RSS feed for Will
  • The Incredible Torture Show

    The Incredible Torture Show 1976

    ★★ Watched 04 Oct, 2015

    Pure sleaze, but even though it's non-stop weirdness it's also fairly boring. But damned if I didn't grow to like it by the end.

    The thing about this movie is that there is thought behind all the trashiness, with themes exploring the perennial question, "What is art?" and the constant struggle between critics and artists. For all its exploitation, it's oddly also a movie that you could have hours of intellectual discussions about. And it has some incredibly funny moments, too.

  • BMX Bandits

    BMX Bandits 1983

    ★★★★★ Watched 30 Sep, 2015

    Man, this movie took me completely by surprise. What a blast! There's a chase in the middle of the movie that's like 20-something minutes of non-stop stunts and action! So much fun.

  • The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Miss Osbourne

    The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Miss Osbourne 1981

    ★½ Watched 03 Sep, 2015

    Not my kind of movie at all. The transformation scene is absolutely spellbinding, though.

  • The Protector

    The Protector 1985

    ★★★ Rewatched 26 Aug, 2015

    Hong Kong cut this time. The short added fight in the gym is fun. The additional storyline with Sally Yeh is OK, but it makes the film feel more disjointed than it should.

    What really sets this apart is the reshot/re-edited end fight with Bill "Superfoot" Wallace. In the US version it's such a slow, disappointing fight that doesn't do justice to Jackie at all. He's just getting beat up for most of it. The HK version is much faster and the added bits make it so much more meaty and exciting.

    Overall, I wish there was a composite version of the two edits.

  • Spy Kids 3-D: Game Over

    Spy Kids 3-D: Game Over 2003

    ★★★½ Watched 14 Aug, 2015

    There's just something about these Spy Kids movies that makes me feel like a kid again. I love how imaginative they are, and how much the series embraces the "anything goes" style of kids playing around. This one feels a bit different because it's just the one kid for most the movie, but it's got Stallone so I have no complaints about anything.

  • Transcendence

    Transcendence 2014

    Watched 08 Aug, 2015

    Wow. Such a shit movie. Even Computer Johnny Depp could pace a movie better than this.

  • Homecoming

    Homecoming 2005

    ★★½ Watched 03 Aug, 2015

    I love the central idea, but it was kinda boring.

  • The Delinquent

    The Delinquent 1973

    ★★★ Watched 01 Aug, 2015

    It's kind of meandering and boring for the first two thirds, but the final act is fantastic Chang Cheh action-packed cinema. It gets incredibly brutal, as well.

  • Wu Dang

    Wu Dang 2012

    ★★★★ Watched 31 Jul, 2015

    I feel like people don't like this one, but I was thoroughly entertained. There's a lot that would be easy to be very critical of, but because it was fun I didn't care. Tons of fights with tons of really fun, tight wirework. It starts out fairly down to earth, but man does it build to a crazy wuxia crescendo. If this was made in the '90s, and didn't have the bad CG that every modern HK movie has, this could've been a classic. Whatever, I loved it anyway.

  • Twinkle, Twinkle, Lucky Stars

    Twinkle, Twinkle, Lucky Stars 1985

    ★★★½ Rewatched 25 Jul, 2015

    It's hard to rate this because the movie isn't very good, but the action is exceptional and easily the best choreography work of the Lucky Stars films up to this point (and I haven't seen the later ones). When it's not action it's like a rehash of My Lucky Stars without a story, so it almost feels like a bunch of outtakes thrown together. Whatever, it's fun.

  • Transformations

    Transformations 1988

    ★★½ Watched 15 Jul, 2015

    I often say, "The future is now," because I'm so amazed with technology and how different things have become since my youth. But now I feel cheated because in the version of the future shown in Transformations, everyone drinks out of glasses with neato twisty straws built into them.

    Anyway, it was pretty bad, but I had a lot of fun watching it. Now I know for sure that even space monks wear Birkenstocks. Should've been titled, ALIEN DEMON STD, though.

    One of the "best" crying to Mozart, character-building scenes you'll ever see, too.

  • Dragon Blade

    Dragon Blade 2015

    ★★★ Watched 05 Jul, 2015

    The quick version: It's very entertaining, but not really that good.

    Longer version on Silver Emulsion: