RSS feed for Dan
  • The Carrier 1988

    ★★★½ Watched 29 Oct, 2014

    Read the entire review at Modern Superior.

    If you’ve ever wanted to see a movie filled with warring factions of Glad garbage bag-clad townsfolk, murdering each other for kittens, boy do I have the movie for you!

    Written and Directed by Nathan J. White – who never went on to write or direct anything else – The Carrier is one of those movies that you are simultaneously befuddled by and engrossed with.

    The set up is so damn batty, and…

  • Ouija 2014

    ★★ Watched 26 Oct, 2014

    M - E - D - I - O - C - R - E !

    Ouija will prove an effective movie going experience for only the most undemanding of movie audiences - and that seems to be exactly the kind of people this film has been tailor-made for.

    At this point in our lives, it's safe to say that crafting a decent jump-scare isn't all that hard. Ouija actually has quite a few moments that got me jumping in…

  • Strait-Jacket 1964

    ★★★★ Watched 25 Oct, 2014

    Checked back in on William Castle's head-chopper melodrama for more Halloween pre-gaming. It's over-the-top fun through and through. Well directed, with head-popping axe-murders rubbing shoulders with hilarious over-dramatics and fairly obvious whodunnit? plotting.

    Definitely one you should have on your list this year if you're looking for some campy black-and-white action.

  • Trick 'r Treat 2007

    ★★★★ Rewatched 25 Oct, 2014 2

    Halloween Pre-Game Viewing. Memories flooded back of my experience seeing this in '08 (or '09?) when it played to a packed room of ravenous fans at After Dark Film Festival. To say it had been anticipated would be an understatement, since a plethora of rumours had circulated the film - from the botched release to a flood of positive buzz.

    It's still a wonderfully fun film to watch - darkly hilarious and much stronger than most anthology films are.

    Always a great one to check in yearly.

  • Life After Beth 2014

    ★★ Watched 24 Oct, 2014

    This review reportedly contains spoilers. I can handle the truth.

  • The Town that Dreaded Sundown 2014

    ★★½ Watched 24 Oct, 2014

    Mixed bag of effectiveness, from the cinematography - which at times is inventive and stylishly effortless, and others overbearing and indulgent - to the plotting - at times meta-in-just-the-right-way and others expectedly cliche.

    Part of me gives props to the film for giving the genre a well-intentioned dose of style and energy, while I'm also sighing in disappointment for what could have been if the rest of the movie had followed suit.

  • Whiplash 2014

    ★★★★ Watched 15 Oct, 2014

    I've put off reviewing Whiplash here, as it has been one to ponder on, for sure. I briefly discuss it on the latest episode of See You Next Wednesday though, if you'd like more.

    Definitely one to discuss as you're leaving the theater - and again over drinks. And again a few days later.

    I think the complicated nature of the teacher/student relationship is played almost perfectly here.

    The caustic, toxic and infectious nature of J.K. Simmons' character leaving a…

  • Extraterrestrial 2014

    ★½ Watched 18 Oct, 2014

    All the direction, special effects, and over-stylistic flourishes in the world won't change the fact that this film is trekking through nothing but derivative, been-there-done-that territory - with no scares in sight, groan-worthy sense of humor, and character development that amounts to nothing more than shoving fuck in-between every other fucking word the fucking characters say.

    Sorry-not-sorry, Vicious Brothers.

    Actually, as a final note, I'll say that I did enjoy the UFO-in-the-rain scene - probably the only effective moment in the film, even though they drag it out more than need be.

  • Tuck Me In 2014

    ★★★ Watched 20 Oct, 2014

    A well executed micro-short that plays eerie when it could have been creepy. Nice to see the less-is-more approach to a short, though.

  • Dragon Hunt 1990

    ★★½ Watched 18 Oct, 2014

    Somewhere between Miami Connection (sans-concerts), Deadly Prey and Sledgehammer lies... Dragon Hunt!.

    The Brothers McNamara spend almost the entirety of the film dialogue-less. The plot concerns the mohawked villain Jake (returning from their previous film) capturing them and releasing them on an island, to hunt them down The Most Dangerous Game style.

    The scene with the brothers on their party-boat goofing off and clay-shooting for fun is one for the books. The villain's narration is probably some of the funniest…

  • Death Wish Club 1984

    ★★★ Watched 18 Oct, 2014

    Uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, what.

  • Housebound 2014

    ★★★★½ Watched 16 Oct, 2014

    First of all, did someone release Carpenter's font-package this year, or something? There's been a glut of films using the seminal font treatment, from Cold In July to The Guest and now Housebound. And actually, Housebound might just be the best of the bunch - though it's a close call with The Guest.

    Similar to that film, Housebound, well, bounds from genre to genre as the film barrels along. It starts with a classically gothic-supernatural hook for a film (main…