RSS feed for Aaron
  • 22 Jump Street 2014

    ★★★★ Watched 22 Jun, 2014

    Not as good as the first one but I'll put that down to surprise and of course retreading of previous material. Material that is good though, so it is still hugely enjoyable and just a fun fun ride. Jonah Hill is becoming one of my favorite guys to watch on screen.

  • Edge of Tomorrow 2014

    ★★★★½ Watched 27 Jun, 2014 7

    Tom Cruise pretty much always delivers. Say what you will, that man gives 100 % and I respect him for that. I could say a lot of stuff that this film does right, but I will leave it at Tom Cruise.

  • X-Men: Days of Future Past 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 29 May, 2014 2

    Good action film for the most part. I didn't really care about the future stuff, just wanted the past with Fassbender being a badass. Man, he can turn in a performance better than the rest of the cast in no time, no matter the film. Too many characters in here though and the sentinels didn't really do much for me either. Jackman delivers as always.

  • Godzilla 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 16 May, 2014 8

    I'm a little disappointed since it had been getting such good reviews from many people. I think my biggest problem was every time there was a monster fight. It wasn't interesting and they felt drawn out or cut off too early depending on the situation. The effects were good and the film itself looked amazing, so that's always good. The score was pretty terrible though. Maybe not terrible, but it was too much. I liked some of it but after…

  • Noah 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 12 Apr, 2014 5

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier 2014

    ★★½ Watched 27 Mar, 2014 8

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

  • The Grand Budapest Hotel 2014

    ★★★★½ Watched 27 Mar, 2014 31

    This is probably a 5 star on a rewatch. So many delightful things going on. Ralph is phenomenal, so great to see one of my favorites doing fantastic work. This has got to be the most amazing cast ever as well. Mindblowing.

    It looks fantastic, it's hilarious, it's got Jeff Goldblum - what more do you need? Goldblums coat-check scene is the greatest thing ever.

  • Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 04 Feb, 2014 6

    A solid and very entertaining spy flick. It goes overboard with action towards the end but that's how it goes. Good villain, nice couple scenes with the Cost, decent relationship between Pine and Knightley (inspired by FilmApe Knightley is now growing on me and I quite like her), and Pine really is very solid. All in all - solid stuff.

  • The Wolf of Wall Street 2013

    ★★★★★ Watched 08 Jan, 2014 14

    I've been up and down with this since I came out of the theatre. At first I was a little disappointed but I don't think that's quite it. It was kind of different than I had expected. It was very similar to Goodfellas, only I feel Goodfellas pulls you in a little more emotionally. At first I felt that this was a problem, that I didn't care enough about anyone in Wolf, but it encompasses so much. And DiCaprio. So…

  • Lone Survivor 2013

    ★★★ Watched 16 Mar, 2014 2

    As an action movie it's good but nothing more than that. Really no depth here. Ben Foster should be in everything though.

  • Her 2013

    ★★★★★ Watched 16 Jan, 2014 23

    Is this the same guy who was in the Master? Get the fuck out of here.

  • The Secret Life of Walter Mitty 2013

    ★★★½ Rewatched 27 Dec, 2013

    The good things were better and the not so good things stuck out a little more in a bad way.