RSS feed for Trent
  • Lemonade

    Lemonade 2016

    ★★★★½ Watched 25 Apr, 2016

    “I’ll just watch a few minutes of this to see what the fuss is about”

    An hour later I realized I hadn’t moved or maybe even blinked.

    I love Bobby Bland’s Two Steps From the Blues. Lemonade reminds me of that, but with more layers as it presses far beyond scorned love.  I don’t know what I expected, but it wasn’t something as strong, personal, and well-developed as this.

  • Oldboy

    Oldboy 2003

    ★★★½ Watched 12 Apr, 2016

    Just putting this octopus eating GIF here for later.

  • The Outlaw Josey Wales

    The Outlaw Josey Wales 1976

    ★★★★ Watched 16 Apr, 2016

    “Get ready, little lady. Hell is coming to breakfast.”

  • Seven Samurai

    Seven Samurai 1954

    ★★★★★ Watched 10 Apr, 2016

    If you haven't seen Seven Samurai you need to.

    It’s a classic film unto itself, but it’s the grandpappy of all your favorites when you trace streams of influence back through cinematic history. Those “meanwhile, back at the ranch” wipe transitions didn’t start with Star Wars.

  • The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2

    The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2 2015

    ★★½ Watched 22 Mar, 2016

    This review may contain spoilers. I can handle the truth.

    Ha! Just kidding with the spoilers. I actually doubt I could tell you 3 things that happened in this movie, and I watched it yesterday.

  • 3:10 to Yuma

    3:10 to Yuma 2007

    ★★★★½ Rewatched 05 Mar, 2016

    Many westerns slow burn in the same direction. The villain becomes more dastardly as the plot develops, and the hero suppresses the skill and rage he was once known for until it’s time for some sweet justified retribution.

    3:10 to Yuma is different. The climax might seem to come in a blaze of bullets, but to me it comes via the subtle dialogue that proceeds. The characterization of villain and hero melt away into a pool of empathy—the result being…

  • Miami Vice

    Miami Vice 2006

    ★★★★½ Watched 26 Feb, 2016

    My inner douche bag is named Sonny Crockett and I don't care who knows it.

    I was completely enrapt within the first 2 minutes via the “go-fast-boats” scene. The mood was set, and no amount of cheesy clubbing or one-liners would break it for me. I think this is a partial credit to my gradual acceptance and love for the Fast & Furious franchise.

    “I’m a fiend for mojitos”

    My appreciation for wordless vibey movies like Drive (and even that aspect of the Miami Vice show) helped me take this movie for what it is—one of Michael Mann’s best films.

    Oh yeah, you want the director’s cut.

  • Hail, Caesar!

    Hail, Caesar! 2016

    ★★★½ Watched 15 Feb, 2016

    Lovely (loosely related) scenes

  • Hoop Dreams

    Hoop Dreams 1994

    ★★★★★ Watched 09 Jan, 2016

    Re-watching this after gushing over Boyhood (which I still love) feels different now. I don’t think I quite got the magnitude of the endeavor when I watched Hoop Dreams years ago. I also didn’t quite grasp how successful Arthur and William are/were separate from NBA aspirations. Peter Gilbert sums it up really well during a 20th anniversary Q&A.

  • Glengarry Glen Ross

    Glengarry Glen Ross 1992

    ★★★★ Watched 06 Jan, 2016

    At least 3 of these stars go directly to Alec Baldwin’s instantly classic performance—which is is impressive considering the rest of the cast.

  • Lucy

    Lucy 2014

    ★★½ Watched 26 Dec, 2015

    If Leon and Lucy got in a fight… Leon would win.

  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens

    Star Wars: The Force Awakens 2015

    ★★★★★ Rewatched 20 Dec, 2015

    Second viewing—standing firm with my 5 stars. I could choose to recognize that my perception is clouded by sentimentality and pick the film apart, but why? And even if I did all my gasps, giggles, and cheers would betray my true feelings anyways.

    Abrams was wise stay close within reboot territory. I think it’ll set up 8 and 9 to be more exploratory—and I’d like to think Rian Johnson agrees

    You know that feeling when a friend's gotten a friend an amazing gift and after months of staying mum you finally get to see them open it?