RSS feed for yorel1976
  • The Danish Girl

    The Danish Girl 2015

    ★★★ Watched 29 Aug, 2016

    That Eddie Redmayne fellow sure can act. Playing Stephen Hawking to near perfection then doing the same as a transgender pioneer is pretty damn impressive. I'd just like to see him in something where the overall film is on par with his performance.

    The Ron Says: See it.

  • He Never Died

    He Never Died 2015

    ★★ Watched 20 Aug, 2016

    The whole time I was watching He Never Died, I kept thinking this could be a lot better. There's definitely things to like about it, just nowhere near enough.

    The Ron Says: Skip it.

  • The Lobster

    The Lobster 2015

    ★★★½ Watched 16 Aug, 2016

    Well that was strange. In a good way? I think.

    The Ron Says: See it?

  • Midnight Special

    Midnight Special 2016

    ★★★½ Watched 07 Aug, 2016 2

    Jeff Nichols sure does like being ambiguous. Much like his excellent film Take Shelter, Midnight Special leaves the viewer with a lot of questions. In the wrong hands films like that can be very frustrating. Nichols seems to have a knack for ambiguity though and this film is another nice entry in his growing and unique canon.

    The Ron Says: See it.

  • Deathgasm

    Deathgasm 2015

    ★★★ Watched 06 Aug, 2016

    Sure Deathgasm is ridiculous, I mean it's called Deathgasm for fuck sake, but I had a helluva lot of fun watching it. As it turns out, metal and a demon apocalypse is pretty fucking entertaining.

    The Ron Says: Rated M for METAL.

  • Amy

    Amy 2015

    ★★★½ Watched 06 Aug, 2016

    I wasn't a huge Amy Winehouse fan (I Liked a few songs), but her amazing talent was undeniable. This excellent documentary chronicles her life and unfortunate death that came far too soon.

    The Ron Says: See it.

  • Everybody Wants Some

    Everybody Wants Some 2016

    ★★★½ Watched 02 Aug, 2016

    Let the good times roll

    I'm not a huge fan of Linklater's ode to the 70's Dazed and Confused, so when I heard his latest film Everybody Wants Some!! was a similar type of thing I didn't get too excited. It's set in 1980, a year in which I would have been 3 years old. Much to my surprise I really enjoyed this one. It's got a really fun vibe about it, a great cast of characters, and a fantastic classic rock soundtrack. The story is really simple overall, but I couldn't stop smiling while I watched it.

    The Ron Says: See it.

  • They Look Like People

    They Look Like People 2015

    ★★ Watched 28 Jul, 2016

    Wasn't feeling this one and it almost put me to sleep.

  • The Invitation

    The Invitation 2015

    ★★★½ Watched 24 Jul, 2016

    Karyn Kusama's The Invitation was a pleasant surprise (Maybe pleasant isn't the right word). Going in I'd heard very little about it, and I only recently discovered it has some good reviews here on LB and elsewhere. It's a tension filled slow-burn thriller that builds nicely to it's fucked up climax. Karyn Kusama may be a director to watch.

    The Ron Says: See it. It's available on Netflix streaming.

  • Green Room

    Green Room 2015

    ★★★ Watched 22 Jul, 2016

    Jeremy Saulnier's Green Room is a decent film, but I must say I was a little disappointed. It's got some really good reviews floating around out there and I expected to like it more than I did. Oh well...at least it didn't suck.

    The Ron Says: It's worth seeing.

    R.I.P. Anton Yelchin

  • Hail, Caesar!

    Hail, Caesar! 2016

    ★★ Watched 14 Jul, 2016 11

    Wow! I didn't think it was possible to be bored and not laugh at all during a Coen brother's film. The star studded cast felt like a complete waste. Huge disappointment.

    The Ron Says: Skip it.

  • Eye in the Sky

    Eye in the Sky 2015

    ★★★½ Watched 09 Jul, 2016 2

    Gavin Hood's Eye in the Sky was intense and human in ways I wasn't expecting. It made me wonder if the real life people in scenarios like this face the inner struggle the characters in this film faced.

    The Ron Says: See it.