RSS feed for Trent
  • The Boat That Rocked 2009

    ★★★★ Rewatched 03 Feb, 2014

    I understand a lot of the complaints about this movie (historical accuracy, plot pacing, etc.) but for me it’s just a lot of fun to watch. I’m a sucker for any movie about community, and with cast members from some of my favorite silly shows like IT Crowd, Coupling, and Flight of the Conchords (all largely about friendship and community as well) It’s just nice to watch all the players on screen together.

    And if you don’t think the Kenneth Branagh scenes are hilarious I don’t even know…

  • The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug 2013

    ★★★½ Watched 27 Dec, 2013

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

  • Men at Work 1990

    Added

    Old, terrible movies I love need their own rating system. I find this impossible to mark stars or hearts for.

  • The Lone Ranger 2013

    ★★★½ Watched 31 Oct, 2013

    I saw it on a plane and liked way more than I thought I would. Then again, I skipped out on the last 15 Pirates movies.

  • Moon 2009

    ★★★★½ Watched 28 Nov, 2013

    I really enjoyed this—Sam Rockwell was great and the emoticon version of HAL featuring Kevin Spacey’s voice was fun to watch (It felt more like a quirky homage than a rip).

    This quick making of documentary makes me appreciate the film even more.

  • World War Z 2013

    ★★½ Watched 10 Dec, 2013

    Script first. This could have been great.

  • Super 8 2011

    ★★★★½ Watched 27 Nov, 2011

    This movie ranks among some of the greatest kid gang movies of all time: Goonies, Sandlot, Stand By Me, etc.

    The paranormal MacGuffin is really well done, but the feel-good storyline driven by smart ass kids who know how to save the day is what'll make me want to see this again.

    Super 8 is pretty much all I want a movie to be... Fun to watch.

  • McLintock! 1963

    ★★★★ Added

    This movie is ridiculous and I love it. One of my favorite John Wayne movies, and it has a mud fight.

  • The Big Lebowski 1998

    ★★★★★ Added

    One of my favorites of all time. The trick is to enjoy the characters and worry less about the plot. The dude abides.