RSS feed for Aaron
  • Men & Chicken

    Men & Chicken 2015

    ★★★★½ Watched 05 Feb, 2015 2

    Anders Thomas Jensen returns to directing after ten years absence. And what a return. It's darker than anything he has done before, I would say, but it's just as funny and Danish. I can't see this working well in many other countries.

    The whole cast is on fire, Mads Mikkelsen, of course. Spitting quotable lines right, left and center.

    The film looks great, the music is pretty great and unusual and it's just a riot. This is what Danish cinema is all about.

    Best of 2015 got off to a fantastic start.

  • A Most Violent Year

    A Most Violent Year 2014

    ★★★★★ Watched 29 Dec, 2014 2

    This was a fantastic surprise. It wasn't what I thought it would be at all. It sort of turned my expectations on their head and delivered something that I had not seen before. Talking about that would spoil it, so I won't go into details.

    For overall impact and atmosphere this would be to 2014 what Killing Them Softly was to 2012 and Out of the Furnace was to 2013. Not saying they're necessarily similar in story or anything like that, but there is a certain pace and atmosphere to them all. Oscar Isaac is a badass.

  • Unbroken

    Unbroken 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 08 Jan, 2015 2

    It's completely straight forward and what you expect but the performances are decent and it is all delivered pretty sincerely which goes a long way for me. Deakins is always worth watching. You all know it and you all know you will eventually watch it to see the master do his thing so spare me the oscar bait talk.

  • The Taking of Tiger Mountain

    The Taking of Tiger Mountain 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 15 Apr, 2015

    It is too long and most of the scenes with no action are a bit boring, but when they do turn up the tempo, things get pretty fun.

  • Inherent Vice

    Inherent Vice 2014

    ★★★★★ Watched 25 Feb, 2015 3

    I watched this on Wednesday and I haven't really been able to write anything about it until now. Not sure that I am able now, either, as a matter of fact.

    Inherent Vice is pretty much unlike anything else I've ever seen. It's got its own tone and atmosphere, working on a different level than other films. I can't really wrap my head around it and I'm not sure exactly what it is or why it affected me the way…

  • The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

    The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies 2014

    ★★★ Watched 12 Dec, 2014 25

    Where to begin.. I don't care enough about this to discuss everything.

    It was my first time experiencing 3D 48 fps and while it was interesting, it was frankly quite distracting and didn't really add anything. The 3D is by now convincing as much as it can be, but why do we need it? I think, having seen a couple of 3D films now, I just don't need it. It does not feel like a film and even less so…

  • Exodus: Gods and Kings

    Exodus: Gods and Kings 2014

    ★★★★ Watched 02 Jan, 2015 6

    The haters can stuff it somewhere this time. It's old school epic and Bale is a solid Moses. It looks pretty great and it's dedicated to Tony Scott. That's worth a star alone, at least.

  • The Theory of Everything

    The Theory of Everything 2014

    ★★★ Watched 25 Mar, 2015

    It's perfectly decent and it's got good performances, but it is so standard it hurts. There is nothing exciting going on here, and everything that happens that could potentially be big is handled in the most boring way possible. The music is pretty overblown as well, at times.

  • Hello Ladies: The Movie

    Hello Ladies: The Movie 2014

    ★★★★ Watched 06 Dec, 2014

    I like Stephen Merchant, I like the show, I like the movie.

  • Foxcatcher

    Foxcatcher 2014

    ★★★★½ Watched 23 Jan, 2015 6

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    A slow burn that just keeps lingering. Watched it two days ago and I still can't stop thinking about it. Phenomenal acting from everyone involved.

    When du Pont shoots Schultz... it's one of the best scenes I have seen in a very long time. It hits so hard that I'm still trying to understand it. I knew exactly what was coming but it got to me anyway. Every time a shot rang out I jumped in my seat. I think it's the masterful building of dread and then everything hits so hard in a flash and it's gone again. So cold.

  • The Imitation Game

    The Imitation Game 2014

    ★★★ Watched 01 Apr, 2015

    It never leaves the ground. It feels so similar to Theory of Everything in a way. They were both all out standard with decent performances and nothing really exciting going on.

  • Interstellar

    Interstellar 2014

    ★★★★½ Watched 06 Nov, 2014 21

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    Slight warning about possible sentimentalism in review.

    It's usually pretty easy for me to get down my ratings on films, but this one has been hard decide on. I feel that there are some things that I cannot really overlook in this film that take away a half star, but on the other hand, Interstellar reaches fantastic heights, things that beat anything Nolan has ever done before.

    It's a grand and ambitious vision. Say what you will, but films like…