RSS feed for Aaron
  • Captain Fantastic

    Captain Fantastic 2016

    ★★★½ Watched 24 Oct, 2016

    Viggo Mortensen certainly gives one of the best performances of the year, but that's basically a given with him. It sets up a unique world, but it doesn't take all that long before that world starts to feel fake. Kind of a shame, especially with the ending that doesn't work, but it's a decent run.

  • Gremlins 2: The New Batch

    Gremlins 2: The New Batch 1990

    ★★★★ Watched 23 Oct, 2016

    So well made. The jokes keep coming and they're so well put together and you can feel how much fun they must have had on set so most of them land, and the ones that don't land, well, you almost don't notice them because you're busy laughing at the previous ones.

  • Sausage Party

    Sausage Party 2016

    ★★★½ Watched 21 Oct, 2016

    Might be rating it a little high, but I feel like they really went for it with this one and while a lot of stuff in it does not land well, there are also very many things that are completely out there and do work. The early war-like scene with pasta guts lying about etc. was great, and there are many more like that. Does go off the rails at the end, but then it kind of builds a new set of rails and that works for a bit until it derails once again. It's something else, for sure.

  • Zootopia

    Zootopia 2016

    ★★★★ Watched 21 Oct, 2016

    Pretty great, actually. It's fun and inventive with names and locations, and it's on pace from start to finish. Good times.

  • Audition

    Audition 1999

    ★★★ Watched 21 Oct, 2016

    This review may contain spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    Quite possibly the most horrible film I have ever watched. I don't know if it is, but right now, having just finished it, it's too much. I don't really know how to feel about it. It is incredibly well made and I feel like if it didn't go as far as it did at the end, it would be fantastic. Because there is so much working underneath everything, and it seems like it is going to come together in a horrifying fantastic way, but then it becomes too much. For me at least, that's more than I can take.

  • The Visit

    The Visit 2015

    ★★★ Watched 19 Oct, 2016 3

    This review may contain spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    I liked the reveal, but it kind of feels disappointing that the reveal is the cool thing about the film. This should be a great thriller throughout, but it's just weird, and off-tone, and doesn't ever really get intense at all. Also, the rapping thing was a definite miss.

  • Don't Breathe

    Don't Breathe 2016

    ★★★½ Watched 18 Oct, 2016

    Short and sweet. It definitely gets intense at times, but some of the things that happen do feel a little too... "let's show how crazy we can be", but without real reason.

  • The Thing

    The Thing 1982

    ★★★★★ Rewatched 15 Oct, 2016 3

    There are just so many things about this film that rank as the best of the best. Location is out of this world, and it's used perfectly. We go everywhere we need to go, get a perfect understanding of the place, inside, outside, up in the air, down under ground. Those night time scenes with fire are stunning, but the day time shots are just as good. One of the greatest films, forget about genres, just ranks up there with the best of all time.

  • A Conspiracy of Faith

    A Conspiracy of Faith 2016

    ★½ Watched 15 Oct, 2016

    Completely overblown, overacted, overserious, over everything.

  • The Room

    The Room 2003

    ½ Watched 12 Oct, 2016 2

    Don't get it. It's just bad. Boring, above all.

  • The Barkley Marathons: The Race That Eats Its Young

    The Barkley Marathons: The Race That Eats Its Young 2014

    ★★★★ Watched 09 Oct, 2016 4

    Fascinating stuff. It might not be shot incredible quality, but it's easily one of the most entertaining films I've seen in a good while.

  • Paradise Lost 3: Purgatory

    Paradise Lost 3: Purgatory 2011

    ★★★★½ Watched 08 Oct, 2016

    So many questions that are raised throughout this trilogy that really comes together once you've watched them all. I think the scariest part for me is seeing how easily facts can be manipulated just by leaving out some of them. There are many different suspects throughout these films, and they all have something weird going on about them, but that's not enough. One suspect seems likely, but then you realise you're not considering A, while another suspect seems likely until you realise you're not considering B.