★★★½ Watched 14 Aug, 2015

    There's just something about these Spy Kids movies that makes me feel like a kid again. I love how imaginative they are, and how much the series embraces the "anything goes" style of kids playing around. This one feels a bit different because it's just the one kid for most the movie, but it's got Stallone so I have no complaints about anything.

  • Transcendence

    Transcendence 2014

    Watched 08 Aug, 2015

    Wow. Such a shit movie. Even Computer Johnny Depp could pace a movie better than this.