RSS feed for Trent
  • Life Itself 2014

    ★★★★ Watched 19 Sep, 2014

    Don’t miss the nice bit in the film where Ebert is shown his new *responsive* website.

  • Zoolander 2001

    ★★★★ Rewatched 08 Sep, 2014

    I’ve got nothing but unashamed nostalgic love for this movie.

  • The Raid 2011

    ★★★½ Watched 15 Aug, 2014

    100% badass martial arts (Indonesian pencak silat) film with guns + knives (which ups the gore factor). The tower scenario makes it similar to Dredd, but the intense focus on hand-to-hand combat makes this film more enjoyable.

  • Snowpiercer 2013

    ★★★½ Watched 20 Jul, 2014

    I actually had to draw a graph to determine what I thought of this movie. Basically, the closer they were to the middle of the train the better the movie was. It ramped up fairly nicely, but as the plot unknowns started filling in towards the end I began to detect hints of the latter Matrix movies—the metaphors were just too thick.

    I don’t dislike Chris Evans at all, but imagine Karl Urban in this film… 70% Judge Dredd and 30% Eomer from LOTR at exactly this point.

  • Galaxy Quest 1999

    ★★★★ Rewatched 19 Jul, 2014

    Galaxy Quest is my favorite Star Trek movie of all time. Almost.

    I always see the late 1990s brand of special effects as a downgrade—when the newness of CGI was a poor substitute for the grit and character of earlier methods. I blame Phantom Menace for this, but I’d take a Rancorn over a CG Rock Monster any day.

    My only other gripe comes with a bit of trivia… Harold Ramis was set to direct, but left when he wasn’t able to cast Alec Baldwin or Kevin Kline as the lead. Damn. What could have been.

  • X-Men: Days of Future Past 2014

    ★★★★ Watched 14 Jun, 2014

    Worth it for the quicksilver scene alone

  • Weekend of a Champion 1972

    ★★★★ Watched 11 Jun, 2014

    I love this, but if you’re not interested in Jackie Stewart or the Monaco Grand Prix specifically, then Senna or 1 might be a better choice. What set this apart, however, was the fly-on-the-wall perspective. You kinda felt like you were in the same room with Jackie, Graham Hill, and François Cevert. P cool.

  • 1 2013

    ★★★★½ Rewatched 04 Jun, 2014

    If you’re looking to gain perspective on how F1 has evolved, this is a great place to start.

  • The Boat That Rocked 2009

    ★★★★ Rewatched 03 Feb, 2014

    I understand a lot of the complaints about this movie (historical accuracy, plot pacing, etc.) but for me it’s just a lot of fun to watch. I’m a sucker for any movie about community, and with cast members from some of my favorite silly shows like IT Crowd, Coupling, and Flight of the Conchords (all largely about friendship and community as well) It’s just nice to watch all the players on screen together.

    And if you don’t think the Kenneth Branagh scenes are hilarious I don’t even know…

  • The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug 2013

    ★★★½ Watched 27 Dec, 2013

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

  • Men at Work 1990

    Added

    Old, terrible movies I love need their own rating system. I find this impossible to mark stars or hearts for.

  • The Lone Ranger 2013

    ★★★½ Watched 31 Oct, 2013

    I saw it on a plane and liked way more than I thought I would. Then again, I skipped out on the last 15 Pirates movies.