Utopia Repertory Theatre

Utopia Repertory Theatre

The Utopia Repertory Theatre offers free online group screenings of cult and indie films seven days a week, in the loving spirit of Chicago's long-demolished movie palace, The…

Favorite films

Recent activity

All

Recent reviews

More
  • Marriage Story

    Marriage Story

    ★★★★★

    The Utopia Repertory Theatre free group screening
    for Sunday, September 20, 2020
    Part of: Artist Retrospective - Noah Baumbach
    12pm CST (1pm NYC, 10am CA, 5pm GMT), Netflix

    Today we finally reach the end of our six-week overview of the career of Generation X writer-director Noah Baumbach; and it couldn't end on a better note, with last year's Oscar darling and three-hanky tearjerker Marriage Story. Like nearly all his films, it's loosely based on a true experience from his real…

  • Nightbreed

    Nightbreed

    ★★★★★

    The Utopia Repertory Theatre free group screening
    for Saturday, September 19, 2020
    Part of: Camp Classics
    8pm CST (9pm NYC, 6pm CA, 01:00 GMT), Amazon Prime Video

    So how important exactly are the details behind any given production by a beloved maverick auteur? Well, take this as a cautionary tale -- that after writing, directing, and largely raising the money himself for 1987's UK-filmed Hellraiser, turning in a movie that still stands as one of the greatest horror films of…

Popular reviews

More
  • Thunder Road

    Thunder Road

    ★★★★★

    The Utopia Repertory Theatre free group screening
    for Thursday, September 10, 2020
    Part of: Contemporary Indies
    8pm CST (9pm NYC, 6pm CA, 01:00 GMT), Netflix

    For last week's contemporary indie night, we watched the 2015 debut by the now admired Trey Edward Shults, the riveting Cassavetes-style character drama Krisha; and one of that film's producers, Jim Cummings, made his own directorial feature debut three years later with Thunder Road, which like the former film is both cleverly inexpensive and one…

  • Kicking and Screaming

    Kicking and Screaming

    ★★★★★

    The Utopia Repertory Theatre free group screening
    for Sunday, August 16, 2020
    Part of: Artist Retrospective - Noah Baumbach
    12pm CST (1pm NYC, 10am CA, 17:00 GMT), Netflix
     
    Utopia Rep's Sunday matinee "artist retrospective" series kicks off with the work of writer-director Noah Baumbach, an "intellectual's intellectual" whose 25-year career has always reflected the anxieties and fears of the Generation X age group he belongs to. His oeuvre explosively began in 1995 with the slacker classic Kicking and Screaming,…