RSS feed for Dan
  • My Scientology Movie

    My Scientology Movie 2015

    ★★★ Watched 24 Oct, 2016

    Listen, any movie about Scientology that lives in the shadow of Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief is going to feel a little been-there-done-that; John Dower’s "My Scientology Movie" tries to imprint a new spin by having Theroux team up with Scientology ex-member Marty Rathbun to enact recreations and reenactments for... reasons that never really coalesce into a clear point.

    Theroux also treads a bit too close to Moore-knocking-on-doors territory, which generally works fine and dandy but other…

  • Tickled

    Tickled 2016

    ★★★½ Watched 24 Oct, 2016

    I love this down-the-spiral kind of documentary; when David Farrier was waiting outside of the Starbucks, I was freaking out with anticipation.

  • Bad Moon

    Bad Moon 1996

    ★★★½ Watched 23 Oct, 2016

    Bad Moon works in-part due to framing its modern The Wolfman update around what basically amounts to a literal pissing match between a German Shepard (our protagonist) and the film's werewolf.

    Poor transformation scene aside, Bad Moon makes no bones about skirting the expectations of modern viewers; there are some gruesome murder scenes, but the movie places focus much more on Thor (!!!) the aforementioned shepard's attempts to warn his family of impending werewolf-related doom.

    The monster design here is…

  • Tales from the Darkside: The Movie

    Tales from the Darkside: The Movie 1990

    ★★★ Watched 22 Oct, 2016

    Wait, who told me this sucked?

    Silly and pretty dumb across the board but, thanks to KNB Effects, every story packs a pretty good gotcha-gore moment; feels very a piece of the growing pains that came in the early years of the 1990s where everything still felt like the 80s but hadn't yet fully committed to the 90s aesthetic - which really works in the movie's favor. I had a lot of fun with this.

  • Nerve

    Nerve 2016

    ★★½ Watched 22 Oct, 2016

    I was on board with this silly, fun piece of pop-entertainment, until it really over-extends its grasp and decides it wants to have a moral point; that's not really a problem really, but the point it decides to make was more eloquently blended into the horror of last year's Unfriended.

  • In a Valley of Violence

    In a Valley of Violence 2016

    ★★★½ Watched 21 Oct, 2016

    give that dog the ten thousand dollars!

  • Antibirth

    Antibirth 2016

    ★★★½ Watched 21 Oct, 2016

    A messy, uneven and shambolic movie that somehow really works despite its meandering pace; maybe the first body-horror movie in a long while that really worked for me. Meg Tilly and Natasha Lyonne put in really solid performances and the effects work overall are really great.

    I can see how this movie wouldn't land for a lot of viewers, it takes a lot of detours and for a large portion of the running time it's basically spinning wheels, plot direction-wise.…

  • The Funhouse Massacre

    The Funhouse Massacre 2015

    ★★ Watched 15 Oct, 2016

    Average horror-comdey; above-average special effects (thanks to Robert Kurtzman.)

    Six psychopaths escape from the local asylum and take over a funhouse/haunted house that just so happens to be based upon their own real-life murders. This leads to the only interesting/funny joke that the movie has, which is when we see them critiquing the haunted house's attempts at capturing the details of their true crimes ("These aren't even taxidermist tools" says Clint Howards' murderous taxidermist.)

    It's unfortunate that the rest of…

  • Boo! A Madea Halloween

    Boo! A Madea Halloween 2016

    Watched 20 Oct, 2016

    I don't know how to rate and review this movie at all. We're going to be reviewing this live on Sunday night at an event and that's going to be an interesting discussion to have, I think.

    I will say that multiple stretches of this film are nothing more than Tyler Perry engaging in screaming matches with a room-full of characters, half of which are played by himself. These are nothing but excuses for him to push his pseudo- (or…

  • Talk Radio

    Talk Radio 1988

    ★★★★ Added 2

    Well, that was fantastic; it's funny to have watched this having seen Wall Street so recently, since that movie is so frustratingly dated in the wrong ways and yet Talk Radio - outside of maybe the rock n' roll!!! "teenager" - works almost completely, to this date.

  • The Willies

    The Willies 1990

    ★½ Watched 17 Oct, 2016

    "This isn't that dumb story about the time you and your friends found that pirate ship in an old cave, is it?"

    Like Goosebumps or Are You Afraid of the Dark? but... shittier.
    Directed by Brian Peck aka SCUZ of Return of the Living Dead. Lame gags and effects abound; there's probably charm to be found in here for people who loved this as kids, but when viewed nostalgia-free this is just sub-par anthology work through and through.

    Some groan-worthy practical monster effects and a dog blowing up real good are the only positives, really.

  • Sledgehammer

    Sledgehammer 1983

    ★★★½ Rewatched 15 Oct, 2016 2

    I never know whether to rate this half a star or five stars.