Annihilation ★★★½

Consider this the loosest of adaptations of the first instalment of Jeff VanderMeer’s Southern Reach trilogy, reinterpreting its expedition into a xenonatural zone as a more liner adventure, albeit with a stilted tone, till the third act. That’s when it explodes into a heady stew of dreamscape imagery in the vein of Jodorowsky, Cronenberg, Tarkovsky’s Stalker, Kubrick’s 2001, Russell’s Altered States – name a messed-up vision and it was probably an influence here – and confirms itself as more explicitly a philosophical text about annihilation of the self than its source material.