RSS feed for ven
  • The Midnight After 2014

    ★★★½ Watched 22 Apr, 2014

    It's a fun ride, but with an open (and disappointing) ending.

  • Gravity 2013

    ★★★★½ Watched 08 Feb, 2014

    I was gasping for air. Absolutely stunning film-making.

  • Her Fatal Ways 3 1993

    ★★½ Watched 15 Nov, 2013

    WINDFLOWER

    (If it weren't for Windflower, it'd have 2 stars.)

  • Pacific Rim 2013

    ★★★★ Watched 17 Aug, 2013

    Super inaccurate representation of Hong Kong even if it is set in the future. But the giant robots are so awesome I can overlook it.

  • The Cabin in the Woods 2012

    ★½ Watched 24 Mar, 2013

    For a film that turns horror tropes on its head, Tucker and Dale vs Evil is so much more enjoyable and entertaining, and not annoyingly pretentious.

  • Les Misérables 2012

    ★★ Watched 21 Jan, 2013

    ANNE HATHAWAY, ANNE HATHAWAY, ANNE HATHAWAY, ANNE HATHAWAY, ANNE HATHAWAY, ANNE HATHAWAY, ANNE HATHAWAY, ANNE HATHAWAY, ANNE HATHAWAY, ANNE HATHAWAY. Ten reasons to see this film.

    Would be 3 stars if I hadn't felt like falling asleep more than twice during the film. But Hooper's direction is so obnoxious, Anne Hathaway/Eddie Redmayne/Aaron Tveit were the only things stopping me from giving it 2 stars.

  • The Grandmaster 2013

    ★★★★ Watched 10 Jan, 2013

    念念不忘,必有迴響。

    Classic Wong Kar-wai: stunning visuals with a side dish of aching and yearning melancholy.

    But it could also do with better editing, it's obvious that there were some big cuts made. I hope Wong makes a redux or director's cut.

  • Lawrence of Arabia 1962

    ★★★★½ Rewatched 26 Nov, 2012

    Terrible brownface, not a single female character, countless shots of sand, goddamn stunning.

    Saw the new restoration at BFI Southbank. Now I need to see it in 70mm.

  • Caged 1950

    ★★★★ Watched 06 Oct, 2012

    Four for you, Eleanor Parker. You go, Eleanor Parker!

    (Any other year, and she probably would've won that gold statuette.)

  • The Chinese Connection 1972

    ★★★½ Rewatched 23 Sep, 2012

    This is such a ridiculous and unintentionally funny film. I had forgotten how racist it was too.

    But lbr people see this to watch Bruce Lee serve someone a can of woop ass. A classic.

  • Wife vs. Secretary 1936

    ★★★★ Watched 16 Sep, 2012

    Gable/Loy is almost as good as Powell/Loy. ALMOST. Harlow makes a great turn here too.

  • Ice Cold In Alex 1958

    ★★★½ Watched 24 Jul, 2012 2

    Tense, but uneven.