RSS feed for Will
  • The Delinquent

    The Delinquent 1973

    ★★★ Watched 01 Aug, 2015

    It's kind of meandering and boring for the first two thirds, but the final act is fantastic Chang Cheh action-packed cinema. It gets incredibly brutal, as well.

  • Wu Dang

    Wu Dang 2012

    ★★★★ Watched 31 Jul, 2015

    I feel like people don't like this one, but I was thoroughly entertained. There's a lot that would be easy to be very critical of, but because it was fun I didn't care. Tons of fights with tons of really fun, tight wirework. It starts out fairly down to earth, but man does it build to a crazy wuxia crescendo. If this was made in the '90s, and didn't have the bad CG that every modern HK movie has, this could've been a classic. Whatever, I loved it anyway.

  • Twinkle, Twinkle, Lucky Stars

    Twinkle, Twinkle, Lucky Stars 1985

    ★★★½ Rewatched 25 Jul, 2015

    It's hard to rate this because the movie isn't very good, but the action is exceptional and easily the best choreography work of the Lucky Stars films up to this point (and I haven't seen the later ones). When it's not action it's like a rehash of My Lucky Stars without a story, so it almost feels like a bunch of outtakes thrown together. Whatever, it's fun.

  • Transformations

    Transformations 1988

    ★★½ Watched 15 Jul, 2015

    I often say, "The future is now," because I'm so amazed with technology and how different things have become since my youth. But now I feel cheated because in the version of the future shown in Transformations, everyone drinks out of glasses with neato twisty straws built into them.

    Anyway, it was pretty bad, but I had a lot of fun watching it. Now I know for sure that even space monks wear Birkenstocks. Should've been titled, ALIEN DEMON STD, though.

    One of the "best" crying to Mozart, character-building scenes you'll ever see, too.

  • Dragon Blade

    Dragon Blade 2015

    ★★★ Watched 05 Jul, 2015

    The quick version: It's very entertaining, but not really that good.

    Longer version on Silver Emulsion:
    www.silveremulsion.com/2015/07/15/dragon-blade-2015/

  • Revolt

    Revolt 1986

    ★★★★ Watched 03 Jul, 2015

    A HORRIBLE movie, but in the best, most fun way. A must for B-Movie fans.

  • Knives of the Avenger

    Knives of the Avenger 1966

    ★★★★ Watched 02 Jul, 2015

    What a BAD ASS movie. It's JUST like an early Shaw Brothers wuxia or a spaghetti western, but set in a Conan the Barbarian kinda world. Pure fun.

  • Blood Gnome

    Blood Gnome 2004

    ★★★★ Watched 29 Jun, 2015

    Before he retooled and reinvigorated Full Moon's Killjoy franchise, John Lechago debuted with this fantastic piece of low-budget horror. I loved it. Great FX work.

    I imagine a scenario where Charles Band, purveyor of all things in the "little monster" horror/comedy genre, sees this movie and hires Lechago to work for him. Please someone tell me this is how Lechago started working with him.

  • Beyond Dream's Door

    Beyond Dream's Door 1989

    ★★★ Watched 17 Jun, 2015

    Really impressive and ambitious for an '80s low-budget student film. Very nice 16mm cinematography. Lots of fun monster FX work too. I can't say that I know what the hell was going on, though... and I mean that in a good, mindfuck kinda way.

  • John Wick

    John Wick 2014

    ★★½ Watched 08 Jun, 2015

    I just didn't connect with this at all. I blame the hype that sold it as some kind of John Woo-style gun movie. I didn't see that in it AT ALL. The way the violence was handled felt really gross, too. Like it was brutal in a really flippant way and backed by "cool" music, so the violence felt glorified in a way that made it impossible to have fun with. It's hard to explain. Whatever. I didn't like it. 'nuff said.

  • Mad Max: Fury Road

    Mad Max: Fury Road 2015

    ★★★★★ Watched 23 May, 2015

    HHHHHHOOOOOOOOLLLLLLLLYYYYYY
    FFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUCCCCCCKKKKKK!

    So goddamned good. Abso-fuckin'-lutely incredible. George Miller, at 70 years old, showing everyone how it's done. My hat is off to the design department, too. Best Everything of 2015.

  • Mad Max

    Mad Max 1979

    ★★★★ Rewatched 18 May, 2015

    I still think this could actually be "a few years from now..." if technology fails and society goes along with it. There will be the people holding onto the old idea of what life used to be like, and there will be the ones embracing the chaos that true freedom brings.

    Jeez... I should probably start watching more upbeat movies.