Published Updated

The Disney Animation Chronology

Check description to see which era the films are from.

THE GOLDEN AGE (1937-1942):
These are the classic films that started it all. Walt Disney hand-crafted each of these with his personal vision of what he wanted. Each film seems to take huge steps forward in the art, from the opening multi-plane shot of Pinocchio to the naturalism of Bambi.

THE ANTHOLOGY ERA (1943-1949):
After World War II, audiences decline and income from films had fallen, and Disney needed to produce films on a tighter budget. These next films helped control costs by combining shorter segments into one film. Many of these films also combined live-action with animation (There are other films made during this period that do not make…

Read notes
  • Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs
  • Pinocchio
  • Fantasia
  • Dumbo
  • Bambi
  • Saludos Amigos
  • The Three Caballeros
  • Make Mine Music
  • Fun and Fancy Free
  • Melody Time
  • The Adventures of Ichabod and Mr. Toad
  • Cinderella
  • Alice in Wonderland
  • Peter Pan
  • Lady and the Tramp
  • Sleeping Beauty
  • One Hundred and One Dalmatians
  • The Sword in the Stone
  • The Jungle Book
  • The Aristocats
  • Robin Hood
  • The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh
  • The Rescuers
  • The Fox and the Hound
  • The Black Cauldron
  • The Great Mouse Detective
  • Oliver & Company
  • The Little Mermaid
  • The Rescuers Down Under
  • Beauty and the Beast
  • Aladdin
  • The Lion King
  • Pocahontas
  • The Hunchback of Notre Dame
  • Hercules
  • Mulan
  • Tarzan
  • Fantasia 2000
  • Dinosaur
  • The Emperor's New Groove
  • Atlantis: The Lost Empire
  • Lilo & Stitch
  • Treasure Planet
  • Brother Bear
  • Home on the Range
  • Chicken Little
  • Meet the Robinsons
  • Bolt
  • The Princess and the Frog
  • Tangled
  • Winnie the Pooh
  • Wreck-It Ralph
  • Frozen
  • Big Hero 6
  • Zootopia
  • Moana
  • Ralph Breaks the Internet
  • Frozen II
  • Raya and the Last Dragon