RSS feed for Jackson
  • The Bay 2012

    Watched 11 Oct, 2014

    Literally any potential this film may have had is executed on in CONTAGION, leaving this a tensionless, emotionless bore.

  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2014

    ★★★ Watched 11 Oct, 2014 5

    I was expecting a cinematic atrocity the likes have which haven't been seen before, but it's really not that bad? Sure, there's a lot of garbage in there, but it was pacy, knew it was the stupidest thing ever put to celluloid, and had a couple earnest moments in there too.

    It's better than Gone Girl. Come at me.

  • Gone Girl 2014

    ★★ Watched 04 Oct, 2014 1

    A 90 minute schlock thriller-comedy stretched out to an unbearable two and a half hours and reaching for unearned profundity at every turn.

    One added star to see Tyler Perry steal scenes from Ben Affleck.

  • The Social Network 2010

    ★★★★ Rewatched 23 Sep, 2014

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

  • Magic in the Moonlight 2014

    Watched 19 Sep, 2014 3

    How to write dialogue, according to Magic in the Moonlight:

    James: "Hello you stupid fool, my name is James. I think everyone to be below me. That's probably why I said stupid fool, just now."
    Richard: "Yes, I think it may well be. I believe in God."
    James: "I don't believe in God. We are good friends."
    Richard: "The best of friends."
    James: "So close."
    Richard: "I remember when we met. Allow me to explain this in great detail for…

  • Doctor Who: The Movie 1996

    ★★ Rewatched 30 Aug, 2014

    It's a bad movie, but Paul McGann is very, very good and I wish he'd had another chance.

  • Gaming in Color 2014

    ★★ Watched 30 Aug, 2014

    A great topic for a documentary but disappointingly it's just a series of incredibly superficial talking head interviews.

  • Video Games: The Movie 2014

    Watched 27 Aug, 2014

    What a piece of trash.

  • Redline 2009

    ★★★★★ Watched 27 Aug, 2014 1

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

  • Lucy 2014

    ★★★★★ Watched 22 Aug, 2014

    A way better remake of 2001: A Space Odyssey than literally anyone expected when it was announced.

  • Blade Runner 1982

    ★★★★ Watched 11 Aug, 2014

    I do not mean to shock anyone with this opinion, but Blade Runner is a very good movie.

  • Guardians of the Galaxy 2014

    ★★★★ Rewatched 09 Aug, 2014

    It's a fine film but don't end up in situations where you're taken to see this for the fourth in just over a week, for god's sake, because you'll hate it with every bone in your body.

    I know you're Groot okay, I get it.