RSS feed for Trent
  • Sing Street

    Sing Street 2016

    ★★★★★ Watched 26 Jul, 2016

    Movies that make my face tired from stupidly beaming at the screen get an automatic 5 stars.

  • Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice

    Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice 2016

    ★★★★ Watched 23 Jul, 2016 1

    I’m as surprised as you are. I kept waiting for the moment where I was filled with regret for watching something so poorly reviewed, but it never came.

    I was exhausted by Man of Steel. The only thing I could process towards the end of my first and only viewing was that somewhere along the way something happened and a shit ton of glass was broken.

    I saw that climactic fight the same way Bruce Wayne does in BvS. While…

  • Star Trek Beyond

    Star Trek Beyond 2016

    ★★★ Watched 22 Jul, 2016 2

    Star Trek Beyond has everything I’ve loved about the reboot—punchy one-liners, a charismatic cast, and some (maybe too many) visually spectacular action sequences. The plot payoff at the end falls pretty flat though. I think the villain needed more development & screen time—anything to show glimpses of motive earlier on. I had no idea what I was supposed to care about & engage with until it was over.

    Next time: a little bit more talk, a little bit less action

  • The Dark Knight

    The Dark Knight 2008

    ★★★½ Watched 20 Jul, 2016

    It probably goes without saying that Heath Ledger’s performance is astounding, and all my rewatches are so I can see more of it.

    But despite how stylish and epic the Nolan Batman movies are, I’ve always had a hard time staying engaged with the 2nd and 3rd installments. I used to blame plot points/holes alone, until I found this extremely thorough dissection of the car chase sequence: vimeo.com/28792404.

    Sure, most people probably wouldn’t be able to articulate and itemize those…

  • Looper

    Looper 2012

    ★★★★½ Rewatched 10 Jul, 2016

    Who do you think would win in a mind fight? This kid or the kid from Midnight Special?

  • The Place Beyond the Pines

    The Place Beyond the Pines 2012

    ★★★★ Watched 02 Jul, 2016

    I love Ben Mendelsohn in supporting roles like these—someone who is sharper than he lets on—with unknown motives bubbling just below the surface.

    You ride that thing really good! Really good.

    His transition from unsettling instigator to sentimental friend during the chat with the son is my favorite part of the movie.

    He plays a similar role in Netflix’s Bloodline, and I can’t wait to see him in Rogue One as some sort of imperial commander (the caped guy walking through the water in the trailer). Bring it!

  • Swiss Army Man

    Swiss Army Man 2016

    ★★★½ Watched 30 Jun, 2016

    This review may contain spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    You’re pulling for this fella to get his shit together, or at least have his story serve as a message or a metaphor about your own shit. But then he emerges from the woods in the backyard of the woman he’s been obsessing over and all the laughs & absurdities are repackaged in something much more real and horrifying.

    Kevin Sharon’s review sums it up for me nicely.

  • Crimson Tide

    Crimson Tide 1995

    ★★★½ Rewatched 25 Jun, 2016

    A look at what happens when you put an aggressive, racist, xenophobe in charge of a group of people with two opposing perspectives.

    Denzel 2016!

  • 99 Homes

    99 Homes 2014

    ★★★★ Watched 21 Jun, 2016

    The Big Short focuses on the few involved in the housing crisis that can say, “I told you so” while 99 Homes captures what it might have been like for the many who were crushed as a result. Understanding why is important, but I found this intense look at the lives of evictors and evictees more compelling.

    “Don't get emotional about real estate”

    I’m glad this film didn’t take its own advice because it turns out to be quite the empathy builder.

  • The Nice Guys

    The Nice Guys 2016

    ★★★★ Watched 18 Jun, 2016 5

    “Munich. What? Guy without his balls. A Munich.”

    Some jokes don't land, and the plot has to wiggle through some tight spots—but the physical comedy of Ryan Gosling and punchy dialogue makes The Nice Guys well worth a watch. It felt a little like the Aykroyd/Hanks Dragnet with a dash of The Big Lebowski’s wild goose chase.

  • Rio Bravo

    Rio Bravo 1959

    ★★★★½ Rewatched 26 May, 2016

    “Sorry don't get it done, Dude. That's the second time you hit me. Don't ever do it again.”

    A kindhearted movie about community wrapped in the western genre. Oh, and Quentin loves it too.

  • Eastern Promises

    Eastern Promises 2007

    ★★★★½ Watched 20 May, 2016

    Of modest scope, Eastern Promises carries all the weight of an epic crime drama thanks to its brilliantly acted & layered characters.

    I’m sad the sequel doesn’t seem to be happening because this felt like the beginning of something great.