RSS feed for Aaron
  • All About Eve

    All About Eve 1950

    ★★★★½ Watched 03 Aug, 2015

    Bill is the man. And that last shot is fantastic.

  • Big Bad Wolves

    Big Bad Wolves 2013

    ★★★½ Watched 02 Aug, 2015

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    Feels like the kind of movie where you either get on board with the tone or you don't - except I was on board for some of it, but not all of it. I did like the last twist with his daughter. Pretty chilling and a real punch after what had been happening.

  • A Hijacking

    A Hijacking 2012

    ★★★★½ Watched 02 Aug, 2015

    It is kind of similar to Captain Phillips but it really does take a different approach. I think I liked it a little bit more than CP, though Hanks is phenomenal in that film. No one reaches the same highs in this film, but it doesn't feel like that is a goal either. It's more business oriented in a way, with a lot of focus put on the company CEO and his negotiations with the hijackers. It's got several hard-hitting…

  • Child 44

    Child 44 2015

    ★★★½ Watched 01 Aug, 2015 6

    I enjoyed this surprisingly much. It seems to have been torn apart from most reviewers, and that seems a little unfair. The accent business is silly of course (even if Hardy does sounds quite convincing, not that I'm an expert) and the film goes on for 15 minutes more than it maybe should. But it doesn't really drag and it's solid and twisty the whole ride. I really enjoyed the setting and they made good use of the time period and the politics of the country. Solid crime thriller, I'd say.

  • Four Brothers

    Four Brothers 2005

    ★★½ Watched 31 Jul, 2015

    It's fine, sort of. It's got some decent moments, but mostly it has a lot of trouble finding out what tone it wants to settle on. I didn't sympathise with any of these guys, and it feels like I was supposed to.

  • Session 9

    Session 9 2001

    ★½ Watched 30 Jul, 2015

    What is the deal with this film? It seems like everyone here on Letterboxd says it's an underrated flick, but I really didn't get it. Character development? Characters don't get developed just because we spend time with them. These characters are defined by the thing they are occupied with in the moments we see them - nothing else. There is also no real reason for the tapes to be part of this. They have nothing to do with what is going on and the reveal at the end... don't get me started. Out of nowhere except it was obvious. I didn't even know that was possible.

  • Serpico

    Serpico 1973

    ★★★★★ Rewatched 29 Jul, 2015

    Probably the best combination of hair and beard ever put on screen. And Pacino's wardrobe in this? That's 5 stars alone right there.

  • Barton Fink

    Barton Fink 1991

    ★★★★★ Rewatched 29 Jul, 2015

    A slam dunk that doesn't really feel like a slam dunk throughout its running time because it's all so quietly masterful. Then it's over and you're sitting there and you know it's a fuckin slam dunk.

  • State of Grace

    State of Grace 1990

    ★★★★½ Rewatched 29 Jul, 2015

    It's time for a new stab at the top 100 so I'm embarking on a little road of rewatches in the next couple days to see who makes and who bakes it... and then eats it.

    Point is, State of Grace had the element of surprise on that first watch. I didn't know much about it, hardly anything actually, and it hit me hard. This time, it's still got good acting and does pretty well emotionally, but the bits with the Italian mob is pretty standard and not really interesting. So, it just don't cut it.

  • Ran

    Ran 1985

    ★★★ Watched 27 Jul, 2015 6

    I'm finding it hard to feel anything really about this film. It looks very good and all, but it's incredibly overplayed and becomes a little silly. The character of the fool was extremely annoying and I see no reason whatsoever for his inclusion. Everything he said was stupid and like a slap to the head. Just not on board with this, what can I say.

  • The Prestige

    The Prestige 2006

    ★★★★★ Rewatched 26 Jul, 2015

    I did not expect this to hold up as well as it did. Still love it. It's top 2 or 3 Nolan, maybe even my favourite of his. The performances are top notch, the story is thrilling, mysterious and twisty and the pacing is right on target. It's also amazing how well it works on rewatches, when you know how it all turns out. It hits the spot emotionally and there is enough cool ideas and tricks to keep your brain working.

  • Evil Dead

    Evil Dead 2013

    ★★★½ Watched 25 Jul, 2015 4

    Kinda dug this thing. The use of gore was pretty effective and I really appreciated the lean running time. The opening scene was great too - thought I knew what was going on but then we go for a spin. Good stuff.